Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst ... 234

Thread: GUFC v Shamrock Rovers

75 Posts
    Once the dissappointment of conceeding the late goal was gone the last night any realistic supporter was more than happy with the point. Just because I dont slag off the Manager and the Players doesnt mean I think everything is perfect but id feel a lot happier about our future and the club going forward than I would have in anytime of the clubs history.

There is no one who has been at the coalface over the last 10 years going to sit on our laurels as we all have seen how close we came to extinction before but GUFC is a work in progress and we have the right people involved to make sure that success will eventually come.

One thing though if you think we have 1500 regular supporters you havent as good an insight as you seem to think you have.
    We are the Galway Boys Stand up and make some noise"

Quote Originally Posted by gufct View Post
    Dont worry my post Gilberto is never happy and is very much in the minority with his views.
    ya right!!... your living in a dream world if you think that unfortunetly, you GUFCT are the one in the minority view that everything is fine, the way you view things i wouldnt let you coach an under-10 team, you know so little!!.
    were the biggest underachievers in the country so i can see how you have this mentality from years gone by.
    dont you not think its time we didnt accept been second best and just competing??... maybe not the way you go on, but dont be having a go at the ppl who want what a city like galway deserves.
    you' be more accustomed to following KK or Monaghan the way you talk!
    There's the right way, the wrong way.... and the Max Power way!! :-D

Quote Originally Posted by mypost View Post
    There's more managerial patience in D7.

Obviously winning promotion, getting points in Cork and winning at Pats in his first season up, is not enough to keep a boss in his first major managerial role, according to some of ye.

Promoted teams do struggle in the top division, as it stands you are 13 points clear of bottom spot, and have a manager who gets results. Yeah, you're out of the cup, but then again so are we. Are we callling for Pat Scully's head?? No.

I hear Longford have something to worry about.
    we won promotion off the field - nothing to do with TC as we finished in 3rd spot, a league position achieved prior to his arrival i might add.
    yes we got good results away to pats and cork but are still to register a home win.
    we are 13 points clear of bottom by virtue of longford being deducted 10 points.
    we were told that going full time would reap major rewards but are yet to see the fruits of this (loosing so many late goals should be reduced by being full time as you would expect better stamina and concentration levels and you would expect set-pieces to be much more fruitful. you might also expect the team to play something approaching attractive football (or even to try and keep the ball) as opposed to clearing the decks at every given opportunity). this opens the door to the question of had we maintained part-time status would we have been able to attract a higher caliber of player? we currently have a full-time squad which has some very average players in it, so the question should be asked.

i'm not calling for the managers head, far from it, but i don't agree with the 'full faith in TC' comments that are continuiously spouted here. are we all supposed to follow TC blidly or can we not question things that we disagree with? the difference between bandwagon jumpers and supporters is usually knowledge of the game. i am not able to sit here and say all is well, granted we are not the worst off, but this season is not shaping up as the roaring success that some people on here would have you believe.

as this is a forumboard people are entitled to their opinions and those who disagree with the 'maroon tinted glasses' view should not be attacked for pointing out some valid points.

Last edited by galwayhoop; 26/06/2007 at 4:20 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by galwayhoop View Post
    we won promotion off the field - nothing to do with TC as we finished in 3rd spot, a league position achieved prior to his arrival i might add.
    yes we got good results away to pats and cork but are still to register a home win.
    we are 13 points clear of bottom by virtue of longford being deducted 10 points.
    we were told that going full time would reap major rewards but are yet to see the fruits of this (loosing so many late goals should be reduced by being full time as you would expect better stamina and concentration levels and you would expect set-pieces to be much more fruitful. you might also expect the team to play something approaching attractive football (or even to try and keep the ball) as opposed to clearing the decks at every given opportunity). this opens the door to the question of had we maintained part-time status would we have been able to attract a higher caliber of player? we currently have a full-time squad which has some very average players in it, so the question should be asked.

i'm not calling for the managers head, far from it, but i don't agree with the 'full faith in TC' comments that are continuiously spouted here. are we all supposed to follow TC blidly or can we not question things that we disagree with? the difference between bandwagon jumpers and supporters is usually knowledge of the game. i am not able to sit here and say all is well, granted we are not the worst off, but this season is not shaping up as the roaring success that some people on here would have you believe.

as this is a forumboard people are entitled to their opinions and those who disagree with the 'maroon tinted glasses' view should not be attacked for pointing out some valid points.

Well said that man.

If we all took the attitude of, and behaved like, some of the posters
    here, sitting around giving out, and writing to papers, the club would have gone out of existence in 1978.

Quote Originally Posted by galwayhoop View Post

thank you for your support.... after all its only GUFCT who attacks ppl who criticises ppl for talking like this but claims otherwise!!
    There's the right way, the wrong way.... and the Max Power way!! :-D

thread closed. gone way off topic again lads !!! quit the ****, everyone else that reads here are sick to death of ye all.....

Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst ... 234