McShane will be captain of Ireland and Barcelona by then!Amazing to think he'll probably be retiring in 2020.
I haven't been as excited about a player coming through in a long time.
With over a month to kill before the new season starts, I thought a little distraction was called for.
I recently read a prediction for the English international team in future years, and it looked pretty strong. Can we predict our future team with any degree of accuracy (& I don’t mean come September 07)?
Come the world cup in 2014 (7 years hence) who are we likely to be fielding? Notoriously difficult this kind of thing & probably do well to predict one or two. But I do recall that Duff & a few others were clearly earmarked from an early age.
Here is my selection (suggest limit to 2 subs or it will get out of hand):
Randolph
O’Halloran
Gaughan
O’Dea
E Nolan
K Tracey
McCarthy
Garvan
McGeady
Doyle
Dixon
2 Subs
Gibson
McShane
One point for each player in the squad in 2014. If any of the Mods are still around it will be interesting to look back & see if our 2007 experts can make any accurate predictions.
McShane will be captain of Ireland and Barcelona by then!Amazing to think he'll probably be retiring in 2020.
I haven't been as excited about a player coming through in a long time.
Last edited by eirebhoy; 16/06/2007 at 6:50 PM.
I'd be fairly certain the 2 Reids and Robbie Keane will still be in the team by then
Doyle
O Halloran
Nolan
O Dea
McShane
Garvan
Gleeson
Gibson
Tracey
Doyle
Stokes
Subs
Rooney
Keogh
Carsley
Who is Gauaghan Paddy?
Great to see O'halloran name being mentioned in the 2 lists. From Cobh point of view! This is my one:
Henderson/Doyle(keepers dont age lads) e.g Neville Southall, Dave Seaman
O'Halloran
McShane
O'Dea
Kelly
S.Reid
Ireland
Potter
Duff
Stokes
Doyle
Subs:
Keane
O'Shea (by now Cafu like!!!)
COBH RAMBLERS FIRST DIV CHAMPS 2007
http://irish-abroad.appspot.com/GameDayDetails fantastic website by tetsujin1979
Adam Rooney up top, Gravan midfield.
There my two big hopes; and maybe jamie mccarthy, haven't seen him but the hearsy is good
Given
O'Halloran
Dunne
McShane
Kelly
A. Reid
S.Reid
Potter
McGeady
Dixon
Keane (Aldridge at 1994!!)
Subs
Rooney
Keogh
Connolly (Venerable A.C Milan Skipper)
"No regrets, none at all. My only regret is that we went out on penalties. That's my only regret. But no, no regrets." -Mick McCarthy
I remember similar threads to this a few years back.
It might be interesting to drag one of them up.
City definetly have the best bands playing at half-time.
O'Bama - "Eerah yeah, I'd say we can alright!"
G.O'Mahoney Trapattoni'll sort ém out!!
Jaysus I'm good. I predicted the inclusion of S Ireland and McShane as regulars in their correct positions a year before they even got a cap (Most people hadn't even heard of Ireland back then and McShane was only starting his loan period at Brighton). Now if J O'Brien can get fit next season that's likely to be a third (we've a year to go). I'm like Mystic Meg with balls. NeilMcD check that out and choke on it.
I give up on Elliot though. He won't be a mainstay of our forward line. A good season though and he could get himself a place on the bench though I'd be surprised if he displaced Long or Stokes. Depends whether Keane decides to keep him or not which is probably unlikely if he's trying to buy Nugent.
Last edited by youngirish; 18/06/2007 at 4:33 PM.
We have a more talented group of youngsters now than we've ever had IMO. I think we'll easily have the players to be one of the best European teams in another 2-3 years on paper but probably will struggle to reach our potential with Stan or another similar FAI appointed muppet in charge.
It's impossible to predict what we'll be like in 7 years though. Pure guesswork.
Last edited by youngirish; 18/06/2007 at 2:44 PM.
COBH RAMBLERS FIRST DIV CHAMPS 2007
http://irish-abroad.appspot.com/GameDayDetails fantastic website by tetsujin1979
tuff_paddy usen't be like this though, he used to be one of the few motivational and hopeful ones like eirebhoy....
Tuff Paddy doesn't have the time to type more than 2 sentences these days.
youngirish - Very accurate prediction!