Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Thread: Patrick Kohlmann

Barry Maguire. PLayed in the last Ireland v HOlland u18 game that was played in Richmond Park

Quote Originally Posted by ifk101 View Post
    ... whilst on the subject of continental born players that are eligible to play for us, Örebro SK in the Swedish league have two players in their squad with an Irish daddy.
    Orebro are a tiny club that just got promoted. They'll be heading back down to the superetten again this season. They would be on a par with EL division one IMO.

I did read in a Swedish paper that James Keene, a English lad who moved from Portsmouth who plays with Elfsborg (Swedish champions) was been looked at about Irish connections.
    I think I should the parachute, because I'm great.

In fact, I think I should get both parachutes, in case one doesn't work.

369 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Torn-Ado View Post
    Orebro are a tiny club that just got promoted. They'll be heading back down to the superetten again this season. They would be on a par with EL division one IMO.
    Depends on how you define tiny but Örebro are not tiny club by Swedish or Irish standards. Just look at their stadium. And considering that only one team will be relegated this year, I'd reckon Trelleborg or Brommapojkarna are favourites for relegation.

BTW James Keene isn't Irish. His great, great grandfather was though.

Quote Originally Posted by ifk101 View Post
    Depends on how you define tiny but Örebro are not tiny club by Swedish or Irish standards. Just look at their stadium. And considering that only one team will be relegated this year, I'd reckon Trelleborg or Brommapojkarna are favourites for relegation.

BTW James Keene isn't Irish. His great, great grandfather was though.
    I'd still be confident of any EL premier side team beating them.
    I think I should the parachute, because I'm great.

In fact, I think I should get both parachutes, in case one doesn't work.

490 Posts

Patrick Kohlmann

If there is already a thread on Patrick I apologise. I did a search but couldn't find anything.

Given our derth of options at left back perhaps it is time for him to come back into consideration. He is playing regularly for Union Berlin in the 2. Bundesliga (German version of the Championship), and has just got a new 3 year contract according to the herald...

http://www.herald.ie/sport/soccer/fo...t-2016820.html

Everything else i can find on him is in German (naturally enough), but I doubt he got a new contract for playing badly.
    Bring Back Belfast Celtic F.C.

245 Posts
    I'm not against giving him a chance, but not at the expense of Stephen Ward who I feel deserves a chance to make that his spot for the next campaign or two.

Now if they're both brought into the squad, and Kohlmann performs better, great, but if only one of them is going to be selected, I'd rather it be Stephen Ward.
    Eirebhoy's "We Love You" Chant. RIP:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=V7UfSbASyrQ

209 Posts
    I only knew about this boy from Championship/Football Manager back in the day.

I haven't heard anything about him in real life, nor have I seen him play. I'm in agreement with irishfan though. We have better options currently, playing in a better league.

622 Posts
    Fair play to the kid. He was with Dortmund for years without ever getting a real go of first team football, despite being a constant inclusion in our underage squads. Nice to see him do well, and tbf, if he starts getting a run in die bundesliga, then he'd be well worth a call up.
    Here they come! It’s the charge of the “Thanks” Brigade!

Cool

Quote Originally Posted by Predator View Post
    I only knew about this boy from Championship/Football Manager back in the day.

Same here. He was really crap in the game. And i dont think he is good enough for international football in reall life

82 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by irishfan86 View Post
    I'm not against giving him a chance, but not at the expense of Stephen Ward who I feel deserves a chance to make that his spot for the next campaign or two.

Now if they're both brought into the squad, and Kohlmann performs better, great, but if only one of them is going to be selected, I'd rather it be Stephen Ward.
    Is Kohlman not a centre half though??
    I pity the fool!.... But suggest ways that he might improve himself.

www.thefastleague.com

I went to watch Union a few times over the last few years, when they were playing in the lower division, and the standard was Eircom League-esque.

They had a good start this year but have started to fade. It's a nice story that Patrick's getting game time, but there's no way he's good enough to get near the squad.

Quote Originally Posted by backtowalsall View Post
    If there is already a thread on Patrick I apologise. I did a search but couldn't find anything.

Given our derth of options at left back perhaps it is time for him to come back into consideration. He is playing regularly for Union Berlin in the 2. Bundesliga (German version of the Championship), and has just got a new 3 year contract according to the herald...

http://www.herald.ie/sport/soccer/fo...t-2016820.html

Everything else i can find on him is in German (naturally enough), but I doubt he got a new contract for playing badly.
    Joe Lapira is tearing it up in Norway too. I think trap should call these two players up against Brazil.

Quote Originally Posted by kev mcq View Post
    Joe Lapira is tearing it up in Norway too. I think trap should call these two players up against Brazil.
    Doutcha Stan!

Quote Originally Posted by kev mcq View Post
    Joe Lapira is tearing it up in Norway too.
    I presume you're referring to his party lifestyle because he's no international footballer!!
    The fight is won or lost far away from witnesses - behind the lines, in the gym, and out there on the road, long before I dance under those lights.
    Muhammad Ali

Roy Keane is still a pri*k!

490 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by dr_peepee View Post
    Is Kohlman not a centre half though??
    According to transfermarkt.de he is a fullback. (Great website btw, best online database of footballers I've seen)

http://www.transfermarkt.de/en/spiel...nn/profil.html
    Bring Back Belfast Celtic F.C.

hes left back i should know he captained my union berlin team in fm

There's an interview with him up on Extratime:

http://www.extratime.ie/newsdesk/articles/4105/
    Extratime.ie

Yo te quiero, mi querida. Sin tus besos, yo soy nada.

Abri o portão de ouro, da maquina do tempo.

Mi mamá me hizo guapo, listo y antimadridista.

2,284 Posts
    From the piece:

With his career on an upward curve with a team in the hunt for even more success, Kohlmann has not cast aside his dreams of returning to the Republic of Ireland set-up.

"It would be a big dream for me. To play for Ireland is still the dream."
    How realistic would this be considering Union Berlin are playing in the second tier of German football now and bearing in mind that Kohlmann is left-footed? Admittedly, I haven't a notion what the standard of football in the 2nd Bundesliga is like.

Quote Originally Posted by Dodge View Post
    Barry Maguire. PLayed in the last Ireland v HOlland u18 game that was played in Richmond Park
    Anyone know the story with Maguire these days?

245 Posts
    Given our left-full situation, he probably should have been looked at years ago. Surprised he didn't get a look in during the Stan era since everyone else did.

Maybe I'm generalizing, but you'd assume playing in the German league that he'd have a decent tactical awareness and be technically proficient.

It's hard to imagine him being a worse option than Killer. He's 27 which means a lot of managers would write him off, but Trap has shown with the likes of Lawrence and Green that he's willing to give more mature players a shot if he feels they can bring something to the table.

If there's any position a player could sneak in, it's left-full, as Killer is not a left-full and is past his best before date, while Cunningham looks like he's got potential but may be a little raw. Kohlmann could offer a sort of stop-gap for a campaign if he was given the call and deemed capable.
    Eirebhoy's "We Love You" Chant. RIP:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=V7UfSbASyrQ

38 Posts
    Lads, I can't believe this guy is being suggested again. He's playing at a sh!te level. It would be like picking someone from league 1 in England. Seriously Ian Harte or Mark Kennedy would be even better options if you want someone to fill in for a year or two before we find someone else. Lots of other better options too ; like Kilbane :P

21. Thanks From:

Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast