Page 6 of 27 FirstFirst ... 4567816 ... LastLast

Thread: Gaa 2007

International Prospect DmanDmythDledge's Avatar
    Leinster Final tomorrow. Can't see the Dubs winning it though.

71 Posts
    I was wondering how bad a Mayo team who were hammered by a Galway team that couldn't beat Sligo were. Poor poor showing by O'Mahony's side this year. I don't know if it's the lack of McDonald or if the manager should just stick to the Dáil. As usual, Mayo's league form flatters to deceive.

i think mayo missed mc garrighty(cant spell his name) this year.

he got testicular cancer didnt he the poor lad?

is your father upset stu? mayo are sh1te and bringing in a load of minors isnt the way forward....

dman, i think dublin could win it, everyone is saying that laois are better footballers but im not too sure they will be able handle the dubs today. The GAA love the DUBS

I see they haven't publicised the 4.15 kick off, so ye might get in there on time for once.....

71 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by paul_oshea View Post

is your father upset stu? mayo are sh1te and bringing in a load of minors isnt the way forward....
    Well he knew what was coming after the Galway game but it's still disappointing, we were looking forward to losing the All-Ireland final again this year. He's annoyed they swapped Moran for O'Mahony. Sure Mayo showed poorly in last season's final, but when have they done better than that in the last half century? Also, I know there was huge money donated to and spent by the county board last season, if that was the case this year then it'll be a lot of money wasted. To the best of my memory Mayo haven't done much at minor level for the last while? So the future could be a bit bleak.

214 Posts
    Well done to Derry - I hope they go far. I fancy Tyrone myself to win the Sam but Derry could be the dark horses.

We needed to blood the young lads during the league fixtures instead of relying on the old heads and it has come back to haunt us. Brady, O'Neill, Heaney and co have been great servants but are on the slide. I still think Kieran Mac has one or two seasons left in him if he can stay clear from injury. Whatever happens we need an all new back line with a bit of height and menace. Too many Mayo players are brushed off the ball with ease.

It's a long wait now till Jan 08 but my allegiance for this years Sam now goes to my missus' County - Tyrone!!!
    "If God had meant football to be played in the air, he'd have put grass in the sky." Brian Clough.

You'll NEVER beat the Irish.......you'll just draw with us instead!!!

dont think tyrone have a hope unless he likes of mcguigan and oneill return. cant see past kerry this year. the dubs are being over hyped as usual, although maybe not as much as other years. dark horses:cork(im going to back the cork double, hurling and gaelic)

71 Posts
    I didn't see the first half of the Ulster final but fair play to Monaghan, they gave it a good go. Their approach was predictable and they made far too many school boy errors in their passing but they managed to hang on in there to the end. If only that final chance was put away. Tyrone were very susceptible at the back to the high ball. Like Rovers fan, I can't see past Kerry. I'd like Monaghan (my never mentioned and previously completely ignored other roots) or Dublin to lift the Sam in the absence of Mayo though.

Those Dubs are a dislikeable shower of ponces taunting the Laois lads like that

It says a lot for how distasteful I found the whole thing that I can't wait for Kerry to hammer them

i think the hurling championship, well munster, has been very exciting. i fancy galway to upset kilkenny. kearins and wade both scored around 8 or 9 points from play against antrim. thats good going against any team.

[QUOTE=Lim till i die;724874]Those Dubs are a dislikeable shower of ponces taunting the Laois lads like that
    QUOTE]

That's right, those poor Laois lads were all just minding their own business, when, for no reason whatsoever, the Dubs started taunting them...

nah marked man but yer winning be the bigger man and then fisting to the crowd was not on, along with brogan raising his arms up and down like a chicken.....its not on.

having said that the Dubs are good for the GAA and they do add another level to the championship.

i think if its a dublin v kerry final dublin will win it, because the support will make that bit of difference to them.

25 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Rovers fan View Post
    i think the hurling championship, well munster, has been very exciting. i fancy galway to upset kilkenny. kearins and wade both scored around 8 or 9 points from play against antrim. thats good going against any team.
    Galway showed against Clare that if the game is physical they weren't up fot it. Kilkenny are both a phsical and extemely skillful side so I'd be surprised if they caused an upset. Here's hoping though.

Quote Originally Posted by Poor Student View Post
    I didn't see the first half of the Ulster final but fair play to Monaghan, they gave it a good go. Their approach was predictable and they made far too many school boy errors in their passing but they managed to hang on in there to the end. If only that final chance was put away. Tyrone were very susceptible at the back to the high ball. Like Rovers fan, I can't see past Kerry. I'd like Monaghan (my never mentioned and previously completely ignored other roots) or Dublin to lift the Sam in the absence of Mayo though.
    Shame on you!

I was supporting Monaghan yesterday obviously but all 3 strands of my heritage were represented in Clones yesterday am half Monaghan half Tyrone by parentage and was born in Fermanagh (the band were from Enniskillen!) but even my Tyrone born mum and aunt were hoping Monaghan would do it yesterday.

My mum decided to wind my dad up a bit tho by putting her Tyrone flag in his side of the bed for when he would go to get in last nite. Havent heard if they are heading for the divorce courts or not yet!

If Monaghan dont get through the next round (which they should I think as Donegal will poop their pants I think) I will be backing Tyrone all the way.

Mark Vaughn makes me feel ill, he is a pest and the game or society doesn't need his people of his ilk. Scumbag through and through

i thought you hated the GAA magicme? i wish i could be arsed to fish out te post but im pretty sure you did!!!! ah well when a team is doing well and all that sure we all have short memories

i was in the pub watching it with a few monaghan lads, but i can safely say everyone was up for monaghan in the pub, great thing about irish people and the underdog. Had monaghan taken their chances and not being going for goal with 12 minutes left they might well have won it.

there is one of him on every team soko, or at least one of him on certain teams......in fairness he is a decent player by all accounts though.

I am not a fan of GAA you are rite, but my family are and you always like to see your county do well even if it was for throwing clods of turf the furthest.

So while I dont like GAH as a sport I will cheer on my county at anything.

i dont know any sport called 'GAH'!

You dont listen to many Monaghan accents then do ya Paul!

Page 6 of 27 FirstFirst ... 4567816 ... LastLast