Thread: Funny things you have seen at work?

Similar to that, my buddy asked a child at the counter
    "Are you having a nice time with your grandfather?" before he interrupted
    "I'm her father actually."

Funniest i have but not as good as jebus was when i worked in a supermarket in town and there was a security guard, Jack in the mall always complaining that his job is boring and he never gets action. One night there was a few young fellas robbing slabs of drink so himself and the supermarkets guards dived on them, wrestled them to the ground and called the gardai. I looked out and while all the young fellas were pinned down, Jack was bouncing a walkie-talkie off his fellas head repetitively.
    His manager came around the corner saying "What the **** are you doing?"
    He said "this young fella was walking with a crate of drink."
    His manager said "Get up, leave him go, go home and don't bother coming in next week."
    It was funny watching the thief hang around while Jack protested his case.
    After a while, the thief started strolling off with the drink and the manager said "What the **** do you think you're going?"
    The thief said "It's alright I'll pay for it." and walked off towards the tills. They just barred the rest of them.
    Didn't want any case against them i suppose.
    City definetly have the best bands playing at half-time.

O'Bama - "Eerah yeah, I'd say we can alright!"

G.O'Mahoney Trapattoni'll sort ém out!!

were there condoms actually free or was it just a joke?
    Its not a joke, but I havent checked if the machine has condoms....yet

I havent got the opportunity to!

Had plenty of funny experiences working in the states.

Among them "Where are you from?" "Ireland" "Do you know Declan?"
    "Where are you from?" "Ireland" "Do you know my Granmaw?"
    We were also supposed to ask every single person purchasing drink for ID (this was good in a way because the chicks were always flattered and it opened some doors in that respect) but one day this guy in his 70's or 80's orders a beer and my supervisor insisted I ID him. When I refused she proceded to do so and as he had no drivers licence on him she refused to serve him!
    TO TELL THE TRUTH IS REVOLUTIONARY

The ONLY foot.ie user with a type of logic named after them!

All of this has happened before. All of it will happen again.

ya its bloody stupid, but rather than it being on offense to serve over there, its an offense if you dont ask.....

1,025 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by BohsPartisan View Post
    Among them "Where are you from?" "Ireland" "Do you know Declan?"
    "Where are you from?" "Ireland" "Do you know my Granmaw?"
    I got that (still do) in Yokosuka, a city with 20,000 or so US Navy on the local base.

I didnt mind it so much, but another Irish guy who used to work here really hated it.

His tactic was to say "No I don't, but wait, you're from America, right?" They'd comfirm they were, and he'd say "So do you know my cousin Tommy?", in a very excited, serious way.

It was great watching their faces as they thought he was serious, and obviously an idiot who didnt know the population of The USA. The irony, sadly, was lost on them most of the time.
    Last edited by osarusan; 23/06/2007 at 11:55 AM.

230 Posts
    Happens all the time over here. My favorite response.
    Them "Do you know Sean so and so from Kildare?"
    Me "Wears glasses, sandy/brown hair, about 5ft 8 ?".( you have to be lucky here)
    Them "Yes! That's him!"
    Me "No, don't know that fella"
    Last edited by strangeirish; 23/06/2007 at 12:32 AM.
    Did you ever notice that in every painting of Adam & Eve, they have belly buttons. Think about that...take as long as you want.

Funniest things:

This and this. We were having a very productive day, needless to say, the manager had gone home early.
    Its Lunatic.

One of the lads at work is a big Ricky Gervais fan & looks very like him. He was watching the Office clip with David Brent in the chicken suit. Chinese lad walks past & being totally serious asks lad at work if that was him in the clip.

I did not witness this myself but one of the guys brought musical cup (i plays a tune when you lift or turn it) into a 2 hour training course. One of the guys visiting from other office could not figure out where sound coming from for the whole morning.

We have a Bewleys coffee maker at work. Guy from office who visits at least once a month admitted he did not know how to fill the tall cups with coffee as they don't fit under the dispenser. He even went to the trouble of showing how they won't fit only to be shown how to slide the dispenser upwards.

Quote Originally Posted by pete View Post
    We have a Bewleys coffee maker at work. Guy from office who visits at least once a month admitted he did not know how to fill the tall cups with coffee as they don't fit under the dispenser. He even went to the trouble of showing how they won't fit only to be shown how to slide the dispenser upwards.
    Can't laugh at that, thats the type of thing I'd do!
    TO TELL THE TRUTH IS REVOLUTIONARY

The ONLY foot.ie user with a type of logic named after them!

All of this has happened before. All of it will happen again.

Quote Originally Posted by Magicme View Post
    Not a funny thing I saw but a rather embarrasing thing I said at work once. A guy in a wheelchair came in for an appointment with the Solicitor I worked for and I said my usual "have a seat, I will let him know u are here".

I cringed for weeks after that.
    Worked in a cafe a few years back. There was a breakfast bar type job running along one wall and the stools were tucked in under it. There was a knack to taking the stools out -they had to be tilted slightly to slide out or they'd jam against the edge of the counter.

One day, hung over and dozy, I spied an auld doll struggling to get a stool out from underneath the counter, went over to her and asked her if she'd like me to whip it out for her.
    " I wish to God that someone would be able to block out the voices in my head for five minutes, the voices that scream, over and over again: "Why do they come to me to die?"