Page 3 of 27 FirstFirst 1234513 ... LastLast

Thread: Gaa 2007

ya well i had the un-fortunate luck of living in mayo for 3yrs and even all the ones who ''hate galway'' still come up and live here, ive seen quite a few. ye'r all the same ye despise us but yet ye all come here for one thing or another...but hay its not our fault ye havent won an all-ireland since 55 even though thats the only sport ye play...no need to hate us cause were better at everything
    I'm not from Mayo!!!!

Quote Originally Posted by gilberto_eire View Post
    ya well i had the un-fortunate luck of living in mayo for 3yrs and even all the ones who ''hate galway'' still come up and live here, ive seen quite a few. ye'r all the same ye despise us but yet ye all come here for one thing or another...but hay its not our fault ye havent won an all-ireland since 55 even though thats the only sport ye play...no need to hate us cause were better at everything
    no one hates galway in mayo , they probably just hated you
    Was he crazy!! Yeah , in a very special way , an Irishman.
    I slept, and dreamed that life was Beauty;
    I woke, and found that life was Duty.

Quote Originally Posted by paul_oshea View Post
    Hope ye beat galway though, hate those shower of arrogant CTs.
    Paul,

Do you never miss an opportunity to treat us to your anti-Galway bile?

The great thing about last summer where I live was that thanks to the World Cup, flags from Brazil and Poland FAR FAR outnumbered the natives from Roscommon trying their peculiar brand of one upmanship on us native Galwegians.

Your well deserved All-Ireland minor triumph unleashed new sightings of your county colours, not least from one of my neighbours, who was so cocky last weekend he managed to get his flag out on Friday evening. Funny it was gone by tea time on Sunday ‘though.

Your nasty sentiments and attitude towards us are fairly typical of your native insecurity and insularity. While we have been – so far- spared a spell from yourself in our city and county, many of your fellow countymen and women are happy to come and take what they can out of here economically while moaning incessantly about the traffic, the hospitals, and how unfair it is that Galway gets everything.

Your usual anti-Galway snipes such as this one shows what a tolerant and balanced individual you are – a chip on each shoulder.

Maybe megabucks Mulryan, (you know the Roscommon property magnate who owns a share of Sunderland) will send some of his helcopter fleet to transport all those anti-Galway Roscommon natives who rely on the county for their livelihoods back to the aul sod?

Now for my top five people from Roscommon:

Dermot Earley – who couldn’t wait to get to Kildare
    Brian Carthy – who couldn’t wait to get to Dublin
    Luke Flanagan aka Ming the Merciless – who couldn’t wait to get to Galway
    John Waters – who couldn’t wait to get to Dublin
    Paul O’Shea – ah well it’s obvious isn’t it……..?

Jiving at the Crossroads? You’re not joking.
    Less Whining
    Less Moaning

What are YOU doing to make it better?

just to add a few to that list:

douglas hyde
    johnathan swift
    oscar wildes father
    the woman from the first tarzan! she was hot too......

to name but a few off the top of my head. im sure there is more. who is brian carty by the way.

unfortunately most rossies arent as well travelled as myself MyTown, and hence their insecurities etc brings them to galway......thats why they fit in so well and more importantly why they stay there.

ah well, good post all the same. Unfortunately I dont have the same amount of time to respond to posts, if i had I might be able to offer/formulate some form of a response....alas time is of the essence, unlike all the crusties up around your part of the world.

who is brian carty by the way.
    Are you serious? A Roscommon native posts on a GAA thread and doesn't know who Brian Carthy is? Well - AFAIK, he's a Strokestown native with a very distinct nasal twang who gets the second string GAA gigs on RTE radio at the weekend and rarely lets a commentary go by without mentioning the great Jimmy Murray who led Roscommon to back-to-back All Ireland titles in......when was it again? Oh yea - the 1940s!

unfortunately most rossies arent as well travelled as myself MyTown, and hence their insecurities etc brings them to galway......thats why they fit in so well and more importantly why they stay there..
    About as lame a come back as your boys managed in 'The Hyde' last Sunday.

alas time is of the essence, unlike all the crusties up around your part of the world.
    Well you're nothing if not consistent. You could be right 'though - there's a serious amount of weekend parole from Castlerea.
    Less Whining
    Less Moaning

What are YOU doing to make it better?

About as lame a come back as your boys managed in 'The Hyde' last Sunday.
    it wasnt meant to be a comeback.

i dont listen to the radio as i am out of the country - on a permanent basis. I may have heard him but not realised!

crusties dont make it even as far as jail, they get to galway and thats far enough.

lads in fairness how could any of us have anything against the other connaught counties ? any fella who wouldnt cheer for another western team needs to have a right look at himself
    Was he crazy!! Yeah , in a very special way , an Irishman.
    I slept, and dreamed that life was Beauty;
    I woke, and found that life was Duty.

Quote Originally Posted by shakermaker1982 View Post
    bit of a generalization.

Every Mayo man I know wanted Galway to win the Sam in 2001, 2000 and 98. Why because it was good for Connaught. Can I say the same about Galway fans when Mayo were gunning for it? Can I ****. One Galway **** I know said he'd rather see England win the world cup than Mayo ever win the Sam again!!!!!!
    I'm not from Mayo!!!!
    Quote Originally Posted by RogerMilla View Post
    no one hates galway in mayo , they probably just hated you
    well i was living in mayo frm 99-02 so i was there when we lost/won- 00/01 and no they didnt want us to win it actually, ive experienced it at 1st hand as ive lived there so i think i know what im talking about....what mayomen said they'd like to see us win??.... cause ppl IN mayo didnt and hate us...and frm all the ppl i know who used to ''hate'' galway ive seen LOADS of them up here college/work/shopping etc....

ur not frm mayo??... well thats what your location says though.... roscommon so??.... didnt know ye didnt like us, not our fault ye'r county is terrible no need to envy us!!. another user of the word ''crusty'' you do know thats an american phrase btw. looks to sligo for his insults and mayo for his accomadation just frm what i can see here..... god your a real patriot to roscommon.

your very funny roger milla......crawl back under the rock frm which u appeared good man!!
    Last edited by gilberto_eire; 22/06/2007 at 4:12 PM.
    There's the right way, the wrong way.... and the Max Power way!! :-D

ur not frm mayo??... well thats what your location says though.... roscommon so??.... didnt know ye didnt like us, not our fault ye'r county is terrible no need to envy us!!.
    gilberto i didnt mean to confuse you, location doesnt necessarily have to mean where you are from/living/born etc, but it could mean one
    ah gilberto i love galway really, its a love-hate relationship.

Galway is great....:

If you are a hippy
    If you are a crusty
    If you want to be one of the above
    If you dont have to worry about time, getting something done on time, the effects of time or generally anything
    to do with time
    If you are a college student who wants to study "how to be a hippy" - arts -
    If you are a person that wears a shirt, trousers and shoes every time they plan on going out, just in case
    they plan to go to a niteclub afterwards
    If you always wear "shoes" when going out
    If you are planning on going out to a niteclub ensuring there is no big group of lads(i.e. more than 2) or that you leave it too late i.e.
    anything after 12.30.
    If you like to go for a fight after a night out after getting your chips
    If you look down your nose at anyone from "outside " Da Town.
    If you think "galway is the best city, man" , no place as good - pre-requisite having travelled as far as dublin or
    limerick previouslly
    If you are on a stag/hen and want to get ****ed and not walk far
    If you are female(who hasnt travelled outside of "town" ever ) and think because tourists or stags crack onto you, that you are inevitably hot when you are really a minger
    If you are female(who hasnt travelled outside of "town" ever ) and you are stuck up and you are a minger
    If you think Supermac's is haute cuisine,
    If you've never heard of "haute cuisine",
    If you want to pronounce Galway 'Gaulway'

the list is endless but thats just a quick few i was thinking of.

gilberto i didnt mean to confuse you, location doesnt necessarily have to mean where you are from/living/born etc, but it could mean one
    ah gilberto i love galway really, its a love-hate relationship.

Galway is great....:

If you are a hippy
    If you are a crusty
    If you want to be one of the above
    If you dont have to worry about time, getting something done on time, the effects of time or generally anything
    to do with time

If you are a college student who wants to study "how to be a hippy" - arts -
    If you are a person that wears a shirt, trousers and shoes every time they plan on going out, just in case
    they plan to go to a niteclub afterwards
    If you always wear "shoes" when going out
    If you are planning on going out to a niteclub ensuring there is no big group of lads(i.e. more than 2) or that you leave it too late i.e.
    anything after 12.30.
    If you like to go for a fight after a night out after getting your chips
    If you look down your nose at anyone from "outside " Da Town.
    If you think "galway is the best city, man" , no place as good - pre-requisite having travelled as far as dublin or
    limerick previouslly
    If you are on a stag/hen and want to get ****ed and not walk far
    If you are female(who hasnt travelled outside of "town" ever ) and think because tourists or stags crack onto you, that you are inevitably hot when you are really a minger
    If you are female(who hasnt travelled outside of "town" ever ) and you are stuck up and you are a minger
    If you think Supermac's is haute cuisine,
    If you've never heard of "haute cuisine",
    If you want to pronounce Galway 'Gaulway'

the list is endless but thats just a quick few i was thinking of.
    im convinced you have to be a hermit!!
    you dont have a clue about the outside world.
    your views on places in modern ireland are quite disturbing and you should seek medical help IMMEDIATELY!!.
    i was just waiting for you to say things like.......i wont even go there actually for the sake of us all!!.
    remind me not to visit where your actually frm and cross the street if i see you....''sorry mate aint got no change''

eire notice the shoes in quotes part, think a little and you will get me, it has two meanings.

but just not to confuse you more, i wear shoes every single day to work, and a suit or sometimes just a shirt and trousers, so you might see me and not realise that you need to cross the street, what will you do then?

eire notice the shoes in quotes part, think a little and you will get me, it has two meanings.

but just not to confuse you more, i wear shoes every single day to work, and a suit or sometimes just a shirt and trousers, so you might see me and not realise that you need to cross the street, what will you do then?
    what ya wear doesnt change the fact im afraid!!. anyway most of the things you say about galway which you despise are in fact perpetrated by fellow country folk like yourself who decide to grace our fine land!.
    they can be seen boarding/un-boarding buses at our bus station every friday/sunday on clogging up our roads to the point where we need an outer by-pass......
    you actually hate country folk not us, judgeing by your points there

so why do they go there then eire? is it the promised land for crusties and young ones ( male and female ) with attitudes?

i dont know ask your family/friends..... anyway do yourself a favour and watch the champs elect hammer leitrim on sunday on our way to yet ANOTHER connacht title, before we go all the way..... im sure ye'll manage another some day...keep the faith

1,002 Posts
    Jesus will the 2 of you shut up?

Quote Originally Posted by osarusan View Post
    Jesus will the 2 of you shut up?
    take a hike 37!!. ill call ye a ''shower of arrogant cts'' and see how you like it and if ye read my last post i ended my part of the argument and put it back on topic..... you could have said that a while back!

214 Posts
    Cork or Kerry lads for today?

Have to say Dublin and Galway were below par last week. Tyrone/Kerry must be big favourites this season.
    "If God had meant football to be played in the air, he'd have put grass in the sky." Brian Clough.

You'll NEVER beat the Irish.......you'll just draw with us instead!!!

Quote Originally Posted by shakermaker1982 View Post
    Cork or Kerry lads for today?
    Doesn't really matter at this stage as both teams will still be in the mix for Sam. Last year, Cork beat Kerry in Munster final after replay, then Kerry beat them easily when it mattered in All Ireland semi.

The qualifiers have devalued the provincial finals to some extent and there is no doubt Kerry benefitted from the extra game in the qualifiers.
    Honest! I am not a secret Tim nor a closet Sham - I really am a Seagull.

Yeuch! That was some frightful bickering from Paul o Shea and Gilbertoeire! Some quick points I must make; Roscommon, perhaps reflective of thier populace's psyche, have always played unattractive brutish football; Jonathon Swift from Roscommon??. ; and, I think, Galway is meant to be said as Gaul-way. I won't get involved any deeper!

Quote Originally Posted by Superhoops View Post
    Doesn't really matter at this stage as both teams will still be in the mix for Sam. Last year, Cork beat Kerry in Munster final after replay, then Kerry beat them easily when it mattered in All Ireland semi.

The qualifiers have devalued the provincial finals to some extent and there is no doubt Kerry benefitted from the extra game in the qualifiers.
    I can imagine that today's match may not appear to have mattered in the greater scheme of things. However to so believe grossly underestimates the perenially bubbling rivalry between Cork and Kerry (may I add that this is a gaelic football-only rivalry and that there is no resentment of the 'big city folk' from those in their neighbouring county, Paul) that, over the decades, has festered and boiled, with a regularly heightened, always thumping, pulse. Losing stings, losing to Cork lingers like a terminal scorpion sting only remedied by the soothing antidote that in the next incarnation you will return as a scorpion to kill the, now human, scorpion. I can't say those were my exact thoughts as, nearing the games close, Cork looked like they may snatch victory, but the sentiment holds true! Of additional importance was the rahter treacherous looking qualifier route. The attitude that 'oh Kerry won't mind losing too much they could do with a few games' is not one people here would prescribe to with the likes of Armagh, Donegal and Mayo ominously lurking in the shadows of the qualifiers.

As for the game itself, it was thoroughly enjoyable despite an overly whistle-happy ref and was a match I felt Kerry just about deserved to win. Cork were impressive, but perhaps lack a forward with real class. Put a Cork jersey on the Gooch (perish the thought!) and I'd favour them. Masters is obviously a fine score-taker but in general play doesn't strike any fear into the opposition. The height of the Cork team is incredible, making the midfield battle a fascinating one and was a tussle that Kerry should be satisfied to have come out of on a par with a side I'd expect to seriously trouble, if not significantly dominate, opponents in future matches. A quick look at the All-Ireland odds show Dublin at 11/2 and Cork at 12/1; in terms of quality of the teams I'd reverse the odds but of course the circuitous road Cork must now travel works against them. Still, I'd throw a few bob on Cork a lot sooner than Dublin.

I was pretty happy with Kerry's performance and obviously over the moon to get the win. I wouldn't be over-confident of retaining Sam but you know that if our forwards (with a reserve six forwards that would be better than most counties') get a decent supply of ball they have the ability and understanding to run riot. I suppose one of the big tests today was for our new manager, Pat O'Shea. I think his counterpart, the wily old wan_er, Billy Morgan, won the tactical battle in the second half by crowding the midfield and implementing a short pass strategy allowing Cork to garner a supremacy that Kerry had no direct answer to. Cork began to win all the breaking ball but our goalie wasn't told to kick out short, while our full-back was left on his own guarding ground that no long pass was going to be kicked into. Not great Pat.

All in all it was a great weekend and it was nice to see that a strong Cork contingent travelled down. However I would just hope that the lure of Killarney was not the reason but rather that the supporters are giving, and, more importantly, continue to give, the team the support they deserve. That said, I wouldn't be surprised if very few Corkonians go to the next match(es).

Ciarraí abú

It's going to be a hard month ahead for the Cork GAA suporter with both teams in the qualifiers.
    This Cork team seems to improving ever year. I thought we were dead and buried in the second half but fair play to them they dug themselves out of it and were almost a width of a goalpost(or shrill of a whitle) away from winning it.
    Cussen showed up very well and is showing encouraging signs and I was impressed with Miskella also who deserves his chance after being on/off the panel with years! Great to see Canty back playing against the green and gold after last year!
    Hopefully we'll avoid the big guns in the qualifiers but it could be potentially be very tricky.
    Life isn't all beer and football...some of us haven't touched a football in months

Page 3 of 27 FirstFirst 1234513 ... LastLast