Thread: Salthill 0-4 UCD

International Prospect DmanDmythDledge's Avatar

Salthill 0-4 UCD

Goals from Sammo, Doyler and 2 for Conan Byrne. Always nice to get off to a good start in the cup. Tony Mc also got through without getting injured.

70 Posts
    Very comfortable win and we never really hit top gear. Sammo should have scored another two off the top of my head and Salthill put in a few more excellent last ditch tackles. Salthill didn't lose for their lack of effort but the gulf in quality between the two sides just couldn't be overcome. Derek Doyle scored a top drawer goal. Conan Byrne had another good game. His first goal was the result of him robbing a player and coming out with the ball under his control (how often does he this?) and rounding the keeper calmly to slot it away. His second goal was a sharp finish too.

Salthill have a great setup. Loads of 5 a side astro pitches, a bigger astro pitch, several real pitches, a car park and a great clubhouse building. If they could give up a pitch to add some spectator facilities they'd have one of the best setups in the country.

Chatted with Tony Mc on the blower today. His hamstring came through unscathed and he will joining the lads for training as normal tomorrow night.

So where's the match report?

3,269 Posts
    Wil you stop getting narky every time there isn't a match report on demand?!

It'll be up tomorrow evening. I'm only back now.

did ye find drom easy to get to, i live bout 2 miles away and i still get confused

3,269 Posts
    Got lost once and had to go in a big loop (toop the wrong turn at the sign for Drum east and west), but other than that, it was grand.

I'll do a match report now as well to get it out of the way...

Two goals in sixty first half seconds settled this FAI Cup Second Round clash in Drum in favour of a UCD side who were dominant throughout. A stunning Derek Doyle goal followed by an individual Conan Byrne effort in the 38th and 39th minutes built on an early Conor Sammon strike and ensured the remained of the game would be a formality. A weakened Salthill side put up a decent fight but ultimately, Matt Gregg in the UCD goal wasn't called on to make a save of note.

With Tony McDonnell back from injury, it was pretty much a full strength UCD line-up, whil Salthill were weakened by six players on holidays and hadn't played a competitive match in over a month. And it didn't take the Students long to set about their non-league opponents, with Sammon missing a glaring opportunity five minutes in when taking the ball down inside the six yard box only to somehow shoot wide.

However, he made amends seven minutes later - Derek Doyle forced a fine save out of the Salthill keeper, but the rebound fell for Sammon to tap home into an empty net from two yards out.

The chances continued to come - Conor Sammon again missed in a one-on-one situation, with the referee ruling that a home defender had gotten a last-ditch touch on Sammon's shot, while Paul Byrne was just over after a nice move involving himself and Sammon. Salthill got forward when they could, but they failed to create any real chances, although they were enjoying probably their best spell of the 90 minutes in terms of possession.

The game was wrapped up shortly before half time. First, Derek Doyle struck a 25-yard effort on the turn with his weaker right boot which flew over the home keeper and into the net, and a minute later, Conan Byrne intercepted a defensive pass to find himself through on the keeper, whom he casually rounded to slot into an empty net.

Shane McFaul had a shot deflected wide after a low cross from Conor Sammon, and from the corner, Ian Bermingham curled just over the bar from the edge of the area as the black tide kept coming forward.

Unsurprisingly, the tempo dropped in the second half, although Paul Byrne and Conor Sammon passed up good opportunities before Conan Byrne added a fourth in injury time, running onto a superb pass from Greg Bolger before beating two defenders and firing under the advancing keeper. There could have been a fifth, as an almighty scramble inside the Salthill area culminated in Conor Sammon, Timmy Purcell and Conan Byrne all failing to poke home when the goal seemed to be at their mercy.

All in all, a convincing win, with the only worry being a knee injury to man of the match Shane McFaul. The Third Round will be held in late August.

UCD - Gregg; Mahon, Bermingham, Kenna, McNally; McDonnell (Bolger 70), C Byrne, McFaul (Fitzgerald 84), Doyle; Sammon, P Byrne (Purcel 75). Subs not used - Brennan, McMillan, Moran, AN Other
    Last edited by pineapple stu; 18/06/2007 at 12:06 AM.

According to the SINDO Moran came on for McFaul in the 86th minute Bolger came on for Tony Mc after 85 minutes and Purcell came on for Paul Byrne after 69 minutes.

What's the story ? Now you see why I wanted your match report the stringers at these games often get things wrong like which substitute came on .

70 Posts
    'Devon creamed by UCD' is the Indo's headline.

Quote Originally Posted by Poor Student View Post
    'Devon creamed by UCD' is the Indo's headline.
    Not as bad as eleven-a-side's "UCD rub salt into wounds".

I'm pretty certain Moran didn't come on.

Subs not used... AN Other
    I'd imagine it was Shortall.

3,269 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by CollegeTillIDie View Post
    According to the SINDO Moran came on for McFaul in the 86th minute Bolger came on for Tony Mc after 85 minutes and Purcell came on for Paul Byrne after 69 minutes.

What's the story ? Now you see why I wanted your match report the stringers at these games often get things wrong like which substitute came on .
    Just don't whine every time it's not immediately there.

Moran didn't come on - it was announced as Fitzgerald, although Moran was on the bench. Also, seeing as BS knows him, I'd be happy to go along with that.

I pretty much made up the sub times.

I thought McFaul went off earlier than that.

3,269 Posts
    No, he went off fairly late on. Remember it wasn't much afterwards when he was given man of the match.

[Random trivia]Conan, Doyler and Sammo all on four goals for the season now.[/Random trivia] Good to see a few players getting on the scoresheet rather than depending on just one or two.

And Paul Byrne has 6 League goals with only 14 games gone in the season... could he be Willie Doyle [2004 vintage] mark 2?

Quote Originally Posted by CollegeTillIDie View Post
    And Paul Byrne has 6 League goals with only 14 games gone in the season... could he be Willie Doyle [2004 vintage] mark 2?
    And he's only played 12 games. Good chance of him getting into the top 10 all time UCD league goalscorers.

One of the local rags endorsed most of your comments about the match itself and added that it was a very poor attendance bolstered by two car loads of UCD supporters

What's the verdict ?

Dry Wit,
    Sour Grapes
    or
    A collective (two car loads qualifies as a collective, doesn't it ) yawn at your perennial weak spot?
    Less Whining
    Less Moaning

What are YOU doing to make it better?

Quote Originally Posted by MyTown View Post
    One of the local rags endorsed most of your comments about the match itself and added that it was a very poor attendance bolstered by two car loads of UCD supporters

What's the verdict ?
    My verdict is that it was probably written by the radio guy whom Bald Student told, when he arrived, there was a second car load on its way.

Quote Originally Posted by Schumi View Post
    My verdict is that it was probably written by the radio guy whom Bald Student told, when he arrived, there was a second car load on its way.
    That's the first thing that I thought as well.

If we wanted to be picky we could point out that there was a third car of Sherro and some kids but it was a fair comment.