Thread: That new D4 accent

Sadly viewing the houses that were once Milltown
    794 Posts
    And of course not forgetting Rhyll Nugent of "Glory glory Munster" fame. Apart from the fact that he is a cr*p commentator, his alecadoo accent drives me mental. At least it's rugby which is famous for its Hurray Henrys and the presenter Tom McGuirk and indeed George Hook all speak as if they were born in the posh part of Buckingham Palace.

The question is now in the media to get on do you have to speak with no hint of an Irish accent, which is a bit ironic bearing in mind the dis dat dese and dose spoken by the Taoiseach
    Forget about the performance or entertainment. It's only the result that matters.

At least the recent trend for Australian newsreaders on the radio and TV3 seems to have ended. (Bethan Kilfoil's days may be numbered, too.)

The weirdest thing you'll hear in the media is the former Workers' Party chap who is RnaG's political editor; he speaks Galway Irish in a weird English accent. Doesn't pronounce the -r- at the end of words, and all that.

Although he might have a speech impediment, come to think of it. Never heard him speak English. In which case it's sad.

The girl doing that ad for getting peoples old mobile phones has a terribly grating D4 accent
    Oh God save me , Susan McFadden on Today FM now

Quote Originally Posted by Jerry The Saint View Post
    The thread title is incorrect as the Lorraine Keane AA Roadwatch accent is actually that old "D4" accent, more properly a "Dort" accent which was always more of a class/wannabee class thing than a regional accent. Even many country lasses adopted this accent. Both Keane and the Ireland AM woman are in their 30s and weren't quite the originators of this accent so it's far from a new thing.

Speaking of Lorraine Keane - I saw her the other day presenting a show that appeared to be called "SEXPO" Hardly an appropriate name for daytime television?

The new D4 accent that is really beneath contempt is that spoken by young ones today who think they're part of some friggin' OC Super Sweet Real Laguna Beach show. Never heard of that Bebo woman in the previous link but OHMIGOD, I bet she TOTALLY has that accent.
    The above was my take on it as well. There's at least two of the "affected" D4 accents.

The "Dort" accent has been around for a couple of generations. I remember reading that there's a school of thought that the children of, or indeed, the originators childrens children - have begun to speak in this accent without "affecting" it. The accent has actually taken hold!!! Loike Gear!!!

The "OC Super Sweet Real Laguna Beach Show" accent - its so vile sounding it must exist.
    Quoting years at random since 1975

Quote Originally Posted by Jerry The Saint View Post
    It would be churlish not to mention Conor MockNamora (son of Limerick and DJ Mickey Mac) in a thread like this. His fake accent and references to Cunny Kenningham, Denny Mehphy and the likes even managed to convince the BBC that he was English.
    I was always convinced that he was an Englishman who had Irish parents. I really can't believe he grew up in Limerick. Terry Wogan is not that bad and he's been living in England for a lot longer.
    Extratime.ie

Yo te quiero, mi querida. Sin tus besos, yo soy nada.

Abri o portăo de ouro, da maquina do tempo.

Mi mamá me hizo guapo, listo y antimadridista.

International Prospect bennocelt's Avatar
    335 Posts
    Looks like we are all in agreement on this, which is good for a change
    that Macmilliam or whatever is a right pain alright
    and Ryle Nugent, how did he get a job on RTE, he is very bad at comentating

Since I have returned home from a few years out of the country i have to say i find the dart accent isnt as prelevant as it used to be, or am i totally wrong?

38 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by bennocelt View Post
    Since I have returned home from a few years out of the country i have to say i find the dart accent isnt as prelevant as it used to be, or am i totally wrong?
    Like, totally.
    A leading authority on League of Ireland football since 2003. You're probably wrong.

60 Posts
    Think Bob Geldof was the prime suspect in spreading that D4 Dort Accent.

Of course there is also a Cork version, which can be heard down in Mon-ten-ottty
    Always look on the bright side of life

794 Posts
    Watch TV3 and listen to the accents: especially the women. The D4 accent is all over the shop.
    Forget about the performance or entertainment. It's only the result that matters.

Anyone heard those "Accountancy Solutions" ads on the radio at the moment?

Like totally, D4, Roight? Gear.
    Quoting years at random since 1975

its not so much the traditional d4 accent, it is more the new dublin californian accent spoken by the OC generation, usually birds speak it, rugar huggars and the like
    'How can I hate women, my Mums one!!!' Chris Finch

Quote Originally Posted by citizenerased View Post
    its not so much the traditional d4 accent, it is more the new dublin californian accent spoken by the OC generation, usually birds speak it, rugar huggars and the like
    Thats the one, the D4/American accent that is THE most irritating accent I have ever heard. I'm a culchie, I dont try to hide the fact but girls from here coming home at the weekends with the "O.M.G, wall I was like totally roight" statements make me soooo frickin mad
    Ever get the feelin' you have been cheated?

794 Posts
    And now the Gerry Ryan show in the morning is being advertised by a man with an American accent Are we ashamed of our own accents and have to look up to foreign or invented D4 accents?

Quote Originally Posted by OwlsFan View Post
    There are definitely elecution lessons involved here. Words like "house" and "out" are particularly susceptible to the Dublin accent so they go to elecution lessons and end up as "heiss" and "ite" as in "roundabite". It's an epidemic of huge proportions. It's everywhere. It's doing my head in. I am going ite of my mind.
    They tried to soften Jason Sherlock's accent when he was doing that 'Rapid' sports show on RTE. You could see he was constantly trying to restrain himself.Think he's forgotten all he's been taught now though. His co-presenter on that show was gone so over the top on elocution that she nearly ate her own face.

Quote Originally Posted by Jerry the Saint
    "OC Super Sweet Real Laguna Beach Show"
    Ha ha that needs to become an officially recognised(and widely resented) accent....
    and social class!
    <insert witty remark>

Quote Originally Posted by OwlsFan View Post
    Are we ashamed of our own accents and have to look up to foreign or invented D4 accents?
    You'd wonder alright wouldn't you. Though accent changes can often be subconscious I feel, and very much subject to how those around you speak - making the propagation of these awful twangs all the more worrying! - and also by what you aspire to; so if you watch Laguna Beach etc then there's a good chance you'll succumb.

As a little aside, I did a bit of travelling last year and on two separate occasions was told, by an Australian and Swede, that Irish accents are their favourites in the world. All hope is not lost!

634 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Maz View Post
    Thats the one, the D4/American accent that is THE most irritating accent I have ever heard. I'm a culchie, I dont try to hide the fact but girls from here coming home at the weekends with the "O.M.G, wall I was like totally roight" statements make me soooo frickin mad
    Its in Portarlington too. Not cool. Loike.
    Here they come! It’s the charge of the “Thanks” Brigade!

43 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by NeilMcD View Post
    I thought I was alone in my hatred for that gimp from Today FM. He represets everything that is wrong with some sports fans in this country.
    100% on the button.

Has anyone seen the buffoon on Setanta, I think it's a GAA show?
    As Irishmen we dilute our sense of nation by depending on the English to bring us our balls

176 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by OwlsFan
    Watch TV3 and listen to the accents: especially the women. The D4 accent is all over the shop.
    ...in D24.

International Prospect bennocelt's Avatar
    335 Posts
    Anyone see Annie Mac on BBC. Jeez has both a fake D4 AND a fake posh london accent. Weirdo

794 Posts
    Anyone see Annie Mac on BBC. Jeez has both a fake D4 AND a fake posh london accent. Weirdo
    I hear what you mean

http://www.bbc.co.uk/radio/aod/mainf...1/anniemac_sat