Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Thread: Application forms

Quote Originally Posted by CollegeTillIDie View Post
    I heard somewhere that Prague was not going to be the venue for the Czech V Ireland game , but Teplice which holds 1,500 fewer people.

Likewise Bratislava was also off the radar for the Irish game at one point if I am not mistaken . Can anyone confirm the venues?

I'm almost certain Czech game IS in Prague (Toyota Stadium) and the "general feeling" is that the Slovakia game WILL be in Bratislava

Quote Originally Posted by CollegeTillIDie View Post
    I heard somewhere that Prague was not going to be the venue for the Czech V Ireland game , but Teplice which holds 1,500 fewer people.

Likewise Bratislava was also off the radar for the Irish game at one point if I am not mistaken . Can anyone confirm the venues?
    From FAI website (has been posted for several weeks):

Slovakia v Rep of Ireland: 8th September 2007
    We have not yet been informed by the Slovakia Football Association where this match will take place but normally they play their international matches in the Tehelne Pole Stadium in Bratislava which has a capacity of 30,085. Under UEFA regulations the FAI are only entitled to 10% of the tickets for the game.

Because of the small allocation we anticipate receiving for this Euro 2008 qualifier against Slovakia we are unable to take orders from non-FAI block booker account holders.

Applications forms will be distributed to FAI block booker account holders shortly. Because demand is expected to exceed supply not all applications will be successful.

Czech Republic v Rep. of Ireland: 12th September 2007

Because of the small allocation we have received for the Euro 2008 qualifier against the Czech Republic we are unable to take orders from non-FAI block booker account holders.

The Toyota Arena in Prague has a capacity of 20,565 and under UEFA regulations the FAI are only entitled to 10 per cent of the tickets for the game.

Applications forms will be distributed to FAI block booker account holders shortly. Because demand is expected to exceed supply not all applications will be successful.
    Honest! I am not a secret Tim nor a closet Sham - I really am a Seagull.

Quote Originally Posted by Sligo Hornet View Post
    Don't forget there are many Genuine Fans that would love to go to every game....but for financial reasons, work or family commitments, can only save up for, or pick and choose certain games to attend.

This does not make them any less genuine, nor qualify them as "Day Trippers"!
    I accept there are many in this position. However, let's say 100 of these 'genuine fans' for financial reasons or because they have not got enough leave from work left, can only go to one away game in the remainder of this year, how many do you think would chose Denmark as their first choice? Not many, I would suggest.

Those who pick and choose games on the basis of financial, work or family reasons generally do so because for them attending those specific games takes priority over everything else. For the games they choose not to go to everything else takes priority over the games.

BTW, I never understood the concept of a 'day tripper' not being a genuine fan. I have done several 'day trips', particularly when I lived in the UK and particulary when home games were played in the afternoons. In and out of Dublin on the same day. I have also done 'in and out' trips to Cyprus, Israel, Poland and Tehran, flying in on the morning or afternoon of the game and then back out again in the early hours of the morning after the game. Not sure if that qualifies me as a genuine fan or a day tripper?

Quote Originally Posted by Superhoops View Post
    I accept there are many in this position. However, let's say 100 of these 'genuine fans' for financial reasons or because they have not got enough leave from work left, can only go to one away game in the remainder of this year, how many do you think would chose Denmark as their first choice? Not many, I would suggest.

Those who pick and choose games on the basis of financial, work or family reasons generally do so because for them attending those specific games takes priority over everything else. For the games they choose not to go to everything else takes priority over the games.

BTW, I never understood the concept of a 'day tripper' not being a genuine fan. I have done several 'day trips', particularly when I lived in the UK and particulary when home games were played in the afternoons. In and out of Dublin on the same day. I have also done 'in and out' trips to Cyprus, Israel, Poland and Tehran, flying in on the morning or afternoon of the game and then back out again in the early hours of the morning after the game. Not sure if that qualifies me as a genuine fan or a day tripper?
    Perhaps you are a rare breed......" A Genuine Day-Tripping Fan " !

214 Posts
    For me the real genuine fans are the diehards who go to every game. I don't know what others consider to be a genuine fan, but if someone prefers going to rugby or GAA games in precedence over Ireland games, then they are hardly a genuine fan in the real sense, more akin to being an event junkie than a genuine fan and not much better than the 'day tripper'. That's only my opinion though.
    I wouldn't classify myself as an "event junkie" because I fly back to Knock to attend Mayo games!!!! I see it more as a punishment.
    "If God had meant football to be played in the air, he'd have put grass in the sky." Brian Clough.

You'll NEVER beat the Irish.......you'll just draw with us instead!!!

Quote Originally Posted by shakermaker1982 View Post
    I wouldn't classify myself as an "event junkie" because I fly back to Knock to attend Mayo games!!!! I see it more as a punishment.
    Although with the constant threat from fog, getting in and out of Knock can certainly be "eventful"

From the FAI website.

Slovakia v Rep of Ireland: 8th September 2007

We have not yet been informed by the Slovakia Football Association where this match will take place but normally they play their international matches in the Tehelne Pole Stadium in Bratislava which has a capacity of 30,085. Under UEFA regulations the FAI are only entitled to 10% of the tickets for the game.

Because of the small allocation we anticipate receiving for this Euro 2008 qualifier against Slovakia we are unable to take orders from non-FAI block booker account holders.

Czech Republic v Rep. of Ireland: 12th September 2007

Because of the small allocation we have received for the Euro 2008 qualifier against the Czech Republic we are unable to take orders from non-FAI block booker account holders.

The Toyota Arena in Prague has a capacity of 20,565 and under UEFA regulations the FAI are only entitled to 10 per cent of the tickets for the game.

In Trap we trust

It makes sense to choose the doulbe header over the trip to Denmark. If you have financial or leave constraints it makes more sense to go on the double header which gets 2 games in and they are both competitive than a friendly a couple of weeks before this. Away friendlies a couple of weeks before an away double header must be the most difficult of matches to go to from a family or financial point of view. I am happy that I wont miss a competitive away match for this campaign other than Cyprus and if I dont make Denmark so be it.
    In Trap we trust

reder
    Quote Originally Posted by Dodge View Post
    Just for the record, I know a guy who worked for Abbey Travel and one of his jobs was sourcing tickets. Abbey Travel have never received an allocation from the FAI. There's a reason why they charge so much for those trips lads...
    Where do they get them Dodge? Is it from touting agencies in the uk? It really must take some amount of work to get 180 tickets in a block in an away end. I know that they get tickets from these agencies for all their uk club games but they can rarely sell tickets for the away ends from what I have seen.

I think Denmark is just a bit too much for most fans in truth. Fair play to anyone who goes but I certainly wouldnt question the loyalty of anyone who cant make it.

On daytrippers, I just know Germany at home is going to bring daytripping to a new level. Wales was terrible. It felt bizarre but if we are in the hunt for qualification Germany will be hell.
    Last edited by reder; 06/06/2007 at 10:45 AM.

To be honest I try not to let so called day trippers annoy me as I am so engrossed in the game etc.
    In Trap we trust

57 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by reder View Post
    Where do they get them Dodge? Is it from touting agencies in the uk? It really must take some amount of work to get 180 tickets in a block in an away end. I know that they get tickets from these agencies for all their uk club games but they can rarely sell tickets for the away ends from what I have seen.
    They get them for the home end. They may have been able to do a deal with somebody in Switzerland to get the block next to the away end for that game They normally have good local contacts.

I got 747's ad in the post today for the September double header and tickets are on request eg not guaranteed.

reder
    Quote Originally Posted by gspain View Post
    I got 747's ad in the post today for the September double header and tickets are on request eg not guaranteed.
    I rang them to see what they actually had to say. I got through to this utterly unconviencing gent. I questioned him about tickets in the irish section and he said that the section in the ground in which we sit will depend on when we submit payment.

He sheepishly said that we will get tickets in the irish section if we pay in the next day or 2 but he didnt sound all that convincing and couldnt guarantee that we would get tickets in the irish section if we pay in a week or 2.

How much extra are they selling the tickets for on top of their packages for. No doubt a stupid amount

International Prospect DmanDmythDledge's Avatar
    For me the real genuine fans are the diehards who go to every game. I don't know what others consider to be a genuine fan, but if someone prefers going to rugby or GAA games in precedence over Ireland games, then they are hardly a genuine fan in the real sense, more akin to being an event junkie than a genuine fan and not much better than the 'day tripper'. That's only my opinion though.
    So you can only be a genuine fan if you only follow one sport?

That's possibly the biggest load of crap I've ever read on this forum. Basically what you're saying is that if you don't put supporting your national football team ahead of your family, your job or your finances you're not a genuine fan? Get off the high horse.

Quote Originally Posted by DmanDmythDledge View Post
    So you can only be a genuine fan if you only follow one sport?
    If you read it again, I don't think you will find that is what is implied? Nothing wrong or strange about following several sports. The point I was trying to make was there is a distinction between someone who follows one particular sport/team, regardless of when this clashes with another event which could be in a different sport, and those who chose a particular event that may clash with a team they support.

For example, if UCD were playing an EL game at the same time that Dublin were playing in the Leinster SFC and someone had the choice of attending one or the other, I would regard someone who chose the UCD game to be more of 'genuine' UCD fan than someone who chose the Dublin game. They may well be a 'genuine' sports fan or an 'event junkie', but I would not consider them to be 'genuine' UCD fan in the same vein as someone who chose to watch UCD.

Quote Originally Posted by DmanDmythDledge View Post
    That's possibly the biggest load of crap I've ever read on this forum. Basically what you're saying is that if you don't put supporting your national football team ahead of your family, your job or your finances you're not a genuine fan? Get off the high horse.
    Again, I think you misread or misunderstood the point I was making. I never suggested any such a thing. What I was suggesting was that where someone had restrictions, financial, family, work or whatever and as a result had to decide between attending one particlular game rather another particular game, their choice of which game they attend is generally based on what they prioritise at the time. Often that choice is made on personal preference and personal priority rather than for any other reasons of practicality (i.e. financial, family, or work)

Think back to the numbers that travelled to Germany and Cyprus last year! Why did more people chose Germany than Cyprus, if they could only make one trip?
    - Financial: hardly!
    - Time off work: both games were on a Saturday!
    - Family: could be, must have been an awful lot of family commitments that weekend in October!
    - Germany: likely to be better craic, more attractive game, all 'genuine' fans will be going, if there is one game to go this was it!

Answers on a postcard

What started this discussion was that fans who go regularly to Ireland games usually end up being allocated tickets by the FAI when tickets are scarce and that is the way it should be. Others, who for whatever reason only go to certain games, should accept that the 'regulars' have priority for tickets. However, there are plenty who don't accept that to be the case and when they can't get tickets, they claim to be 'genuine' fans.

If that still sounds like coming from a high horse, then 'Amen'.

Think back to the numbers that travelled to Germany and Cyprus last year! Why did more people chose Germany than Cyprus, if they could only make one trip?
    - Financial: hardly!
    - Time off work: both games were on a Saturday!
    - Family: could be, must have been an awful lot of family commitments that weekend in October!
    - Germany: likely to be better craic, more attractive game, all 'genuine' fans will be going, if there is one game to go this was it!

Answers on a postcard .[/QUOTE]

Maybe the fact that we had been to Cyprus two or three times very recently, and the fact playing a true World Footballing Giant might be exciting!.........you do the maths!

end of postcard

For example, if UCD were playing an EL game at the same time that Dublin were playing in the Leinster SFC and someone had the choice of attending one or the other, I would regard someone who chose the UCD game to be more of 'genuine' UCD fan than someone who chose the Dublin game. They may well be a 'genuine' sports fan or an 'event junkie', but I would not consider them to be 'genuine' UCD fan in the same vein as someone who chose to watch UCD.
    my first away game was in san marino and despite the fact i have been on the bb waiting list for a couple of years i can't get tickets for czech and slovak games. this is due to my age and not being aware of the waiting list until a couple fo years ago. not paying tout prices for games i don't get tickets for hardly makes me not a genuine fan.
    and i hardly think the analysis of genuine fandom holds. does that mean it's not possible to be a genuine fan of two different clubs/counties just because they play different sports, regardless of what you claim? sure, it may be possible to prioritise one over the other (i went to down v cavan a few weeks ago rather than watching man united v west ham on tv) but that does not mean you are not a genuine fan of the one you choose *temporarily and as a result of conflict* to place in second place. of course you may claim because i watch most games on tv and only go to a few games a year i am a day tripper etc etc but on student finances it's just not possible (and anyway, the one united game i did make it to this year was bolton on st. patrick's day which is hardly a daytrippers game), it doesn't make sense that genuine fans would be able to place their "genuine" support second to financial commitments/family stuff etc but not to another sport. i don't think the rationalisation holds. the fact the decision is 'often' made as a result of preference does not mean it always is, and that is a fairly important distinction. i am probably not going to be able to go the czech and slovak games, but they would definitely have been my first choice. your generalisations risk tarring everyone with the same brush, including those who definitely don't deserve to tarred.
    Superdave to the resc....

Can you wait til I finish my pint? Or else...

Quote Originally Posted by Sligo Hornet View Post
    and the fact playing a true World Footballing Giant might be exciting
    You kinda proved his point here...

Quote Originally Posted by gspain View Post
    They get them for the home end. They may have been able to do a deal with somebody in Switzerland to get the block next to the away end for that game They normally have good local contacts.

I notice on the FAI ticket application forms (which I got in the post today) states "Tickets are not to be sold on to a third party and or unofficial hospitality agents. We reserve the right to cancel your future allocation if this condition is broken".

176 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by reder
    On daytrippers, I just know Germany at home is going to bring daytripping to a new level. It felt bizarre but if we are in the hunt for qualification Germany will be hell.
    Well, if the away game was anything to go by....

I will be going to Slovakia and the Czech Republic, not necessarily to the games, as I'm running my own trip. Match tickets will be a nightmare to get, and I don't fancy shelling out €150-odd a go for them, which is the "cheapest" on offer so far.

Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast