Page 16 of 27 FirstFirst ... 6141516171826 ... LastLast

Thread: Gaa 2007

1,928 Posts
    It's losing a world cup penalty shot out type pain.

I don't know about the ref, I'm biased so I thought every 50/50 decision went to Kerry and he would have to be looking elsewhere when there was a flying boot into the face at a crucial time. No use moaning about that. Monaghan had their chances to equalize
    The game had plenty of hits and Kerry took it well, it's only some of their supporters when they do come out of their caves do all the whining. This Kerry team are disciplined and sporting. The game never looked at any time that it would flare up, a credit to both teams. Real manly hits with none of this handbag shíte and diving around.

didnt think kerry got all the decisions. they could have had a lot of frees in the 1st half that werent given. im a bit dissapointed for waterford,especially for the likes of shanahan and mcgrath, it looks like its kilkennys all ireland now. kerry and dublin will be a great game, i can see kerry lifting themselves for it.

Great game of hurling. Limerick were outstanding. Hopefully they can go on and win the all Ireland now.
    I think I should the parachute, because I'm great.

In fact, I think I should get both parachutes, in case one doesn't work.

Im completely gutted. If they hadda been hammered it would be easier. Monaghan were the better team and the officiating maybe could have been better. Either way we should have put them away. I'm sick we arent through the semis. Gaelic is a funny game and I don't know if the team can build on this. We might not have a late summer in 2008
    "No regrets, none at all. My only regret is that we went out on penalties. That's my only regret. But no, no regrets." -Mick McCarthy

Quote Originally Posted by Torn-Ado View Post
    Great game of hurling.
    Are you mental? Obvioulsly I'm bitter because Waterford lost, but it was far from a great game. Waterford took 25mins before they got going, so deserved to lose, but Limerick just spoiled the second half as that suited their tactics. Fair play to Limerick, and I hope they finish the job now, but that was a world away from a great game.
    Ceci n'est pas une signature

25 Posts
    It was very exciting if not the most skillful game in the world. Waterford should have taken more points instead going for goals at times. Wayward shooting from the half backs and midfield killed them.

it is and it isnt, to the untrained eye some of the stuff that went on yesterday looked like a load of grannys running round with their walking sticks....still 2 points in 25 mins is not going to get you anywhere near an all-ireland or for that matter 5 goals.....its not going to happen against kilkenny.

Monaghan, unfortunately were not good enough to equalise, in any other game where the team is good enough they equalise, ref blows up and the gaa get another replay and lots of money for that big black well or coffers as its otherwise known Having said that, the corner forward for monaghan had a clear chance but the dope panicked and shot to early, if he had settled himself ( lack of experience maybe ) he would have pointed it. great game of football all the same. Dublin i reckon will be too up for it against kerry and will win. Meath v Dublin final.

Quote Originally Posted by noby View Post
    Are you mental? Obvioulsly I'm bitter because Waterford lost, but it was far from a great game. Waterford took 25mins before they got going, so deserved to lose, but Limerick just spoiled the second half as that suited their tactics. Fair play to Limerick, and I hope they finish the job now, but that was a world away from a great game.
    It was damn exciting with plenty of goals. I was happy.

I think I should the parachute, because I'm great.

In fact, I think I should get both parachutes, in case one doesn't work.

1,928 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by paul_oshea View Post
    Monaghan, unfortunately were not good enough to equalise, in any other game where the team is good enough they equalise, ref blows up and the gaa get another replay and lots of money for that big black well or coffers as its otherwise known Having said that, the corner forward for monaghan had a clear chance but the dope panicked and shot to early, if he had settled himself ( lack of experience maybe ) he would have pointed it. great game of football all the same.
    Kerry were fortunate that that chance fell to the guy who had gotten the flying boot in his face a minute earlier who probably still didn't know where he was with triple vision, he was subbed immediatly.
    Monaghan have finished strongly in all their games up to yesterday but
    all those previous hard games took their toll on Monaghan in the last 10 minutes whereas Kerry were still fresh as a daisy.

ya there are two sides to that though, one could say that kerry were ring-rusty and werent at their best geysir.....anyhow im not taking away from monaghan i was hoping they would win, but they just didnt have enough in the end.

214 Posts
    I just hate Kerry winning the bloody thing nearly every year!!! Monaghan had em there for the taking but stumbled at the finishing line.

Will be interesting to see how they cope with the Dubs though. The hype starts now......
    "If God had meant football to be played in the air, he'd have put grass in the sky." Brian Clough.

You'll NEVER beat the Irish.......you'll just draw with us instead!!!

1,928 Posts
    Paul, don't believe the ring rusty bit. The Kerry trainer in the days before the game said no way would it be an issue, the players had been training hard and had plenty of competitive club games going on, they were match sharp enough to satisfy his criteria.
    Ring rusty doesn't hide that
    Kerry tactically were naive pumping high balls to Donaghy.
    Monaghan workrate and pressure disrupted Kerry's attempts to play quality.
    Kerry dug deep, fresh quality from the bench, only got their game going when Monaghan burnt out 10 minutes from the end, 4 tough Ulster games had kicked in on a team which was renowned for fitness levels previously.

Quote Originally Posted by shakermaker1982 View Post
    I just hate Kerry winning the bloody thing nearly every year!!! Monaghan had em there for the taking but stumbled at the finishing line.

Will be interesting to see how they cope with the Dubs though. The hype starts now......
    If the Dubs can play for 70 minutes instead of their usual 60 they have every chance of winning. There is no use playing great football for an hour and fading in the last 10 minutes as Kerry proved yesterday. Kerry kept pegging away and were always in touch despite how well Monaghan played. When it came to the last 10 minutes and Monaghan lost their shape, Kerry took advantage.

The other advantage that Kerry has is they have good players on the bench, probably better in depth than Dublin. The 2 O'Sullivans, Brian Sheehan and Tom Griffin had a big influence in the last 10 minutes.
    Honest! I am not a secret Tim nor a closet Sham - I really am a Seagull.

Paul, don't believe the ring rusty bit. The Kerry trainer in the days before the game said no way would it be an issue, the players had been training hard and had plenty of competitive club games going on, they were match sharp enough to satisfy his criteria.
    ah everyone knows the step up from club to intercounty is huge. Plus no matter how well trained and conditioned you are, ye cant compare to actually playing a game geysir, and 6 weeks without playing together is a very long time.

I dont think it was to do with monaghan having a load of games moreso that they gave their all for 60 mins and werent able to keep to that level for the whole game, it shows the effort though required to beat kerry.

1,928 Posts
    I'm agreed on one thing, nothing could have prepared Kerry for meeting face to face with Monaghan except maybe running backwards up Croagh Patricks in their wellies.

Hurling final ticket

Lads, with this business of every club in the country getting all Ireland final tickets i thought id ask if any of you come across a ticket with your local clubs or otherwise will you give me a shout, thanks.

monaghan were the better team should have won. they played very well and have done our county proud. as for kerry they were terrrible, played very bad. well done lads!!! ya never kno we mite make it nxt year.
    lifes too short!!

Quote Originally Posted by Monkfish View Post
    Lads, with this business of every club in the country getting all Ireland final tickets i thought id ask if any of you come across a ticket with your local clubs or otherwise will you give me a shout, thanks.
    nah
    lifes too short!!

monaghan were the better team should have won. they played very well and have done our county proud. as for kerry they were terrrible, played very bad. well done lads!!! ya never kno we mite make it nxt year.

NO, you didnt, if you had you would have won. Kerry kept close enough throughout without over exerting themselves. As much as I would have liked to see monaghan win, kerry were the better team and they won fairly. Monaghan just didnt have/do enough to win it.

1,928 Posts
    Sure, but Kerry had to dig deep, they brought on the quality subs.
    Kerry experience and craft won them out. If Kerry had not that overall quality they would have been dead and buried.
    As for Kerry playing shíte, I dont agree, there are not many teams in the country who could have overcome Monaghan, a top 8 team in form, on Sunday the way Kerry did.

Page 16 of 27 FirstFirst ... 6141516171826 ... LastLast