Page 4 of 27 FirstFirst ... 2345614 ... LastLast

Thread: Gaa 2007

great result for sligo no better and deserving man than eamon ohara to get a connaught medal

Great hurling match today. Shanahan had a great game but I thought the two Morans were very quiet for Limerick. If Limerick could have gotten those two goals in the first few minutes it would've made an even better game. I think Limerick just fell away towards the end. They just didn't seem up to it for the last 15 minutes.
    Extratime.ie

Yo te quiero, mi querida. Sin tus besos, yo soy nada.

Abri o portão de ouro, da maquina do tempo.

Mi mamá me hizo guapo, listo y antimadridista.

I don't think Limerick can have too many complaints. I'll concede I know little about the sublties of hurling but watching Limerick today for the fourth time in the last few weeks -they're actually quite a limited team and got as far as the did with huff and puff.

They don't seem to win many breaking balls, their control seems iffy, they run up a shocking number of wides and as seen today again -can't take their chances with any consistency.

I don't think Waterford were in any real danger at any point today.
    " I wish to God that someone would be able to block out the voices in my head for five minutes, the voices that scream, over and over again: "Why do they come to me to die?"

I don't know about that. Limerick stuck with them for 3/4 of the match. A very physical and scrappy match for large spells.
    If anything Limerick are limited in the same way Waterford were a few years ago. This was the first time in a while you were able to look at the Waterford subs and see half a dozen players that could have started the game. That's foreign territory for Waterford.
    But what Limerick do they do well. They hustle for everything around the half back/midfield area, and have two dangerous, if very different forwards to aim for. A couple of weeks off and they'll be rearing to go again.
    Ceci n'est pas une signature

Sadly viewing the houses that were once Milltown
    794 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by paul_oshea View Post
    great result for sligo no better and deserving man than eamon ohara to get a connaught medal
    Delighted for Sligo where my brother was born and where many of my forefathers come from. However, thanks be to God we won't have to listen to the dirge played on the radio recently about the last time Sligo won a Connaught Championship: mind numbing stuff.

My mother is from Waterford and my cousins have played for the county team so even more thrilled for them. But it's been at least a generation since they've played in an All Ireland Final. Fingers crossed this is the year. It would mean so much to them.
    Forget about the performance or entertainment. It's only the result that matters.

International Prospect bennocelt's Avatar
    335 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Lionel Ritchie View Post
    I don't think Limerick can have too many complaints. I'll concede I know little about the sublties of hurling but watching Limerick today for the fourth time in the last few weeks -they're actually quite a limited team and got as far as the did with huff and puff.

They don't seem to win many breaking balls, their control seems iffy, they run up a shocking number of wides and as seen today again -can't take their chances with any consistency.

yeah exactly how i would call it too.................Limerick were terrible with the breaking balls, lost nearly everyone

Dont think Cork and Killkenny have too much to worry about from the other counties

As regards the other stuff.............jesus Sligo were brutal, and galway were asleep
    Sligo will be a handy team for whoever draws them in the next round

Cork and Kerry have played the best so far IMHO

214 Posts
    Well done to Sligo I was rooting for em yesterday. Nice to see an upset now and again in the championship. Have they announced next Saturday's RTE game yet?

Surely Derry and ourselves will get the time slot?
    "If God had meant football to be played in the air, he'd have put grass in the sky." Brian Clough.

You'll NEVER beat the Irish.......you'll just draw with us instead!!!

Quote Originally Posted by paul_oshea View Post
    The man is just an ego...a good player and well done to him, but as a aperson he can leave a lot to be desired...

Quote Originally Posted by Red&White Rover View Post
    The man is just an ego...a good player and well done to him, but as a aperson he can leave a lot to be desired...
    i second that..

must have shares in piz buin as well.

Quote Originally Posted by bennocelt View Post
    ......Cork and Kerry have played the best so far IMHO...
    Assume you didn't see Tyrone play!
    Honest! I am not a secret Tim nor a closet Sham - I really am a Seagull.

Quote Originally Posted by Red&White Rover View Post
    pretty irrelevant if you ask me

lads no offence, but i always hear that from every county where a fella plays, whether a lad is like that or not it usually comes out that he is, so i dont pay too much heed to it. I am not saying ye are wrong, but grapevine stuff you have to ignore really.....

Anyhow was michael mcnamara first choice CB for Rovers?

Has anyone noticed there hasnt been any galway lads on this thread since.....as i expected might i add.

O'Hara is a legend to be fair and wont be properly appreciated till he is gone , Up there with O'Dowd and Kearins as the greatest ever Sligo footballer,
    Micheal was first choice yea last season and was club captain for us

he must have been a big loss, was it going professional that put him off or what? id say he might come back in time, possibly even next year.

WHo was the sligo forward paul something i think that got injured a couple of years ago but they reckoned was going to be class ( not paul taylor ), whats his name?

634 Posts
    Championship has been good this year, each province hasd been exciting, even Munster! Leitrim have been good. Monaghan getting to Ulster final is excellent. Cork have shown themselves to be a force to be considered (still need a class forward capable of scoring from open play).

Good to see Sligo win, even though whoever draws them in the quarters will more than fancy their chances.
    Most notably can't believe no-one has mentioned the Armagh game. That defeat will see the break up of probably the unluckiest team of the last 10 yrs. A shower of cnuts at the best of times but as a footballing team they have been fantastic. Given that most of these boyos have been around since 96/97 I find it hard to see the veterans hanging on much longer. I certainly think Kernan will go as manager. Its unfortunate but the return of 1 All-Ireland for the players they have, and more importantly for the effort they continually put in, is not good enough. The matches we played against them in 2000 and 2002 gave me some of the best and worst memories as a Kerry fan.

After all is said and done its hard to look past the big two. Kerry and Tyrone. I honestly thought Donegal would take Tyrone but man they were impressive.

Of the qualifiers this weekend I would fancy
    Derry to take Mayo
    Donegal to take Westmeath
    Kildare to take Louth
    As for Meath game I know this probably would sound stupid but if Geraghty is taken back tonight I'd back Fermanagh but if he's rightly told to fcuk off by the players I'd have Meath.

As for the two county finals I reckon LAois will take Dublin. I've seen this team train and they are far bigger than they've been since they came on the scene. They are a better footballing side than Dublin are, as many are I'd add, but they should have the physicality to stay with Dublin.
    Tyrone will take Monaghan without too much hassle I think.

So that would leave
    Cork, Monaghan, Dublin, Galway to face Derry, Donegal, Kildare and Fermanagh, which is a decent set of final qualifiers.
    Here they come! It’s the charge of the “Thanks” Brigade!

Quote Originally Posted by Lionel Ritchie View Post

The better team won on the day, but in no way were or are they a 9 points better side than Limerick. Limerick can have complaints, well the fans can anyway. The referee was very poor and certainly did them no favours. Limericks decision making on the sideline was atrocious. Barry Foley wouldn't play well in a camogie match and how he was left on the field for so long amazes me. We should have been seven points up without reply in the first three minutes but for Foley and Begley.

It has been proven that the most effective way to deal with Waterford is to eliminate Shanahan and Mullanes threat. Limerick would have been far better served by man marking both of them with Geary and Hickey for the entire game. The space afforded the pair of them from 20 mins onwards was shocking. They are class acts and will punish any side that lets them.

The Morans did not play on Sunday. They are normally good for 8-10 points from play between them when on song, but Waterford identified this and nulled them out. How? By man-marking them the way Limerick should with Shanahan and Mullane.

This hurling championship is still an open book, with Kilkenny, Cork and Waterford very much in the running. Limerick will beat Clare and make the semi-final. An upset against whoever they meet will be unlikely, but at least they are turning the corner...slowly.

634 Posts
    Joe spot on there with that analysis. Limerick seemed to tire towards the end I thought as well. I thought the gk was poor for Shanahans second goal.

Common consensus was with a break Limerick will take CLare which means they'd play Kilkenny which they shouldn't win.
    Here they come! It’s the charge of the “Thanks” Brigade!

Quote Originally Posted by joeSoap View Post
    The better team won on the day, but in no way were or are they a 9 points better side than Limerick.
    Absolutely. When I said Waterford were in no danger I was just pointing out that when Limerick managed a score Waterford consistently went straight back down the other end and clawed it back.

Once Waterford started to pull away I couldn't see Limerick claw the scores back in similar fashion. The lad who got Waterfords goals consistently went through us like a dose of the sh1ts.
    " I wish to God that someone would be able to block out the voices in my head for five minutes, the voices that scream, over and over again: "Why do they come to me to die?"

Most of those 9 points were tacked on in the end when Limerick were chasing the game.
    From a Waterford point of view it was good to see them responding with two quick points after Limerick's goal, as the tendency in the past was to lose concentration.
    Ceci n'est pas une signature

214 Posts
    gutted they aren't showing Derry/Mayo. Tie of the round and they stump for the hurling.
    "If God had meant football to be played in the air, he'd have put grass in the sky." Brian Clough.

You'll NEVER beat the Irish.......you'll just draw with us instead!!!

Page 4 of 27 FirstFirst ... 2345614 ... LastLast