Thread: South East FC aiming for Eircom league spot

South East FC aiming for Eircom league spot

In August this year the South East Academy will take another leap forward, as part of their continued development of elite players in the south east region, when their recently formed club ‘South East FC’ will affiliate to the LFA and FAI through the Carlow and District Football League. South East FC will then compete in the FAI Youth Challenge Cup, FAI u17 Challenge Cup, LFA Youths Cup and will contest challenge games regularly with some of the leading teams in the country throughout the season. The club intend to be based at Bunclody FC, which is also the FAI Regional Development Centre. Bunclody FC have recently installed International class facilities, including three International class grass pitches, an indoor 3G Astro Turf pitch and superb clubhouse facilities on its 16 acre site and are presently installing a full-size outdoor 3G Astro Turf pitch with flood lights.

South East FC see the coming season as a stepping stone to League of Ireland football, as they hope to compete in the New Under 20 Division of the Eircom League which is due to start in 2008. John Coughlan, Vice-President of the Leinster Football Association and Secretary of the Carlow and District Football League said ”We are delighted to be working with South East FC. It will provide a great opportunity for elite players in the south east to compete at a high level without having to travel long distances, as has been the case in the past. It will also enable these players to receive coaching to an International standard and afford them a real opportunity to play in the Eircom League in 2008”.

Preparations to take the club forward into the Eircom League are already well under way, with management structures and highly qualified coaching staff in place including Pat Purcell who is head coach with the FAI emerging Talent Programme in Carlow and currently working on his UEFA ‘B’ Coaching Licence. Garry Coady holds a UEFA ‘B’ Licence and is an FAI Tutor and FAI regional squad coach while Dutch native Robbert Wagemans is an FAI emerging talent programme coach who holds a Semi-Pro Coaching Licence from the Dutch Football Federation. Seamus Glover who recently completed his UEFA ‘A’ Licence also holds a UEFA ‘B’ Goalkeeping Licence.

Over the last few years, the South East Academy has built up a network of contacts with professional clubs in the UK and Europe. South East FC will maintain these contacts and continue to travel regularly to these clubs in order to provide an opportunity for players to experience different styles of play and coaching methods. During the coming season they will play up to 30 games and will have over 60 coaching sessions.

Pre-season training is now under way in preparation for one of Europe's premier tournaments, the Foyle Cup, in Derry during July and the prestigious Galway Umbro Cup in August. South East FC are currently assembling an impressive squad of players from Carlow, Kilkenny and Wexford, with all having played at representative level while the majority have also played in the DDSL Premier division. They currently have a small numbers of places available and are looking for elite players born in 1990 who are serious about playing soccer. Places are limited so if you are interested or would like further information,
    contact Pat Purcell on 085-1336050.

Ciao

717 Posts

fair play to ye lads seems like a decent set up. best of luck with it.
    if it wasnt for birds and booze id have played for ireland juniors!!!!!

3,234 Posts
    Mods looking after it now.

Where's the team based? Is it Carlow town?

South-East already has three teams.
    City definetly have the best bands playing at half-time.

O'Bama - "Eerah yeah, I'd say we can alright!"

G.O'Mahoney Trapattoni'll sort ém out!!

70 Posts
    Isn't Bunclody in Wexford? I can figure out, does this club have senior ambitions of just want to become a really good underage development setup?

Sout East FC is an even worse name than Wexford Youths. Has ANYBODY got any imagination at all in that part of the country? Seriously, South East FC?! FFS.....

Oh to have a number eh?
    City definetly have the best bands playing at half-time.

O'Bama - "Eerah yeah, I'd say we can alright!"

G.O'Mahoney Trapattoni'll sort ém out!!

Limerick 37 Fc.......your Having A Laugh
    Ciao

1,524 Posts
    South West Ten to the Power of Six.

Quote Originally Posted by Topman View Post
    Limerick 37 Fc.......your Having A Laugh
    Not really. Many clubs on the continent have numbers after their name. Think Schalke 04, Munich 1860, Hannover 96 and there are many more. Juventus FC means Youth FC in latin. They haven't been havin' a laugh in a while....

I think South East FC makes sense too as it could potentially attract more fans than say just Carlow Town for example.
    Rocky

717 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Rocky View Post
    I think South East FC makes sense too as it could potentially attract more fans than say just Carlow Town for example.
    Yes, yes. I can see it now. 'Dublin City', we'll call it. In five years, it'll be in the Champions' League...

Quote Originally Posted by John83 View Post
    Yes, yes. I can see it now. 'Dublin City', we'll call it. In five years, it'll be in the Champions' League...
    Well his name is Rocky
    Your Chairperson,
    Gavin
    Membership Advisory Board
    "Ex Bardus , Vicis"

Its really quite simple.....our club is named after the Region we are from!!! The South East (Carlow, Wexford, Wicklow, Kilkenny region)!!!!!!
    As with a lot of leagues around the country they cover more than their county as in the "Carlow and District Junior League".
    This is not the GAA and we are not just representing 1 county.
    I hope this helps as "Carlow O7" just dosen't do it for me!!!

Thanks guys for showing an interest and best of luck with your clubs during the rest of your season
    Ciao

Whats the point if Wexford Youths already in Eircom League??
    "You'll not see nothing like the Shelbourne team"

81 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by shelbourne1904 View Post
    Whats the point if Wexford Youths already in Eircom League??
    And Kilkenny and Bray.....

[COLOR=black][FONT=Calibri][SIZE=3]Oh Im Sorry....are we not allowed to play Soccer in the Carlow Region. We can cater for the large growing population in the area with our set up if not we lose them to the DDSL for example or even the Rugby and GAA. Now players in the region will have a choice and this will help everbody raise standards and make Soccer more attractive and competitive. We have a budget of €150,000!!!! in place for the running of our club next season!!!![/SIZE][/FONT][/COLOR]
    [COLOR=black][FONT=Calibri][SIZE=3][COLOR=#800080]http://archives.tcm.ie/carlownationa...story31994.asp
    [/COLOR][/SIZE][/FONT][/COLOR][COLOR=black][FONT=Calibri][/FONT][/COLOR]
    Ciao

81 Posts
    No problem at all setting up a team in Carlow, but you were suggesting that the team would cater for not only Carlow but Kilkenny, Wexford and Wicklow also. There are already EL teams from those counties so would it not be better if the club only focused on the Carlow area?

Good point, but Bray have a very good set up set the moment and are almost in Dublin and can attract a lot of players from their region so for some areas of Wicklow we would be closer for players

Kilkenny City is the not the most attractive set up at the moment as their Oscar Traynor set up seems to be more orgainised and successful

Wexford like Bray have a very good set up and a lot of players coming through especially after winning the U18s all ireland a few weeks back.

So if there are players from other counties in the region who are interested in our set up well thats great. We want to be as attractive as possible and keep the players playing and training at a very high standard while not having to travel to far.

We wont be in competiton with any of the other EL clubs in the South East as its a very big area with an ever increasing population.
    Ciao

Maybe Cork City could rebrand themselves Munster.
    Your Chairperson,
    Gavin
    Membership Advisory Board
    "Ex Bardus , Vicis"