Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Thread: Sligo 2-1 Bohs... Unbelievable

Quote Originally Posted by First View Post
    FFS people and you know if I am referring to you it is a football game not a life or death issue, and have some thought for the people like myself who love to watch football for what it should be entertainment and would like to pass this love to our kids without having to censor that enjoyment. There is enough **** in the world that we try to shield our kids from.
    You see that is what is different between you and most of the people at the game on saterday. That game was more than life or death (And no matter what you say will change that) for most of the fans at that game. He was the fellow we came and we watched manage our team every week and he stabbed the club we love in the back!
    I can understand where you are coming from but that game was the one all of us were relishing for some time. And if you came for a good day out with your daughter maybe you should do a bit more research into the game you travel too. Drogheda midweek was fine no problem whatsoever, maybe that would have been a better choice.

To top it all off, Bohs should get a fine of about €100 for the mis-conduct of their players, 7 players yellow carded.

I used to sit in the old red stand when I was in Sligo, swearing my f-ing head off at 8 years of age (much to the constination of others I may add), getting behind my team. Others did this too, in what would be described as a 'family stand', and it has done me no harm. It is life and death to some people, and long may that continue. Good to see that some people in Sligo aren't all wrapped up in consumerism and other such rubbish.

So, good on the lads who did it. I would've joined in if I had gone. It's people like you that provide the team with the support of a twelfth man, something that other clubs in this division could only hope for.
    Last edited by Soper; 05/06/2007 at 7:18 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by BohsPartisan View Post
    People in glass houses. We were causing no trouble whatsoever. Your head of security came all the way accross the pitch, giving us the fingers then physically threatened some of our fans throwing his fist about. I heard from a couple of your lads after the game that this same guy thumped a Galway fan before, so its you who needs to get your house in order, this is the most unproffessional security operation I have ever witnessed. We are making an official complaint against your man Oliver and there were plenty of witnesses.

As for the game, fair play you deserved it.
    Ah Mr Davey strikes again. Thought he was banned. Do the FAI not have a register of stewards who have completed the course? If so they should be able to ban people from stewarding as well. The guy is an ass ole.
    "Are those my feet" Fr Jack Hackett

If people are so concerned about any of our stewards, then why not tell people who care, rather than boring/baiting people on the internet

glad to see everybody is in agreement about this First fellah!sorry mate but most of us here were throwing abuse at sean connor and he deserved every bit of it. this was the biggest game of the season for us.to be honest i think your out of order trying to criticise the regulars, people who support their club through thick and thin when u've only been to one game.nobody likes sunshine supporters but when they try to critice the real fans its too much for us. you say you want to pass your love of the game onto your kids..well can i ask you one question, where did you get your love of the game?id suggest it was from watching games on television because if you attended games you might know that chanting and banter is part of football and happens at every game all over the world.if you didn't like it don't come back..we have enough people sitting in silence in that new stand without another one.

As said by the chairman in tonight's meeting, if you have a problem with a steward, or in this case, Oliver Davey, "Leave it til the next day after you've calmed down, write it down in black and white and sign your name to it and send it into the club. Then it will be discussed at the next board meeting."

Sligoman
    Please don't drag me into this. He's Rogue Trader, not sligoman.

First, do you mind me asking, what part of the ground were you sitting in on Saturday?
    Last edited by sligoman; 06/06/2007 at 11:46 AM.

I realise that as a Galway supporter I am regarded as an unwelcome intruder on your forum, but fair play First. I'm with you all the way here.

The lack of imagination shown by the football fans in this country is laughable , why are the chants that we are so accustomed to as part of the English being regurgated through out Ireland.

No, I don't have an EL team to follow in Clare but I do follow my local juniour club and do understand the passion that this brings , this is not a monopoly by towns and cities that have EL clubs. Also yes I know what live football looks and sound likes from under 8 to CL and yes I can at times be a barstooler watching Everton and having an opinion on that, but I will also go and watch a game down in the local park. The whole point is that this is my right and to have the rite to enjoy this with whoever I choose without having anybody interfere and on this occasion this right was tainted by what I can and will only describe as idiots whose passion for their club is portrayed in a a manner that is at least sad.
    Right again First - although our own supporters have been praised on recent trips for a few original chants relating to our water crisis

And the apparently unanimous view that you should have taken your child to a less contentious fixture is unfair IMO. The Chairman alleges that summer soccer is killing his teams chances of surviving financially by adversely affecting attendances and the supporters tell you you shouldn't bring your child to the game

I wonder how they'll feel when the current generation of children grow up and have no interest in supporting their local sides and teams are wound up a la Dublin City et al?

There seems to be very little sympathy amongst the Sligo faithful for your points of view First, but as a parent, I feel the points you made were all valid.
    Last edited by MyTown; 06/06/2007 at 12:02 PM.
    Less Whining
    Less Moaning

What are YOU doing to make it better?

Quote Originally Posted by MyTown View Post
    AFAIK Sligoman is a steward at the Showgrounds, yet he sees no contradiction in posting that the opposing manager was lucky to escape a bottling. A true disciple of the Event Controller I would have thought for posting something that aggressive.
    You may have deleted the above now but be a man and apologise to me as I said no such thing. Read before you post stupid things!
    In the first half I was at the end of the stand , at the end ye scored . In the second half I was at the opposite end of the stand.
    Sorry I don't know the names of the areas .
    Well been down the end of the red stand was a bad place to go with a child. Why didn't you go to the beginning of that stand as was suggested to you on here before hand?
    Last edited by sligoman; 06/06/2007 at 12:07 PM.

You may have deleted the above now but be a man and apologise to me as I said no such thing. Read before you post stupid things!
    Sorry about the confusion , I mistakenly addressed my initial response to Sligoman instead of Rogue Trader , however everything else I stand by.

MyTown

please accept my apologies for this and thanks for understanding the underlying message.

Sorry about the confusion , I mistakenly addressed my initial response to Sligoman instead of Rogue Trader , however everything else I stand by.

MyTown

please accept my apologies for this and thanks for understanding the underlying message.
    You've already apologised for a simple mistake, you don't need to make excuses for MyTown. It's him who should apologise to me for calling me a "true disciple of the event controller" after accusing me of something I didn't say.

Something tells me Siempre Red is back
    I have scattered my dreams underneath your feet, tread carefully, cos it's my dreams you walk on.

151 Posts
    I have been going to The Temple of Doom, like Harry Moore, for more years than I care to remember. I think most people would certify me as being a reasonably well adjusted, calm human being. However, First, I have to advise you that when a team managed by Sean Connors or Shamrock Rovers are playing in The Showgrounds, not alone would I prefer that you not have a child in my vicinity but it would probably be best not to come nearer than Carraroe. That's just the way it is, that's just the way I am. Normal service is resumed in the hours after the game.
    Now, the solution seems to be quite simple. The turnstile end section of the new stand should be reserved for families/children. It is nearest the take away and nearest the toilets. Watford used to have (and probably still do) a family section where the rule was 'no adults admitted unless accompanied by a child'. It is no accident that Watford are the most family/community orientated club in England and worth taking a look at for initiatives like that. As an aside we could put our senior steward in charge of that section - he'd hardly start batin' childer!.
    Any new supporter of the Rovers is most welcome but be warned, Sligo Rovers is not a football club - it is a disease and, thus far, no cure has been found for it. I look forward to meeting you at some match in the future. You'll recognise me from the Bohs match. I was the one who turned to my friend when Faz scored and said 'my dear fellow, what a pleasant conclusion to an exhilirating evening's entertainment' (or words to that effect).

You may have deleted the above now but be a man and apologise to me as I said no such thing. Read before you post stupid things
    You've already apologised for a simple mistake, you don't need to make excuses for MyTown. It's him who should apologise to me for calling me a "true disciple of the event controller" after accusing me of something I didn't say.
    Sligoman:

I apologise for misrepresenting something you didn't post. It was very wrong and I'd hate if it happened to me.

I'm sure you will have noted that my original post was at 12.00 and my edit at 12.02. I corrected it the second I became aware of it. Also, my post was accurate based on what had been posted by First for which he has corrected the record.

The traffic on the thread seemed to be all one way and I wanted to send a bit of support to a parent and football supporter who didn't seem to be welcome at the ground of his chosen team. Ultras or nobody seemed to be the tone.

Thankfully, you seem to have shown him more understanding for his mistake than you seem to be prepared to extend to me for mine, eventhough it was obvious I did not deliberately attack you, but replied to what, as far as I knew was a legitimate post.

I'd have been happy to conduct all this by PM, but you wanted your pound of flesh so I hope this obliges.
    Less Whining
    Less Moaning

What are YOU doing to make it better?

As I was with a local who is an avid follower of SR I went where he suggested. In the second half we moved to the other end but I have to say it didn't make any difference. And whether you realise it or not you have reiterate my whole point by your response "Well been down the end of the red stand was a bad place to go with a child."
    First

Lets consider a few points for a reality check :

I have heard worse language at under 10's footie training than that used at the weekend thats coaching in Sligo, Dublin, Donegal, the U.S. and England over the years.

GAA games - where kids are also in attendance in good numbers, sure the fans all applaud every action by officals and players dont they hence the joyful fights and riots at games at any level from U-16 to senior hurling - e.g. Cork game fight carried out in front of kids doing a guard of honour.

If you watch any premiership or GAA game on TV of a weekend you can hear expletive ridddled songs football or comments GAA being transmitted as well as seeing the players use expletives.

TV's banned in your house then?? Presume not, plenty of language and situation TV transmitted not suitable for a young child e.g. Domestic Abuse, Alcoholism, Marital Affairs etc and thats Eastenders alone!!

As for the Refferee and Linesman decisions regular attenders of the Showgrounds over the years (30 years in my case) would give you a list as long as our arm of poor poor decisions given against Rovers over the years in favour of Dublin clubs.

The penalty, for which no Bohs players appealed for and Faz given offside late in the second half, where he ran from behind two central defenders are cases in point.

The linesman was particularly bad and even the Bohs fans I chatted to after the game said they couldnt understand some of the calls for offside - as well as the penalty.

REGULAR attendance at games will help you realise what Rovers fans have to put up with to that end when playing Dublin clubs.

As for originality shall we sing our songs in Irish to please you? That must be one of the most bizarre comments/accusations ever on the forum.

My point ?

Either you are taking the Michael (especially given your helicopter comment) or havent a clue what football means to those that come from a strong football background.

Try telling Clare hurling or Kerry football fans its only a game.

Good Luck.

Quote Originally Posted by BohsPartisan View Post
    People in glass houses. We were causing no trouble whatsoever. Your head of security came all the way accross the pitch, giving us the fingers then physically threatened some of our fans throwing his fist about. I heard from a couple of your lads after the game that this same guy thumped a Galway fan before, so its you who needs to get your house in order, this is the most unproffessional security operation I have ever witnessed. We are making an official complaint against your man Oliver and there were plenty of witnesses.

As for the game, fair play you deserved it.
    Dont forget the assualt on our fans at Dalymount by your stewards so ironically calling themselves BEST (Bohemians Event Security Team) earlier in the season.

Garda reports were made and the culprits soon ran to hide.

The tearing down of the fence and abuse of Coleman including attempts to come on to the pitch were there for all to see. Check your clubs full match video for evidence it should be there.

Oh and to finish it all off the lovely Bohs lads knocked on every door down Churc Hill, getting old people out to their door at 9.40pm at night- they must be so proud.

FIRST you must be on the wind-up here. Football is a game of passion and opionion - often these opinions are expressed forcibly and with colourful language. To expect otherwise is naive in the extreme. Families and children are of course to be encouraged to attend games but there is always going to be a level of industrial language. For you to expect such a sanitised atmosphere indicates a limited knowledge of football grounds and crowds worldwide.

I had to log on and reply to possibililly the worst post i have ever read on these forums by FIRST.

What a load of bolox.

I can tell the kind of sportsperson you are just from them posts, you are the "prawn sandwich" eater that brings the kids (nothing wrong there) on a day out to a game(which is fueled by passion of fans) and then have the cheek to give out when your child is subjected to grown men shouting and maybe god forbid cursing but are well behaved before the first whistle and after the 90th minute whistle...

The naivity of your post borderlines being blatently ignorant.... Do you believe that i todays modern society that you can raise a child with a blindfold on? Do you think that she will go through school without hearing these words? Dont make me laugh...

Anyone going to that game knew what was at stake and were prepared for a night of emotions running high, tempers flairing and expected the unexpected. Men, woman and children were shouting, i witnessed it first hand, all in love of the game...EVERYONE knew what was at stake, if you cant understand that of have a problem with it well i would suggest Ocean FM coverage as a source that could quench your appetite for the game.

Or theres always a playground for children if you cannot bere your child view such disgracely scenes

As Sligo , as represented by the most posters on here ,seem to have the collective attitude that its Ultras or no one , then I will take myself off to some other ground to get my football fix. Good luck with the future as I fear it maybe a bleak one. Thank you all for the oppurtunity to understand what is the driving factor behind Sligo and maybe I will see ye at a more suitable game to attend in the future.

MyTown
    Whats it like in Galway these days?
    Last edited by First; 07/06/2007 at 7:50 AM.

Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast