Page 23 of 27 FirstFirst ... 132122232425 ... LastLast

Thread: Gaa 2007

1,928 Posts
    Cluxton is sound.
    I don't know if there will be that many all star vacancies left after Kerry get their due share.

geysir, will you not be up for one this year?

At the very least for your allstar posts on these forums!

One major reason for the difference in numbers of frees awarded is that Kerry players get much tighter on their men than Dublin players do. Time and again in the second half, Kerry forwards had acres of room, as Dublin backs stood off their men. Conversely, from the middle of the field on, Dublin players got very little room from their markers coming forward. Obviously you're more likely to concede a free when you're marking tightly than when you're inviting your man on to you.

Btw, Vaughan got 3 points on Sunday. Not up to his usual standard, but not awful, by any means.

as a non pale person i can honestly say that alan brogan is a very nice fella, dont know ryan, and cant stand vaughan, but brogan is 100 %

1,928 Posts
    He looks mean as hell on the pitch
    Dublin's best footballer imo.

I see TG4 won't be able to show the Minor replay on Saturday, with the ladies AI final being transmitted.

laois will win it anyhow, that kingston is class ( beanos cousin ) was devastating against roscommon as is tuohy and meredith. A bit of controversy surrounding meredith too, as he is from carlow.So looks like a final of the two teams that beat roscommon.

Quote Originally Posted by geysir View Post
    Cluxton is sound.
    I don't know if there will be that many all star vacancies left after Kerry get their due share.
    Here's my nominations for this year:

Stephen Cluxton

Marc O'Se
    Graham Canty
    Barry Cahill

Tomas O'Se
    Ger Spillane
    Caoimhin King

Dara O'Se
    Nicholas Murphy

Alan Brogan
    Leighton Glynn
    Declan O'Sullivan

Colm Cooper
    Paddy Bradley
    Thomas Freeman
    Honest! I am not a secret Tim nor a closet Sham - I really am a Seagull.

1,928 Posts
    Paddy Bradley is a class act but I don't know if he played enough to get it. After injury, he was barely involved in the USF, good game against Dublin though.
    I think we will have to wait until the final, if Donaghy performs again then
    I'd have him just ahead of Bradley.

Would Byron run Cluxton close?

20 Posts
    There's no way Cahill should get in, the corners needn't be in their normal position for the All Stars (as in you can have 2 rights or 2 lefts) so I'd easily stick Griffin in ahead of him.
    Check out my new sports blog http://www.action81.com

did any of ye spot ricky hatton at the DUbs match?!

“As I told you I had Ricky Hatton in my corner on Saturday night. I told him not to go back to England until Sunday because I wanted him to go to Croke Park and see the Dublin/Kerry match. He was never at a GAA match before. He came along with me and he was bowled over by the intensity of it all. He was so impressed that he wants to come back again!”

1,928 Posts
    I object to your use of the exclusive term "DUbs match.
    Are you one of those culchie dub wannabees

Quote Originally Posted by geysir View Post
    I object to your use of the exclusive term "DUbs match.
    Are you one of those culchie dub wannabees
    ah you outed me geysir
    tell me what gave it away?

1,928 Posts
    I see Derry won the Minor SF replay in a reported thriller. I wouldn't have expected less than a thriller, but feck that it was played in a tv blackout. Some of the best flowing football is played at this minor championship level.

12mins in and limerick look dead and buried!.... that clown should have put that free over when it was 0-2 - 0-0

terrible team, and waterford nearly beat them with 20 wides.
    Last edited by gilberto_eire; 02/09/2007 at 2:46 PM.
    There's the right way, the wrong way.... and the Max Power way!! :-D

a terrible all ireland final. kilkenny not at their best were way better. they were cruising. begley was brutal! kilkenny full back line won everything!

1,928 Posts
    Credit to Limerick for giving it all. Despite the gulf in class, despite a bad start, despite Kilkenny backs winning almost everything, they kept a neutral hurling ignoramous like me captivated to the end. They never gave up and were worthy enough of their place in the final.
    There will be no danger of the McCarthy cup being dumped in the boot of some Kilkenny players car. It was some emotional cup presentation, like no other.

Emotional alright.
    I was just listening to the chat in the Burlington and they were rightly saying that they don't get the credit that Cork and Waterford do considering what they've won.
    That's fairly true but you can't blame the media really when the Munster Championship is the only show in town until late August.
    The final was awful though. Hurling Championship isn't exciting anymore.
    City definetly have the best bands playing at half-time.

O'Bama - "Eerah yeah, I'd say we can alright!"

G.O'Mahoney Trapattoni'll sort ém out!!

Quote Originally Posted by Risteard View Post
    Emotional alright.
    I was just listening to the chat in the Burlington and they were rightly saying that they don't get the credit that Cork and Waterford do considering what they've won.
    That's fairly true but you can't blame the media really when the Munster Championship is the only show in town until late August.
    The final was awful though. Hurling Championship isn't exciting anymore.
    I assume you mean Leinster Championship hurling!

There were some great championship games this year albeit mainly involving the Munster teams. 2 games with Waterford and Cork, the 3 Limerick/Tipp games, the Tipp/Cork game and the Tipp/Wexford game.

Kilkenny can only play whoever are put up in front of them and only Galway for the first 60 minutes of their game gave them any real test.
    Honest! I am not a secret Tim nor a closet Sham - I really am a Seagull.

Quote Originally Posted by finlma View Post
    Haha - Limerick don't have a chance.

2 pretty average teams played out a pair of draws. Neither will even get close to winning the Munster final.

Galway are the dark horses this year. The only team that will challenge us.

Hurling: Kilkenny
    Football: Donegal

How wrong were you?
    For all the latest League of Ireland news visit www.extratime.ie

1,928 Posts

Monaghan sweep All Stars (Ulster)

For what's its worth the Irish News have awarded their Ulster All Stars.
    I'd say that some thought that was an oxymoron

All Star of the Year award goes to Monaghan's Tommy Freeman, well done Tommy, we have known about his ability for years and deservedly is a shoe in for the real All Star awards later this year.

The All Star team is noteworthy for the Ulster champions only having 3 players and Monaghan sweeping the team awards with 7 players.
    with Derry taking the remaining 5 places.

John Devine (Tyrone)
    Michael McGoldrick (Derry), Kevin McCloy (Derry), Dessie Moan (Monaghan),

Conor Gormley (Tyrone), Gary McQuaid (Monaghan), Damien Freeman
    (Monaghan),
    Fergal Doherty (Derry), Eoin Lennon (Monaghan),
    Enda Muldoon (Derry), Rory Woods (Monaghan), Sean Cavanagh (Tyrone), Paddy Bradley (Derry), Vincent Corey (Monaghan), Thomas Freeman (Monaghan).

Not surprising really as Monaghan were the Ulster team of the year but next year should see the Farneymen move up a gear with their eyes firmly fixed on winning the Sam Maguire. Relief is in store for a nation fed up with Kerry always winning and the Dubs always overhyped.

Page 23 of 27 FirstFirst ... 132122232425 ... LastLast