Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast

Thread: Cork City FC Receive "Severe Warning" from Disciplinary Commission

This is absolutely ridiculous.When we were up in Inchcore Bohs fans sang at Ryan .... "Barry give us a line".....to which he responded by pointing at the sideline.Will Bohs face sancture over this incident?In fairness Ryan takes the abuse quite well in fairness and lets be honest its not exactly the most personal of stuff.He did take drugs and he recognises he has to put up with the consequences.

The FAI should be concentrating on getting their house in order and not worrying about stupid non-events such as this.A parallel is what Robbie Fowler used to get in England.Did you ever hear of the FA giving a severe warning to any English club.

In fairness what can Cork City do if a section of their support start singing a song.....get stewards to go sssshhhh lads please.This isnt a classroom and last time I checked this country was not a dictatorship.

Its political correctness gone mad!
    Bohs Will Be Back!!!

I have two major problems with this.

1: the arbitrary nature of whats acceptible etc. We all agree there are lines not to be crossed, racial abuse etc., but what makes this incident worse than 10,000 others? are there guidelines to whats allowed and whats not? opens up all sorts of precedents.

and 2: This is manager driven. we only heard of this because JMcD lost the plot and decieded to deflect attention in a certain direction in the same way Doolin did a week earlier. Especially relevent as both incidents saw the managers deciding to get offended publically on the players behalves.

The FAI have a right to act about songs on terraces. But the right songs for the right reasons.

43 Posts
    If a sportsperson is foolish enough to take drugs then he should be able to take the consequences. Ryan is lucky he is even allowed to play football as far as I am concerned after being caught. He's setting the worst example to kids and for him to be vilified in public IS a good example to kids "that Drugs are Bad, okay". This warning is sending out the wrong signals to kids.

However, this jesting with Ryan is all it is and he revels in it: this warning is way OTT and will serve Ryan no good but to get more abuse at grounds.
    As Irishmen we dilute our sense of nation by depending on the English to bring us our balls

70 Posts
    Im not sure about this family atmosphere they are trying to promote.
    My family hated each other and used to beat the **** out of each other
    Is that what they really want at the matches
    Rovers fans are civilised in comparison that will do me thanks very much
    Champions 2010
    Champions 2011
    Dick Brush 1 Sligo 0
    Bohs are going bust.

The moral of this story is dont mess with BARRY RYAN.

Quote Originally Posted by BohsPartisan View Post
    , ALL PATS PLAYERS AND FANS INCLUDING EX PLAYERS PLAYING FOR OTHER CLUBS - Junkie related
    Spot on. Why is it OK to direct these chants at other fans but severe warnings are dished out when a player is the victim

Sets a dodgy precedent that action will be taken if any manager complains about something on TV (except for Rico of course )
    SIGNATURESCOPE

RRS, all because McDonnell couldn't take his defeat.
    City definetly have the best bands playing at half-time.

O'Bama - "Eerah yeah, I'd say we can alright!"

G.O'Mahoney Trapattoni'll sort ém out!!

Pathetic. Diversionary tactics by slaphead end with this?
    Your Chairperson,
    Gavin
    Membership Advisory Board
    "Ex Bardus , Vicis"

144 Posts
    I awaited McDonnells post match interview last Monday night with some anticipation.
    Having listened to the Bohs faithful give Barry abuse (aka banter) for most of the game I was sure he would be ranting and raving again.
    But No, he was most gracious in defeat.

Maybe defeat hurt the first time and now he is getting used to it.

Shame on you McDonnell, you have caused this mess.
    "Must you tell me all your secrets when it's hard enough to love you knowing nothing."

http://worddok.blogspot.com

Football is for football fans and football fans shout abuse. Its part of the game. Its part of what makes the atmosphere real as opposed to the sanitised organised chanting at american sports. The abuse for Ryan I beleive was coming from the shed. If you want to bring your kid to a game and you don't want them to hear the abuse, don't sit with the hardcore fans. Most grounds have areas that are far enough away from that. The warning is ludicrous in the extreme. Its no different from the abuse any player or manager gets (Geoghan - phone related, Scully - adultery related, Keeley - divorce related, Digger - Dwarf related, ALL PATS PLAYERS AND FANS INCLUDING EX PLAYERS PLAYING FOR OTHER CLUBS - Junkie related.) Most players know this is part of the game and can handle it. I'm sure Ryan can too as he's been getting it for long enough. McDonnels rant was simply the bluster of a man who couldn't handle losing a game. Now that he's got this result he'll continue to whinge. The whole thing cheapens any condemnation of the Webb affair too. If anything the FAI's reaction should have been - John McDonnell, Yellow Card for diving.
    The day the "atmosphere" at a football match involves "family friendly" pre arranged chanting only is the day I stop going to football. Or would you rather we had a foot.ie approach to chanting. How about "The referee's a" then a pause where the word should be before repeating "The referee's a".
    Agreed 100% - family atmosphere
    Who Cares?!

If anything the FAI's reaction should have been - John McDonnell, Yellow Card for diving.
    In fairness, contact was made (however minimal) - if he hadn't gone down the ref wouldn't have taken any action (known in the business as a Roy O'Donovan special ...)
    SIGNATURESCOPE

Quote Originally Posted by dahamsta View Post
    How would you like it if you weren't brought to matches when you were a kid? How would you like if you weren't allowed bring your own kids to matches later in life? It's a rite of passage ffs!

I brought my kid to a City match when he was 8 and he loved it, but we could both have done without the knackers shouting abuse at people in our ears. Why should he put up with that crap?

For that matter, why should I? I'm no prude, in fact people have complained about the amount I curse in company, but I don't shout it at people, and I certainly don't shout it at strangers.

As someone said, football is for football fans and football fans shout abuse. It's part of the game. People are paying good money to watch their team play and abusing opposition players is all part of the banter.

If you or your son got shouted abuse at personally then that's different, then you should report that to the club. But on the pitch, players have to expect abuse.

A family section in EL grounds, away from all the "hardcore" fans, might be a good idea though.

1,025 Posts
    Well don't bring yer child to a match then. I do laugh at people giving out about people using bad language at football matches.
    I think dahamsta deals with this well.....
    Quote Originally Posted by dahamsta View Post
    How would you like it if you weren't brought to matches when you were a kid?
    we could both have done without the knackers shouting abuse at people in our ears. Why should he put up with that crap? For that matter, why should I?
    This is the whole point. If the eL and their fans are serious about raising the standard of football, the standard of stadiums, and the number of fans, certain things must be done. One of them is to weed out the morons talking and chanting crap at people they dont know and know nothing about.

Football is for football fans and football fans shout abuse. Its part of the game.
    But it doesnt have to be. To say it is "part of the game" is to take the easy way out.

The abuse for Ryan I beleive was coming from the shed. If you want to bring your kid to a game and you don't want them to hear the abuse, don't sit with the hardcore fans.
    So are you saying that if it comes to a choice between me and my young child, and some clown who thinks it is cool to shout abuse, you believe I should allow him to do what he wants, and just avoid him. Do you really think that actually solves the problem?

Quote Originally Posted by lofty9 View Post
    He's setting the worst example to kids and for him to be vilified in public.
    As opposed to all those idiots shouting dogs abuse at strangers within earshot of children, sometimes their own children.
    Last edited by osarusan; 31/05/2007 at 2:26 PM. Reason: spelling.

So drug abuse is ok then?
    TO TELL THE TRUTH IS REVOLUTIONARY

The ONLY foot.ie user with a type of logic named after them!

All of this has happened before. All of it will happen again.

Osarun, if you think the main thing keeping people away is chants like thise slagging BR about his drug past (statements of proven fact btw) we are on different planets.

It comes with the territory and is seen in leagues like Germany and England that are turning people away.
    Last edited by OhNoYouDidn't; 31/05/2007 at 2:13 PM.

43 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by osarusan View Post
    As opposed to all those idiots shouting dogs abuse at strangers within earshot of children, sometimes their own children.
    Drugs vs verbal abuse? So Ryan is the victim here? He deserves all he gets. As I said before - No sportsperson should be allowed to return to his profession for doing drugs. It sets all the wrong examples. I'd rather have my kids call someone a ****in junkie ******* than be that "****in junkie *******". If people at a football match show younger people it is bad form to do drugs then I'm all for a bit of dogs abuse.

Ryan is getting a bit of stick, it's football and if that stick highlights that Ryan has been a mug for taking whatever then a good lesson has been taught to my kids.
    As Irishmen we dilute our sense of nation by depending on the English to bring us our balls

1,025 Posts
    So drug abuse is ok then?
    That is a pathetic post.

point out where i said or implied that.

Explain to me how you logically drew the conclusion that I meant that.

1,025 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by lofty9 View Post
    Drugs vs verbal abuse? So Ryan is the victim here? He deserves all he gets. As I said before - No sportsperson should be allowed to return to his profession for doing drugs. It sets all the wrong examples. I'd rather have my kids call someone a ****in junkie ******* than be that "****in junkie *******". If people at a football match show younger people it is bad form to do drugs then I'm all for a bit of dogs abuse.

My point is that I dont think we can say that abusing him over a wall on a football field is going to achieve any social reform of our morals, or perform a valuable service to the community.

And I am reasonably sure that this was not in the minds of those who shouted the abuse.

Quote Originally Posted by btid1 View Post
    In fairness what can Cork City do if a section of their support start singing a song.....get stewards to go sssshhhh lads please.This isnt a classroom and last time I checked this country was not a dictatorship.

Its political correctness gone mad!
    i agree with what your saying and think JMD went way over the top. i think what annoyed him was the fact that someone had a megaphone and kept on chanting. no steward tried to stop him.
    Saint Patricks Athletic Fans Team. Eircom League Supporters Cup Champions 2006. P3 W2 D1 L0 F3 A0. Thats why we're champions, Thats why we're champions, Thats why.............

1,025 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by OhNoYouDidn't View Post
    It comes with the territory and is seen in leagues like Germany and England that are turning people away.
    But people on this forum never shut up about how they hope the eL never becomes the "sanitised" junk atmosphere as the Premiership has.

Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast