Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Thread: England Out

Originally posted by Shed End John
    look at a game on your TV set at all will prove just how much fitter rugby players are compared to their soccer counterparts.
    yeah, those big fat bastids who can hardly draw breath, let alone run, are a dead give away
    Whatever it was I am sure it was better than my plan to get out of this by pretending to be mad. I mean, who would have noticed another madman around here?

Originally posted by Ref
    football is not of British origins.

it's italian.

isn't it?
    Well football as we know it was started in England AFAIK, but that kinda missed the point.... People are slagging Rugby for being a Brit game, but football was known as the garrison game wasn't it?

Cricket and Rugby, as with baseball and American Football, are good to watch once you know and understand the rules.....

Originally posted by Macy
    People are slagging Rugby for being a Brit game, but football was known as the garrison game wasn't it?

Cricket and Rugby, as with baseball and American Football, are good to watch once you know and understand the rules.....
    Yes, it was.
    Thanks for giving me a measure of support in my views, Macy.

Ruairi, you just better be fit yourself on Saturday night, never mind your totally inaccurate views on rugby!!
    Munster 33-6 Gloucester
    Aint revenge sweet?!

So you're denying the presence of big fat bastids playing rugby?
    Whatever it was I am sure it was better than my plan to get out of this by pretending to be mad. I mean, who would have noticed another madman around here?

Originally posted by Ruairi
    So you're denying the presence of big fat bastids playing rugby?
    At anything approaching a decent level ie Interprovincial, Celtic League, Heineken Cup, International, YES!! Players simply can't afford to carry extra weight. It's much too demanding a game for that.
    Munster 33-6 Gloucester
    Aint revenge sweet?!

777 Posts
    2 points

I think people are deliberatly trying to wind up SEJ

And baseball is the most boring sport imagineable and I understand the rules

Ireland to beat France by 3pts methinks.

Originally posted by Real ale Madrid
    I think people are deliberatly trying to wind up SEJ
    No $hit!

Yeah it is apalling, the worst is the commentaters going on about some guys ERD average and his record breaking FHT and all this $hite without saying (or even hinting) what any of that means.

Ireland to beat France by 3pts methinks.
    I'd say if we beat them it'll be by 10+ but I'm not as confident as most people seem to be that we will.

I couldn't agree more the Americans destroyed Rounders.
    There was nothing wrong with Rounders fun easy rules and a good laugh.

Baseball, rounder's illegitimate offspring that should out been keep in a secret place out of harm, just like G W Bush really
    It's only just begun...............
    If the last 21 years were class, here's looking forward to the next 21 years. It is our time

Originally posted by Conor74
    Oh they're a lot fitter alright. Yerra go on. Players like Martin Johnson are just thugs in tracksuits and would be laughed off a GAA county team.
    Ah GAA, the only sport more boring than baseball!

Ah yes, I can see it now, Shane Byrne nutmegging Carlos, chipping it to Peter Clohessy who dances around Lizarazu, and sends in a low cross met by the diving header of Frankie Sheahan, who beats Nesta to put the ball past Buffon.
    And I'd like to see ANY one of the soccer players listed above go on to a rugby pitch and take just ONE bone-crunching tackle from a top rugby player. Sweet Jesus, the soccer player would never get up off the ground again, and rugby players may have to take 20+ such tackles in a match.
    Munster 33-6 Gloucester
    Aint revenge sweet?!

ah lads dont knock basball till you've seen it 1st hand
    saw a NY yankees V Boston red sox game
    40,000 mad screaming passionate bostonians .. win 8-7 with 9th inning run ( with the kinda cork v kerry, munster football final feel to it, in terms of rivalry / good natured slagging and banter between the fans.. grab yourself a few hotdogs a few coors lite or maybe a soda *realises he has been brainwashed* )

again i think like someone else mentioned earlier, once you understand all the rules fully then alot of 'boring' sports are watchable including baseball

And I'd like to see ANY one of the soccer players listed above go on to a rugby pitch and take just ONE bone-crunching tackle from a top rugby player
    For "top rugby player" read "fat bastid"

Brian O'Driscoll and Robinson, the Sale winger, are fit.
    Conor cuming out of the closet?

Originally posted by Macy
    Conor cuming out of the closet?

Nah Macy, it's not the closet its his dreams it happens in.

It's only just begun...............
    If the last 21 years were class, here's looking forward to the next 21 years. It is our time

I didn't actually think anyone here would have watched the Cricket World Cup bar games england losing in although i have caught a bit o cricket just to see Enmgalnd lose myself before...

Ignoring the sporting merits but isn't watching England lose a good enough reason to watch Cricket?

Apparently Brian O'Driscoll is a bit of a smoker so debatable how fit he really is...

Me and about 40,000-60,000 other people around this province, you thick, ignorant b***ox!!!
    Spoken like a true no-neck, bullet-headed, mud-wallowing boor.
    Fair play to yah...

Originally posted by Ruairi
    For "top rugby player" read "fat bastid"
    I dare you to go up to Will Greenwood or Brian O'Driscoll and say that.
    Conor, Peter Clohessey, albeit a more than capable one, was a relic from the days of amatuerism. That said he was hardly fat/unfit. The trend since professionalism, however, has been towards players becoming increasingly fitter. No way would they last an 80 minute game otherwise.
    Oddboy, you are odd and continue to display extreme ignorance on the subject of rugby, I would suggest you stick to talking about something you have a clue of.

Rant finished.
    Munster 33-6 Gloucester
    Aint revenge sweet?!

Anyway, what did SEJ say about players being so fit because they could tackle? Tackle? I've yet to see fitness defined by a tackle count. I must have missed the Jane Fonda Tackle Yourself Fit Workout video, or perhaps the Elle McPherson Thinner Through Tackling Routine.

Remember Peter Clohessy, he could tackle all day, and you should have seen him tackle a dinner, but still no advertisement for fitness I'm afraid. In fact, until he played in Oz he prided his boozing routine despite playing International and Interprovincial.
    Weight and stature isn't necessarily a good indicator of fitness.... You could be a fat bastid and still be fit.... Also there's different types of fitness - aerobic and anaerobic.... A body builder has a high anaerobic fitness level, but more than likely I could out run him....

That's the last I'll say of the Rugby, as I don't want to be tagged as any kindred spirit of SEJ... Basically I'd watch most sports...

Originally posted by Pete
    I didn't actually think anyone here would have watched the Cricket World Cup bar games england losing in although i have caught a bit o cricket just to see Enmgalnd lose myself before...
    Actually I would sit down and watch a full 5 day test match, and used to go to the odd Lancs games, but obv one day matches are better.... Infact cricket is the one sport I don't mind England doing well in....

The fiancee is a member of this board. I'll send her after ye.
    Hmmmmm

Rant finished.
    That'll be the day.

Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast