Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Thread: Some New Songs for the New Season

Originally posted by Dr.Nightdub
    Didn't know youse were starting a barber shop quartet.
    Your mother is from West Cork isn't she Doc?
    You seem to be hanging around the City boards a lot lately.
    If you really want to dump St. Pats and join the club with the brightest future we'd allow you to use Pat Dolan's defection as an excuse.
    You can even join our "barber shop quartet."

Yeah, that was in the last issue of FourFiveOne and I think it's a really good one but it's another one of those ones that only about 10 or 20 will sing and all the rest will try and drown it out with something stupid like 'City til I die'!

Agreed Colm, but we shouldnt give up trying. If we keep trying then maybe more people will get to know it and eventually join in. Its the same heads singing most songs anyway.

the first two songs in the tread were excellent,

why not get them printed out on a sheet seperate from 451 and hand them out at the shed entrance so anyone entering the shed will know the words especially for the longer songs-there definitly worth singing
    Cork City F.C. the envy of the EL

Originally posted by yan
    why not get them printed out on a sheet seperate from 451 and hand them out at the shed entrance so anyone entering the shed will know the words especially for the longer songs-there definitly worth singing
    fair play yan
    give us a pm when you have them printed out and i'll give you a hand giving them out b4 the match

Hate to say it, but very few songs will work in the Sh*d. far to many muppets. I know from being in the Corner fior the last few games, they will always give a new song a bit of "air play".

havent you heard?

The Sheds dead baby!

Curragh road take me home, 2 the place we belong, its the corner, sing for CITY, Curragh road take me home.

Peadar, yes my Mum's from west Cork, but to paraphrase the Duke of Wellington, just because one's mother is born in a stable does not make one a horse. Similarly, my Da's from the Short Strand but I'm not about to start supporting Glentoran.

As regards "hanging around" here, this is nothing compared to the good old days of Hoof!, particularly in the run-up to the league decider in April '99. I'm only getting warmed up!

Oh yeah, I owe you something from the second-last match of last season: "Ha ha"
    Revenge for 2002

Originally posted by Dr.Nightdub

As regards "hanging around" here, this is nothing compared to the good old days of Hoof!, particularly in the run-up to the league decider in April '99. I'm only getting warmed up!

ah, the days of Hoof!

i'm getting all misty-eyed now

ah happy days indeed, the doc, redboy, even good old dan from dundalk poping in for some banter..

3 more chants added to the top of the thread.....any thoughts???

Re: Some more New Songs for the New Season

Originally posted by NorthoftheLee
    (Are these good enough to be sent into 451 for the first edition of the new season?
    Yeah, definitley good enough, send em into the fanzine

Re: Some more New Songs for the New Season

Originally posted by NorthoftheLee
    (To the tune of)

1:
    "Amore"

When the ball hits the net
    Its a fairly safe bet that its Johnny
    John O'Fynn

And When Cork City score
    You will hear the Shed roar "Oh, its Johnny
    John O'Flynn"

Pat Morley, Johnny C.,
    Now it's the best that we see? "Oh, its Johnny
    John O'Flynn"

He's the King of the Shed
    He leaves the re-est for dead,
    John O'Flynn

John O' Flllyyynnn!!!

2:
    "This Old Man"

This old man
    He told me
    Alan Reynold's got VD
    With a knick knack paddywhack
    Give the scum a bone
    Shamrock Rovers f*ck off home

This old man
    He told us
    Alan Reynold's got syphilis
    With a knick Knack needlewhack
    Give the scum some herion
    Junkies please f*ck off to Dubalin

"Adams FamilY"

In our defensive foursome
    He's absolutely awesome
    From corners he will score some
    It's Da-an Murray

"think this was mentioned at the end of last season...quality chant though.....

"Hi Ho"

Hoggie, Hoggie,
    Hoggie, Hoggie, Hoggie
    He's Dannys Mate,
    And he is great
    Hoggie Hoggie

Hoggie, Hoggie, Hoggie
    When danger's near,
    he's always there
    Hoggie Hoggie

repeat...

Its about time hoggie got a good song........

"London Bridge"

Ha'penny Bridge is falling down
    Falling down, falling down
    Ha'penny Bridge is falling down
    Poor old Jackeens
    Build it up with Green and Red
    Green and Red
    Build it up with Green and Red
    Poor old Jackeens

Not great but well worth a shout for the visiting jackeens...

So thats another 3 added and there's more to come.....These 3 can easily be learned by the young and old non-singers..not exactly complicated...

What do people think? A few more to be added next week. There was a debate a while back about having no new songs. Well here's two.

Are they any good? How do we get more people to become more familiar with the new (good) ones? Are these good enough to be sent into 451 for the first edition of the new season? Any feedback is welcome.
    I'll be destroyed if they're not liked
    What do you mean a good chant for the visiting jackeens? Last season you didnt even open your mouths while we were down there! I think the total number of chants from "da shed" amounted to TWO. Get real ye bunch of nobodys.
    Pull up your trousers and get away from that sheep!

Re: Re: Some more New Songs for the New Season

Originally posted by hooper
    What do you mean a good chant for the visiting jackeens? Last season you didnt even open your mouths while we were down there! I think the total number of chants from "da shed" amounted to TWO. Get real ye bunch of nobodys.

Champions!

"Hooper takes it up the............. HOOP!
    Hooper takes it up the HOOP!"

Keep on hooping

Chant!

To the tune of La donna e mobile

Georgie O'Callaghan
    He wears the number 10
    He came from Port Vale
    He is not for sale!

Georgie O'Callaghan
    He wears the number 10
    He scores goals for fun
    Keeps full-backs on the run!

or
    --

We've got Dolan-io
    You knick car stereos

Hello Gail
    This is my home.
    Why wouldn't i be here?
    This is where i belong.
    With you and the kids.

welcome richard
    good to have you on board like

Georgie O'Callaghan
    He wears the number 10
    He came from Port Vale
    He is not for sale!

Georgie O'Callaghan
    He wears the number 10
    He scores goals for fun
    Keeps full-backs on the run!
    nice one casagrande biy! I bea likina that a lot.

I think the total number of chants from "da shed" amounted to TWO. Get real ye bunch of nobodys.
    OK, we'll talk about the number 2. How about:
    2-0 down, 3-2 up, City f***ed the Rovers up!!
    Munster 33-6 Gloucester
    Aint revenge sweet?!

I think the total number of chants from "da shed" amounted to TWO.
    Wow, that's more than they managed for us.

Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast