Thread: Who do you want in FAI Cup?

37 Posts

Who do you want in FAI Cup?

I's love an away trip to Athlone. They are in a new ground and there is a great history between both Clubs.

Second choice would be Shels at home especially now that Dermo Keely is boss. D'ya remember when he was on charge of Kildare and he squared up with Tony Mannion? Gufct had to wrestle Dermo to stop him attacking Mannion.

Draw for Cup is on RTE One at 6.30 pm on Thursday.
    Nobody knows us, we don't care

1,552 Posts
    Galway United at Terryland would be nice

Dundalk! bring on Maxi!
    Galway United - Connacht Champions 2008

Quote Originally Posted by Galway Harps View Post
    i seem to be the only one with ya in wanting any kind of home game!!
    There's the right way, the wrong way.... and the Max Power way!! :-D

Wexford away.

Wouldn't be up for the usual bedlam that ensues at an ATFC v GUFC match.
    Limerick-despite their dying hatred and obsession of us would still be a boring draw.
    Dundalk would be on a Thursday if it was away and i've no doubt it would be their Cup Final so we'd probably lose.

A nice "easy" draw.....non League side away.As long as we qualify really.Hopefully we can avoid the Drogs/Pats etc.
    www.galwayunitedfc.net -----New GUFC fans forum and Gust Website.

Europe's Big Club.
    "Cause Galway are MASSIVE"-RW Rover on 24/8/07 00:29am

1,552 Posts
    Limerick-despite their dying hatred and obsession of us would still be a boring draw.
    Nice to see the clubs are moving towards reconciliation. Still, it was fun to watch while it lasted

i want a home draw too.

a nice easy home draw just so we at least get past the first round and might go on a run in the competition.you just know its gonna be Dundalk though.

I will take anyone at home , PATS would be good . Hey if you are going to win it you have to beat the best .

288 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by GuisaSaigon View Post
    Dundalk! bring on Maxi!
    F**k no! Im not going near Dundalk!

Its too soon. Do we have an escort from the Garda Shichawna?

I want Shhhligo Rovers at home so we can pay them back for the season opener. I think we would actually turn up this time around. I'd like the club to get a Cup run because the income i'm sure is vital and twud boost league attendances afterwards too.
    "Are those my feet" Fr Jack Hackett

a cup run will boost crowds. keep interest high.

a home draw in the cup is always a massive advantage.

if you draw a weaker team then you have more chance of progression.

therefore, a lower division team (either first div or non-league) and at home is my preference.

Jeez lads, I don't know who the so called weaker teams are. Didn't Salthill beat us in a "meaningless" midweeker not too long ago?

(in my experience those who describe friendlies as meaningless are usually on the losing side)

For the income generated I'm hoping for Sligo or Shamrock Rovers at home.

The Sligo threads are full of how disappointing their home gates are this season, but boy do they love coming to Galway in numbers?
    Less Whining
    Less Moaning

What are YOU doing to make it better?

Quote Originally Posted by MyTown View Post
    Jeez lads, I don't know who the so called weaker teams are. Didn't Salthill beat us in a "meaningless" midweeker not too long ago?
    i would be happy with any of the following teams, especially if we were at home:
    Athlone Town
    Finn Harps
    Kildare County
    Kilkenny City
    Monaghan United
    Shelbourne
    Wexford Youths
    Celbridge Town
    Cherry Orchard
    Douglas Hall
    Fanad United
    Malahide United
    Phoenix F.C.
    St. John Bosco
    St. Mochtas
    Salthill Devon
    Tolka Rovers

maybe salthill did beat us in a 'meaningless' friendly (about 2 months ago) but our season was just starting and they were at the 'business end' of their season. all of the junior/intermediate teams seasons will have been finished for at least a month (some a lot longer) by the time the cup weekend rolls around and you would think that would reduce their performance levels to a large degree.

if we can't consider the above 1st division teams as weaker than ourselves then we seriously need to ask some questions regarding full-time football etc.

Any Premier Division team. At home.

a cup run - will be crucial to fill the new stand - if the punters start to stay away like they did the last day against bohs

so home draw - against a first division team - to kick start it
    more water!

Quote Originally Posted by corbyeire View Post
    so home draw - against a first division team - to kick start it
    wait and see and we probably draw drogheda away ...... i will be crossing my fingers for a 1st div/junior/intermediate team and at home. and the same in the next round!!!! then at least we will have momentium - and interest from non-regulars.

you can't overestimate just how important that good old winning mentantility is!

I want Finn Harps at home, to get revenge for the semi-final defeat inflicted a few years back. Constant chanting by 20 or so people of "Come on the Harps".

Wonderful

full list

Longford v Celbridge Town
    Fanad United v St John Bosco
    Dundalk v Athlone
    Limerick 37 v Wexford Youths
    Phoenix v St Pat's
    Salthill Devon v UCD
    Bray v St Mochta's
    Kildare County v Kilkenny City
    Tolka Rovers v Waterford United
    Derry City v Monaghan United
    Galway United v Finn Harps
    Douglas Hall v Cobh Ramblers
    Shamrock Rovers v Sligo Rovers
    Drogheda United v Bohemians
    Malahide United v Cherry Orchard
    Shelbourne v Cork City

Quote Originally Posted by Galway Harps View Post
    You've got your wish!
    Not a bad draw for us, Harps will probably bring a few down, Home draw should bring in a few quid and we should be good enough to take ye.Salthill have UCDD at home, will they play it in Drom or Terryland?
    Galway United - Connacht Champions 2008

1,552 Posts
    Sweet. Looking forward to this already.