Thread: Monaghan United Goalie Crisis

Angry Monaghan United Goalie Crisis

Monaghan United FC face into Friday’s game against Shelbourne without a goalkeeper. United Number 1 Alvin Rouse sustained a back injury during the FAI Ford Cup match against Derry City last Friday night in the Brandywell and so far he is not responding to treatment. Substitute goalkeeper Darren McQuaid is also ruled out having picked up a knee injury at training last night (Wednesday) and it is feared that it may be a cartilage problem.

United are currently seeking the League’s advice on the matter.

Stephen Finnegan is still out for the Mons with an ongoing knee problem while Steven Feeney and Cian Mackey both await late fitness tests to see if they will make an appearance.

Manager Mick Cooke stated this morning “we are currently in discussions with the League as to what can be done in relation to our goalkeeping problems. Other than that, our squad are in good form and training went well with all players eager to put the Cup defeat behind them.”

“It will be interesting to see how both teams react having both been knocked out of the Cup last weekend” Cooke continued.

Cant believe our 2 goalies are injured! AGHHHHHH

83 Posts
    Steven Feeney and Cian Mackey both await late fitness tests to see if they will make an appearance
    Is this still a weekly routine with Stevie Feeney?

Follow Us on Facebook and Twitter

Naw he hasnt missed much....unfortunately.

81 Posts
    Alvin Rouse will be a big loss he was very good in both games against us.

83 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Magicme View Post
    Naw he hasnt missed much....unfortunately.
    What have ye done to him? I can't believe he is not doing a job for you up there as he possesses so much natural footballing talent.

Hope we sign him back for next season and that he can get fit. Would be an excellent replacement for Davy Byrne in the centre of the park.

Follow Us on Facebook and Twitter

Rouse is a big loss, he is 6 foot 5 after all!

Rover rem "discussions" b4....now I wish you were right!

30 Posts
    I said it before and I'll say it again ... ye should have hung on to Tadhg.

have ye no youth team?

Quote Originally Posted by Battery Rover View Post
    What have ye done to him? I can't believe he is not doing a job for you up there as he possesses so much natural footballing talent.
    Loads of talent, but desparately unfit and doesn;t appear to give much of a toss.
    Watch him give the ball away in the opening 10 seconds here, taking on 2 players on the edge of his own box:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MDipBc087PM

Quote Originally Posted by GavinZac View Post
    have ye no youth team?
    Aaron's time to shine?

Rouse is a big loss, he is 6 foot 5 after all!
    And as mad as a hatter!!

How is banana getting on with ye, playing well?

We have under 21's but our sub goalie is our U21 goalie too. We do have some young lads but no way would they be experienced enough to step up.

Yeah Aaron McCarey....I know he is only 15 but am sure he would do it! Also Kevin Martin just gone on trials to the U17 Rep of Irl squad but at 15/16 think he is a bit young too!

15? Sure that's about the same age as Shels squad too.

And as mad as a hatter!!

How is banana getting on with ye, playing well?
    He is gettin on grand. Was very solid in Derry but just gets his positioning so wrong sometimes that you feel like killing him.

A dead sound guy, if a bit mad, but really really popular. He works with the kids in the mini leagues too and they all love him.

We do have some young lads but no way would they be experienced enough to step up.
    Better than an empty space surely.

Can't see how the league would have a problem allowing Monaghan sign a keeper on a short term deal in exceptional circumstances. They can't expect 1st division clubs to have 3 goalkeepers on their books

I know that there are discussions ongoing within the club and with the league about this crisis so watch this space. As soon as I know what is happening you lot will.

It is hard for smaller clubs like ourselves when we get hit by injuries like this. I know Drogs had their problems but they had a massive squad to help cover them. We have a small squad of Senior players and then our U21's, who despite a great season last year are just not ready for the First Division.

Quote Originally Posted by Dodge View Post
    Can't see how the league would have a problem allowing Monaghan sign a keeper on a short term deal in exceptional circumstances. They can't expect 1st division clubs to have 3 goalkeepers on their books
    Just been told that we have some options available to us if we are given the go ahead to sign them temporarily.

If one of them is Mark Cobey, stay away!