Thread: Grogan Commercial manager? is the man serious?

I was very surprised when I heard that we'd signed Grogan because I heard an interview with him telling how he trained too hard too young and the damage to his pelvis was like what you'd expect in a man three times his age.
    He had played with John O'Shea and it was hard for him to see what could have been.
    He officially retired from the playing side of the game and said that he was interested the publicity and commercial side of the game and was looking at his options.
    He sounded like he had designs on getting into Radio/TV.
    This is all new to him so he's bringing absolutely no experience with him. He was in hospital with Teddy Sherringham and became good friends and still knows a few people in ManUre including the boy Roy so maybe he'll have City with 5 different shirts a season and opening up "Superstores" before we know it.

Surely he'll have some experience.
    But maybe someone at the club knows what they are doing now

Originally posted by oddboy
    he is internet aware
    Don't tell Dolan that!
    Revenge for 2002

fonzi
    i believe this could be a very good move on the part of cork city.
    jim murphy dosnt do much!

Fonzi I would agree with you there.
    We have no one doing the job, getting, as much press as possible in a country thats press doesn't give a toss of about the club outside of Dublin would be doable (Bar one or two individuals).
    Getting the merchandise side of things provides an area of revenue for the club in the future that will be worth quite a few bob.
    Free airtime attracts Sponsors, European matches will mean higher revenue streams.
    There are thousand and thousands of new families in Cork now that don’t want their new family paying thousands of Euro of their hard earned money to a British consortium, over the next few years we should be attracting these people and their children to the cross.
    We have TV3 willing to back the Eircom League so other forms of media will in the future, do we know how to deal with them. How to ensure our sponsors are willing to pay for repeat/more sponsorship.
    We are not full time yet so we cannot justify a full time highly qualified salesperson, why because he or she would cost a fortune to pay full time. Why? Because they are sales people they will sell themselves to the club. Brian and Pat are giving someone a chance to prove him or herself and look at the press about the guy already.
    We all know that the aim of the club is to be full time. I would prefer to have someone with three year experience at the club in the role rather than some on with the qualifications.

There’s no such thing as bad publicity, just mismanaged news.

He is a football fan that gives a start, as he will know what he talks about

Best of luck to him there is a huge potential audience there and it is waiting to be tapped. That is one area any commercial manager will be able to see.

He will have a lot to do if he gets the commercial managers post, as he will have to work with nearly ever person in the club

I for one would jump at an opportunity like that.

hmm I wonder do they need a commercial manager in Europe???
    It's only just begun...............
    If the last 21 years were class, here's looking forward to the next 21 years. It is our time

What i'd be most concerned about is Grogan in as Dolans sidekick. While most people be gald to see Dolan giving input into off the field matters i think we'd all prefer he not have any off the field title.

Remember part of Dolans downfall at Pats was that he could not distinguish between the on & off the field activities.

fonzi
    im not sure i can agree with you on that one PETE

Pat Dolan has many years xperiance with St. Pats doing that sort of work.

He haswidened the catchment rea of Pats by miles and has greatlyimprovedtheyre club products and mostly every other off the field activities that Pats run.

City need a kick up the backside when it comes to the community and i believe Mr. Dolan is the man to do the job PROPERLY.
    not like one or two who have been recruted to be wholy responsable for commercial goings on.

I hope city can do somthing with the shop they have in the old dressing rooms. and fix the shop up a bit. Its in a bit of a state ant the moment.
    make it a bit bigger at least-i mean its always packed at half time and full time.

devils advocate

I'm just saying that at one stage Pats effectively removed Dolan from the team managers position only to see him stay on as managing director.

I know its not the same at city but if he a crap team manager hard to sack him if he so involved with the off field side of things...

@ndy
    Jaysis lads...yous are all getting very worked up over this!

Crucify the poor bloke before he even starts his job! To me it's a surprising signing but at the same time a dynamic one. Kevin is a young man who really did have his sights set on being a professional footballer. He spent his youth days at manu, only to be sent to UCD for what was going to be a loan period to sort his injury problems out. In doing this he also managed to pick up his degree to fall back on. Now he's has to retire, he obviously wants to stay in the game, and has applied for this post and got the job. Perhaps you should have faith in your new manager to be able to do his job and the club to do theirs.

jaysis...i'm glad im not employed by city...

@ndy
    Originally posted by Badweather Fan
    People were asking when Dolan came whether wewere gonna be needing a general manager anymore.
    My guess is we weren't but Dolan needs someone to lighten his load on that side of things ie Grogan.
    I don't think Kevin Grogan is being given the job as ccfc general manager?

Here is the UCD description of the Sports Management Diploma. As UCD are running it, its fecking great!

Sorry il couldnt be linked propperly

Diploma in Sports Management

The Diploma in Sports Management is a two-year course concerned with the principles of organisation, management and administration as they apply to sport and the sports industry.

The aims of the course are:

To provide a foundation in the basic skills necessary for a sports related career.
    To expand the knowledge and business skills of those currently employed in the
    sports industry or involved in the administration of sport.
    The dynamic and changing nature of sport has brought new opportunities and challenges. Socioeconomic factors, medical and legal implications, commercialisation, improved communications, modern technology and the trend towards professionalism have all contributed to the emergence of the field of sports management. University College Dublin’s international academic reputation in Business and Commerce, the high standards in other relevant faculties and departments together with its commitment to the development of sport in its broadest aspects, makes the College an ideal institution for the provision of this Diploma. The course will have broad appeal to sports people of top calibre; to personnel employed by the governing bodies of sport; to leisure-industry professionals and to individuals in sports related service industries.
    Apart from the basic tenets of management and administration, the course will also include the study of selected topics from the fields of sports medicine, the behavioural sciences and special reference to new sports-related advances in communications, technology and organisational methodology.

Content and Structure
    The syllabus will cover the following topics:

SMGT 1001 Organisation and Policy in Sport
    This module would focus on the delivery, organisation and legislative framework of sport in Ireland, including funding, policy and sporting structures at elite and participation level. This module would also include comparisons with other sporting nations such as the USA, Australia and the United Kingdom.

SMGT 1012 Financial Management
    Financial aspects will be addressed such as budgets and cash flow statements; variance reporting and responsibility of accounting; introduction to management accounting including profit planning and decision making; personal tax including PAYE as well as accounting reports for commercial and not-for-profit organisations.

SMGT 1011 Information Technology
    This module would focus on the basics of computing including keyboard skills, word-processing, internet and e-mail.

SMGT 1004 Management of Services Organisations
    This module would address the main functions of business and management activities and how they apply to the sporting industry. Subjects to be addressed would include
    strategic planning, leadership, motivation, communication, organisation, law and duty of care relating to service organisations.

SMGT 1005 Sociology of Sport
    This module would identify the role of sport in present day culture and deal with the socio-economic aspects of modern sport and recreation. It would deal with a range of contemporary issues such as Drugs in Sport and the Olympic movement as well as tracing the evolution of sport through the ages.

SMGT 1006 Applied Biology of Sport & Exercise
    The student would be introduced to the fundamentals of sports science including anatomy, biomechanics and physiology and be provided with an underlying knowledge of movement in the human body. The module would also address CPR and procedures for dealing with emergency medical conditions which may be encountered during sporting situations. Principles of injury prevention would also be outlined.

SMGT 1007 Sports Marketing
    With both a theoretical and practical approach, this module would introduce the student to the business of marketing and its application to sporting events and organisations. Areas to be addressed include; the marketing process; consumer behaviour; product policy and branding and the use of endorsements and logos in the sporting world

SMGT 2008 Event Management
    This module would introduce the principles of effective event management from the initial planning and time management through to the management of volunteers and support staff. The fundamentals of Facility Management are also introduced.

Course Requirements
    The course consists of eight taught modules, some of which include additional course
    assignments. As part of the programme students also undertake a research project, are required to complete a Level 1 coaching qualification and to obtain a recognised First Aid certification.

Course Organisers
    The Diploma in Sports Management is a multidisciplinary course involving the Faculties of Commerce, Medicine and Arts. The programme is organised by the Centre for Sports Studies and the Continuing Professional Education Programme under the supervision of the Board of Postgraduate and Interdisciplinary Studies.
    Academic Director: Professor Conal Hooper, Director of the Centre for Sports Studies.

Admission Requirements
    Applicants should be of matriculation standard, or its equivalent, and should have a background in sport which would typically be as a top-level competitor, an administrator in a sporting organisation or a manager/employee in the leisure industry. Interviews may be held to assess applicants and their aptitude for pursuing the course. Places on the course will be limited.
    The programme is one of the access routes to the BSc (Sports Management).

Examinations
    Examinations will be based on the curriculum subjects. There will be individual examinations in each of the eight taught modules. In addition, there will be a course project together with an oral examination at the end of the programme. As part of the course requirement, students are required to successfully complete a recognised NGB Foundation & Level 1 Coaching Course as listed in NCDP Coaching for Education booklet; and obtain first aid certification.

Course Details
    Fee: Fees are subject to an annual increase of approximately 6% as a reference the fee in session 2002/2003 was €2,375 include all tuition, course material, library, computer facilities and examination fees. The annual fee shall be payable on the registration date.
    A non-refundable deposit of €125 will be payable on acceptance of a place on the course.
    Schedule: This is a two year course, organised in four semesters of approximately twelve weeks each.
    Lectures and seminars will be held on Mondays from 9am to 5pm.
    Date: Monday, 15th September, 2003 (provisional)
    Venue: University Industry Centre, UCD, Belfield.
    Application: The closing date for receipt of applications is Friday, 27th June 2003. Acceptance of late applications will be subject to availability of places from suitably qualified applicants.
    As I say, we're just young & a bit nieve.

Originally posted by @ndy

fairly acerbic lot aren´t we even the supporters either don´t get with each other, hate the players, hate the manager or arealways looking for the ulterior motive.

only in cork.....
    john flynn? - awesome!!!!!!

[SIZE=3]@ndy OUT[/SIZE]

*of the cork city forum
    *starts ripping up sheets and making banners..with help from the media conspiracy obviously*

Crucify the poor bloke before he even starts his job!
    Its a Cork thing... Colin Murphy, Mountfield, Gunther ....
    As I say, we're just young & a bit nieve.

@ndy

KEVIN GROGAN OUT

Bring him back to belfield...

lol

I hope he doesn't browse foot.ie lads...

Everyone needs a chance to do their thing. As said early maybe Dolan knows something we don't. Maybe they've had long discussions about where clubs should be going...
    There are fans in the league that have good ideas about progressing the league. Why can't players? They know what has to be improved as well.

grogan's age has nothing to do with his ability to act as commercial manager, he has qualifications and has studied for this. granted that experience is an advantage but can any of you name someone has experience and can give ALL their time to running the finances etc. of the club (when we all agree that we want dolan to concentrate on the football side of things).

as far as i'm concerned brian lennox has his head screwed on, he's done very little wrong so far in his running of the club, we all believe the outlook is brighter than it has been in a long time so let's get behind the entire club and give everyone their chance to settle in.

that's my schoolteacher rant over, i apologise if i scared any of out younger viewers.

Badweather Fan
    I don't think Kevin Grogan is being given the job as ccfc general manager?
    I don't either.
    Himself and Dolan seem to have very vague job descriptions but i dont see it being a problem.