Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Thread: GUFC v Shamrock Rovers

Quote Originally Posted by Ceirtlis View Post
    Its easy to say that but who wants to sign for us in all fairness. Bohs are apparently offering 3k to a feen from sligo so how can we compete with that. If we finish clear of the relegation spots this year it will be a success no doubt a bout it.
    well it cant be said that better players for the positions of moran,reilly and cookie were completly un-available.... look at rovers up in 4th, they came up with us, didnt do as much in the window and stayed full-time....why?
    because Scully is a class manager and if the likes of him were here frm the start of the season we wouldnt find ourselves in a situation like now........disagree??
    i.e
    no other score'r from Glynn since start of may
    no wins at home since last season
    knocked out of the cup by lowly Harps
    a knack for late goals and sloppy set plays(i think we have yet to even score one)
    going into a season with a junior player as your goalscorer

the last one is the one that really just settles it for me anyway!!.

i think all things considered a draw with drogs will be a good result. lets hope its not the mini-bus(van) going up and that we get a good crowd!!.
    There's the right way, the wrong way.... and the Max Power way!! :-D

we finished the game with
    Rogers Reggi O'Reilly Wes Lester McKenna O'Brien Tracy James Glynn Moran.
    Very few knew what they were doing or what position they were playing in. Thats why we conceeded the late goal.
    It's easy to shout abuse at the players,it's the manager who sends them out to play in positions they don't know how to play in. Everybody gave 110% Friday night its not their fault they can't play the position they are picked for or simply aren't good enough but get picked every week. If a couple of defenders are not signed then Cousins position needs to be looked at.

i dont know about that demo - sure they were all over the place - but wheres wes the captain on the field - or the more senior players - there was no shouting or talking or trying to organise things

some werent giving the 100% at all in my opinion
    more water!

Quote Originally Posted by corbyeire View Post
    but wheres wes the captain on the field -
    Wes is a poor choice as captain. The guy is very quiet doesnt shout at anyone from what I can see. He's no Billy Clery. We were at 6s and 7s throughout Fridays game and I am getting extremely worried about the future. OK a point against a top 5 team was fair enough but I was sure our luck had changed when Glynn scored so late on in a game we deserved nothing from. There were people walking out with 5mins to go saying it was going to be a draw ..... how right they were. We are signing players for all the wrong positions imo. We now have a packed midfield, 5 strikers and a light sprinkling of defenders.
    "Are those my feet" Fr Jack Hackett

75 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Demoshield View Post
    we finished the game with
    Rogers Reggi O'Reilly Wes Lester McKenna O'Brien Tracy James Glynn Moran.
    Very few knew what they were doing or what position they were playing in. Thats why we conceeded the late goal.
    It's easy to shout abuse at the players,it's the manager who sends them out to play in positions they don't know how to play in. Everybody gave 110% Friday night its not their fault they can't play the position they are picked for or simply aren't good enough but get picked every week. If a couple of defenders are not signed then Cousins position needs to be looked at.

The only change that Tony made was Collie for Foley the other 2 were injuries both looked quite bad. We were very lucky to get a draw but were still only 3 points of Derry and UCD which would put is in the top half of the table . Some of the rantings on here are so negative as to be laughable. I know ill get slaughtered for this but as long as we stay up this year ill be very happy and people should look at the positives so far this season which include Gary Rogers, Reggi and Derek Glynn and we still have Chris Armstrong to come back plus 3/4 new signings and a strong under 21 setup and thats just on the field.

We also will have a ground to be proud of and a tremendous showcase on the 1st August which will see the club break even this season and have the ability to build on this years squad to be even stronger next season.
    We are the Galway Boys Stand up and make some noise"

well I for one agree 100% with you GUFCT

Im also happy with murphy form this year when you look at how much of a dip he had last season.
    Last edited by Terry; 25/06/2007 at 9:18 AM.

Those teams might be just three points ahead but dont the teams below us have games in hand on us. I still think we can do it but we definitely need to buck ourselves up a fair bit. Concentration seems to fade towards the end of the games. crowds are vital for our survival and they are trailing off too I heard a 1060 for last fri though i thought it was more tbh.

Just found an official attendance of 1964 so I was right!
    Last edited by Tir Oilean; 25/06/2007 at 11:40 AM.

the teams that have games in hand are games against the top clubs and mainly all away to them too. I never look at games in hand as its more important to have the points on the board.

Quote Originally Posted by gloryglorygufc View Post
    As far as i can see we are playing no better than when Stephen Lally got the push.
    Stephen resigned. He wasn't pushed. AFAIK the Board and Nick Leeson in particular tried to get him to reconsider. But IMHO he did th eright thing. We were playing awful stuff at the time an dthe players had no confidence in him.

Quote Originally Posted by gilberto_eire View Post
    i agree with ya(just waiting now for someone to have a go at me for this)
    TC hasnt proved anything IMO.

ppl can bat on about the sequence of results last year but 2 other teams did it too as it wasnt a great division 1 and its plain to see again this year as dundalk are making bits of everyone there!.

he made a mess of the pre-season squad. we have a below adverage mid-fielder playing center back now ffs!!. reilly and moran would do well to get a game for most top junior teams around town and cookie is only a decent 1st division player(the best of the 3 IMO).

why were we playing long ball with barry moran as the target man??.... was it not plain to see after 5mins he wasnt winning anything and to change it around??
    why wasnt billy made to start as target man he's a tailor made replacement??.

i can honestly say a top manager installed at the start of the season would see us at least mid-table(as things considered about the club.)
    anyone who says thats not true is kidding themselves!!.
    no other player frm Glynn has scored in nearly 2mths(the pen against derry)

any manager who goes into a campaign with barry as their top striker(0 goals in 14+ games now) needs there head examined. he barely played him himself last yr!.

lets just see how the new players go 1st but if there not up to much either he has to go..... 3 go down next yr and we cant afford to be one of them!
    Quote Originally Posted by Ceirtlis View Post
    Its easy to say that but who wants to sign for us in all fairness. Bohs are apparently offering 3k to a feen from sligo so how can we compete with that. If we finish clear of the relegation spots this year it will be a success no doubt a bout it.
    A few fair points here Gilberto except that IMHO Barry was never installed as top striker and Billy seemed to me to lose interest once he wasn't starting from the word "go". Thankfully we seem to be benefitting from his blossoming career in management and hopefully he will step up to the plate in years to come when Tony moves on.

Ceirtlis has hit the nail on the financial head. Very few managers could cope with the financial competition from the likes of Bohs. I think Tony is very realistic about the players he has signed, but his job is much more than putting a team out on th epitch - it's to put the team out and not go out of business.

I'm tired of the argument about all of the class acts there are in Galway junior football. Many of them just don't want to know. Some of them are happy to stand on the side and sneer rather than put their great ability on show for a couple of seasons. The most recent example I'm aware of is Tony Folan - who was definitely capable of EL Premier standard, and served the club well in the past, but just didn't want to know when the manager gave him an opportunity to get involved again.

Oh and about the criticism of Wes as captain: At the start of the season when the squad was put together who from last season was still there? Billy, Derek O'Brien, Barry Moran, Alan Gough, Alan Murphy, Wes. IMO the manager wasn't figuring on BIlly, Barry or Alan G as part of his first team plans. The prospect of Derek O'B as makes me smile and Murphs for all his brilliant service to the club over the years has never shown himself to be a leader on the field. Where else was the manager to turn? And who would you like to see as captain now???????????
    Less Whining
    Less Moaning

What are YOU doing to make it better?

point taken My town but he's still not Captain material. I think Collie James would be a good captain having talked to him recently, Foley is fairly vocal and he certainly gives his all in every game and is somewhere near the mould of Clery too. On Tonys signings it seems he could make the club a fair few quid if some of the players move along. Regi and Derek look like theyre set for a bright future Derek should be given a new contract to tie him down as in Regi's case.

75 Posts
    Just saw the goals on the internet.The second goal was down to people not tracking back and picking up the loose player ( the one who crossed the ball.Everyone on the team should have been defending from the front back for the last 10 mins and this didnt happen.

Where did you see them gufct can you post a link?

75 Posts
    theres one on the gufcnet site but if you just go into the tg4 main site go into sport and sacar beo. I made a mistake earlier it was Shane Treacy who came on for Kieran and Both Russeler and Cookie were injured so I cant see who can blame Tony for the changes as we were down to the bare bones.

Quote Originally Posted by gufct View Post
    Just saw the goals on the internet.The second goal was down to people not tracking back and picking up the loose player ( the one who crossed the ball.Everyone on the team should have been defending from the front back for the last 10 mins and this didnt happen.
    most of our goals conceeded are like that - people like barry and dob - running half way between man and ball - feigning a jump - as the ball is crossed past them - for a goal (true the boys in the box should be winning headers - but why bother for the whole game and then fart around for the last 10 mins )

dont know where i read it - but its something like - 7 games out of 14 with goals conceeded in the last 5 minuets
    more water!

288 Posts
    Some pics from the pub, sorry guys!

http://www.bebo.com/PhotoAlbum.jsp?M...mId=4788407649

176 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by gloryglorygufc
    Then, dare i say it, it might be time for the board to consider their options with the manager.
    If he doesn't trust players he chose to offer pro contracts, then he has fundamentaly failed in his job, imho.
    As far as i can see we are playing no better than when Stephen Lally got the push.
    Tactics are rubbish. Some of the players we are paying should not be let next nor near a shirt again.
    There's more managerial patience in D7.

Obviously winning promotion, getting points in Cork and winning at Pats in his first season up, is not enough to keep a boss in his first major managerial role, according to some of ye.

Promoted teams do struggle in the top division, as it stands you are 13 points clear of bottom spot, and have a manager who gets results. Yeah, you're out of the cup, but then again so are we. Are we callling for Pat Scully's head?? No.

I hear Longford have something to worry about.
    NL 1st Division Champions 2006
    NL Premier Division Champions 2010
    NL Premier Division Champions 2011

Keep Tallaght Tidy, Throw your rubbish in the Jodi

Ten Years Not Out

Good post My post its good to get an outside opinion of our situation and in fairness despite some of our doubts we are not in as bad a situation as some.

Quote Originally Posted by mypost View Post
    There's more managerial patience in D7.

Obviously winning promotion, getting points in Cork and winning at Pats in his first season up, is not enough to keep a boss in his first major managerial role, according to some of ye.

Promoted teams do struggle in the top division, as it stands you are 13 points clear of bottom spot, and have a manager who gets results. Yeah, you're out of the cup, but then again so are we. Are we callling for Pat Scully's head?? No.

I hear Longford have something to worry about.
    ooh give over you make it sound so great, ye'r 4th ffs thats why ye'r not calling for his head..... ya we won in richmond but we only drew in cork what about losing to waterford, drawing at home to longford etc.... so what if ye'r out of cup too the differance is a poor 1st division team put us out after we were cruising at home 2-0 up!.
    you dont have to sturuggle when ye come up as ye proved yourselves!!
    There's the right way, the wrong way.... and the Max Power way!! :-D

176 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by gilberto_eire
    if ye'r out of cup too the differance is a poor 1st division team put us out after we were cruising at home 2-0 up!
    Yis lost on penos, we lost at home after 90 minutes.
    NL 1st Division Champions 2006
    NL Premier Division Champions 2010
    NL Premier Division Champions 2011

Keep Tallaght Tidy, Throw your rubbish in the Jodi

Ten Years Not Out

75 Posts
    Dont worry my post Gilberto is never happy and is very much in the minority with his views.

Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast