if he isn't qualified then its a bit worrying alright. Not a very professional step by the club. But you can be 21 and have a degree...so maybe that's the case...HOPEFULLY !!
so Grogan has been offered the Job as commercial manager and an occasional game according to the Sun today.
his injuries mean he cannot play every game so he is combining the two roles
he's 21 for gods sake is he qualified to be commercial manager? in any other industry he wouldnt even be considered simply because of his age and lack of expierience
if he isn't qualified then its a bit worrying alright. Not a very professional step by the club. But you can be 21 and have a degree...so maybe that's the case...HOPEFULLY !!
Sounds like a clone of the Dolan story to me.
ie getting involved on the commercial side due to health/injury worries.
+ is this concrete truth?
This must be what Dolan meant when he said he needed people around who he can trust.
Grogan got a diploma in Sports' Management when he was in UCD.
big deal. what has that got to do with CCFC? i hope this is paper talkOriginally posted by Schumi
Noel Mooney's brother was telling us that he's your new commercial manager (Noel that is, not his brother!)
Hold your horses now lads.
This guy would not get the job unless Lennox thought he was up to it.
BL still runs the club, not Pat Dolan.
What we have got here is a guy who will spend his time looking after the commercial aspects of CCFC...so
he is young
he is probably very enthusiastic
he is a soccer fan himself
he is internet aware
he is probably bursting with ideas
he is NOT someone who has a small time attitude
he is NOT the current mess
So, give him a chance
most of ye are his age and would expect that much at least...![]()
Think thats to do with Managing Leisure Centre 'n the like...Originally posted by Schumi
Commercial Manager has a lot more to do with club marketing.
Sounds vetry dodgy to me as IMO he either works on the piotch or off the pitch. Does not sound good to be entrusting the commercial activities of the club to a part-time player with no business experience & no knowledge of Cork...
maybe i could put my BS degree to work![]()
so what if he is only 21. isnt it better then getting a 50yr old who mite only last a short while in the job
maybe it will be a good move for the club with new ideas
two schools of thought on this one. a) bl is no mug and has beena excellant chairman so far so why would he take a risk like this unless he knew the lad had a ablity b) a counter argument, and one I support, why take a risk with something as important as this. maybe BL didn't get much reaction to the posting and had to settle for grogan. not a very inspiring move so far.Originally posted by thecorner
so what if he is only 21. isnt it better then getting a 50yr old who mite only last a short while in the job
maybe it will be a good move for the club with new ideas
like the appointment of dolan time will tell. the club stands at a watershed......
john flynn? - awesome!!!!!!
disagree daloOriginally posted by dalo
maybe BL didn't get much reaction to the posting and had to settle for grogan. not a very inspiring move so far
afaik: the club had a very good response to the job advertisments in the paper, on both the manager and the general manager's job. so the best man was appointed.
fair enough so. best of luck to him so, the club is exploding with potentialOriginally posted by James
disagree dalo
afaik: the club had a very good response to the job advertisments in the paper, on both the manager and the general manager's job. so the best man was appointed.
john flynn? - awesome!!!!!!
Or its a cost cutting exercise as you don't have to pay a player and a commercial manager...Originally posted by James
disagree dalo
Pats new commercial/marketiing manager has worked for Stockport and Preston north End and has already impressed everyone with her ideas
but can she score goals?Originally posted by Dodge
Or its a cost cutting exercise as you don't have to pay a player and a commercial manager...
Pats new commercial/marketiing manager has worked for Stockport and Preston north End and has already impressed everyone with her ideas![]()
Thought you were going to ask about her ball control... thankfuly you rose above it
She's good up front i heard![]()
I don't see the problem with him taking on this role (if in fact he is?). So what if he is young, we were all giving out about Jim Murphy and Noelle last season because they weren't up to the job. He is young and entusiastic and probably has loads of ideas so give him a chance.
Champions!
People were asking when Dolan came whether wewere gonna be needing a general manager anymore.
My guess is we weren't but Dolan needs someone to lighten his loadon that side of things ie Grogan.