Thread: Derek McCarthy to Kilkenny...

I agree we are never gonna win anything with him. He needs to go now before the season starts and somebody enthusiastic put in place. We dont ned someone with a chip on his shoulder leading us to the bottom of the division again

Originally posted by sadloserkid
    Other players who don't get on with Noel are still with us so why not Derek?
    None of ye addressed this lads. I'm playing devil's advocate here because I agree with you all that Noel has messed up big time but it's too easy to only blame the guy who's left behind. If Derek really wanted to play so badly surely he could have made a call? Yes, it may have been Noel's place to do it but that's no reason that Derek shouldn't have made a call if he was that keen to play for Limerick again. Derek McCarthy is a class player and I would still have loved to see him playing in the blue again but it's not to be because (and maybe he's right) he won't play for somebody he doesn't get on with. At least four members of last years first team squad are in the same boat but they're still with Limerick. Noel's people skills? Non-existent, no doubting that but no matter what your views on the man it's not as black and white as people here are making it seem.

Dar, you say that it's not necessarily all Noel's fault and I agree. Michael O'Sullivan is also partly to blame. Let me put it to you like this, last season at our final home game against Kilkenny Derek turned up at the Jacks. During the game Noel was busy pondering about the meaning of life, but what was Michael O'Sullivan doing. He saw Derek that day, he saluted him and that was it. He had the opportunity to ask him was he coming back to Limerick, he could have asked him to meet Noel and reconcile their differences but he didn't. Derek presented himself to Limerick at that game.
    Noel would have known he was there after the match because Derek was meeting a couple of the players for a few drinks. Noel could have done something there and then. God knows that he knew he needed some bit of class on the field after what he had just witnessed at the Kilkenny match. I don't think Derek would have done what Mannering did in that match (albeit a diificult chance) as in rob the goalkeeper and have an empty net and his first reaction is to pass the ball rather than shoot.
    Look at Alex Ferguson and Van Nistlerooy. Ruud was all set to sign for Utd but he got injured and had to return to PSV, what did Ferguson do, he kept in touch with Ruud and reassured him that he was still wanted and thats just it, Limerick FC made Derek feel unwanted. There was no need for Derek to turn up at the Kilkenny game he could have met the players later on in the pub but the fact is he did and what did Limerick do...nothing.
    Derek is a mate of mine who I am sad to see is no longer involved with Limerick. It's only through Derek (and Trev as well) did I start getting interested in Limerick hence why I'm pretty annoyed with the club.

However I'm Limerick through and through and I'm going to keep supporting the club and hope we trounce Kilkenny (especially at home) in the new season. Also John D I'm afraid I have to point out that we have won something under Noel...the League Cup. I think Noel personally is a **** and thats being polite about it and would love to see a manager of better calibre at Limerick but we have to make best with what we can and who knows maybe this year we can do what Cobh did and get into the playoffs. I think its something Limerick could achieve if they get their act together including off the field affairs. Lets just see what the season has in store for us...