Thread: Irish Team in 7 Years Time - Prediction

114 Posts

Irish Team in 7 Years Time - Prediction

With over a month to kill before the new season starts, I thought a little distraction was called for.

I recently read a prediction for the English international team in future years, and it looked pretty strong. Can we predict our future team with any degree of accuracy (& I don’t mean come September 07)?

Come the world cup in 2014 (7 years hence) who are we likely to be fielding? Notoriously difficult this kind of thing & probably do well to predict one or two. But I do recall that Duff & a few others were clearly earmarked from an early age.

Here is my selection (suggest limit to 2 subs or it will get out of hand):

Randolph

O’Halloran
    Gaughan
    O’Dea
    E Nolan

K Tracey
    McCarthy
    Garvan
    McGeady

Doyle
    Dixon

2 Subs
    Gibson
    McShane

One point for each player in the squad in 2014. If any of the Mods are still around it will be interesting to look back & see if our 2007 experts can make any accurate predictions.

McShane will be captain of Ireland and Barcelona by then! Amazing to think he'll probably be retiring in 2020. I haven't been as excited about a player coming through in a long time.
    Last edited by eirebhoy; 16/06/2007 at 6:50 PM.

I'd be fairly certain the 2 Reids and Robbie Keane will still be in the team by then

Doyle

O Halloran
    Nolan
    O Dea
    McShane

Garvan
    Gleeson
    Gibson
    Tracey

Doyle
    Stokes

Subs
    Rooney
    Keogh
    Carsley

Who is Gauaghan Paddy?

Great to see O'halloran name being mentioned in the 2 lists. From Cobh point of view! This is my one:

Henderson/Doyle(keepers dont age lads) e.g Neville Southall, Dave Seaman
    O'Halloran
    McShane
    O'Dea
    Kelly

S.Reid
    Ireland
    Potter
    Duff

Stokes
    Doyle

Subs:
    Keane
    O'Shea (by now Cafu like!!!)
    COBH RAMBLERS FIRST DIV CHAMPS 2007

http://irish-abroad.appspot.com/GameDayDetails fantastic website by tetsujin1979

Adam Rooney up top, Gravan midfield.
    There my two big hopes; and maybe jamie mccarthy, haven't seen him but the hearsy is good

Quote Originally Posted by bellavistaman View Post
    I'd sooner compare JOS to tofu than cafu
    Your Chairperson,
    Gavin
    Membership Advisory Board
    "Ex Bardus , Vicis"

114 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by cheifo View Post
    Doyle

Who is Gauaghan Paddy?
    Laurence Gaughan is a young centre half at Liverpool, of whom great things are expected. He is a "footballing" centre back who can pass & therefore play more in the continental style. Still a youth, he is a wild card bet... but will be about 24 in 2014.

Quote Originally Posted by bellavistaman View Post
    Great to see O'halloran name being mentioned in the 2 lists. From Cobh point of view! This is my one:

Henderson/Doyle(keepers dont age lads) e.g Neville Southall, Dave Seaman
    O'Halloran
    McShane
    O'Dea
    Kelly

S.Reid
    Ireland
    Potter
    Duff

Stokes
    Doyle

Subs:
    Keane
    unless you're talking about another Duff, Damien Duff will be 35 in 7 years time....he's barely mobile now.

Given

O'Halloran
    Dunne
    McShane
    Kelly

A. Reid
    S.Reid
    Potter
    McGeady

Dixon
    Keane (Aldridge at 1994!!)

Subs

Rooney
    Keogh
    Connolly (Venerable A.C Milan Skipper)
    "No regrets, none at all. My only regret is that we went out on penalties. That's my only regret. But no, no regrets." -Mick McCarthy

I remember similar threads to this a few years back.
    It might be interesting to drag one of them up.
    City definetly have the best bands playing at half-time.

O'Bama - "Eerah yeah, I'd say we can alright!"

G.O'Mahoney Trapattoni'll sort ém out!!

131 Posts
    Jaysus I'm good. I predicted the inclusion of S Ireland and McShane as regulars in their correct positions a year before they even got a cap (Most people hadn't even heard of Ireland back then and McShane was only starting his loan period at Brighton). Now if J O'Brien can get fit next season that's likely to be a third (we've a year to go). I'm like Mystic Meg with balls. NeilMcD check that out and choke on it.

I give up on Elliot though. He won't be a mainstay of our forward line. A good season though and he could get himself a place on the bench though I'd be surprised if he displaced Long or Stokes. Depends whether Keane decides to keep him or not which is probably unlikely if he's trying to buy Nugent.
    Last edited by youngirish; 18/06/2007 at 4:33 PM.

International Prospect DmanDmythDledge's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Tuff Paddy View Post
    At the rate we're going . . . in seven years we'll be in one of the lower rank pools for all qualifying tournaments. That's the sad truth.
    That's miles from the truth.

131 Posts
    OK . . . let's meet back here in 2014. Did you actually see the San Marino match?
    We have a more talented group of youngsters now than we've ever had IMO. I think we'll easily have the players to be one of the best European teams in another 2-3 years on paper but probably will struggle to reach our potential with Stan or another similar FAI appointed muppet in charge.

It's impossible to predict what we'll be like in 7 years though. Pure guesswork.
    Last edited by youngirish; 18/06/2007 at 2:44 PM.

3,499 Posts
    OK . . . let's meet back here in 2014. Did you actually see the San Marino match?
    did you see any of the 4 games that followed it?

Quote Originally Posted by tetsujin1979 View Post
    did you see any of the 4 games that followed it?
    alot peopel have selective viewing dont want to see teams do well prefer to moan about past failures.
    COBH RAMBLERS FIRST DIV CHAMPS 2007

http://irish-abroad.appspot.com/GameDayDetails fantastic website by tetsujin1979

tuff_paddy usen't be like this though, he used to be one of the few motivational and hopeful ones like eirebhoy....

Tuff Paddy doesn't have the time to type more than 2 sentences these days.

youngirish - Very accurate prediction!

Quote Originally Posted by youngirish View Post
    Jaysus I'm good. I predicted the inclusion of S Ireland and McShane as regulars in their correct positions a year before they even got a cap (Most people hadn't even heard of Ireland back then and McShane was only playing for Brighton). Now if J O'Brien can get fit next season that's likely to be a third (we've a year to go). I'm like Mystic Meg with balls. NeilMcD check that out and choke on it.

I give up on Elliot though. He won't be a mainstay of our forward line. A good season though and he could get himself a place on the bench though I'd be surprised if he displaced Long or Stokes. Depends whether Keane decides to keep him or not which is probably unlikely if he's trying to buy Nugent.

YOu must be sore from ****ing yourself all weekend.
    In Trap we trust