Thread: Longford V United

Longford V United

It looks pretty dull at the moment so I'm goin for a 1-1 draw. Wasnt there on Fri but hope that we are not relying on reilly cooke or McKenna theyre not Premier division quality yet. Any word on why foley was in the crowd and not on the pitch?
    "Are those my feet" Fr Jack Hackett

there doesnt seem to be any reason given on foley yet - wont be too disappointed with mckenna starting - in fairness to him - hes up for it and to be honest showing more composure than some of the more senior players - who are beginning to get the yips
    more water!

foley and russell were both in the crowd.

i can only assume they were being rested for tomorrow night and friday but then they are pros now and shouldnt have to be rested that much.our first choice midfield should be back together tomorrow night i hope,i also hope he goes 3-5-2 and really goes for it,we can beat them.2-1 to utd.

I just have think we will be beaten 0-1 but I hope that I am wrong .

47 Posts
    I hope you arent!

75 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by corbyeire View Post
    there doesnt seem to be any reason given on foley yet - wont be too disappointed with mckenna starting - in fairness to him - hes up for it and to be honest showing more composure than some of the more senior players - who are beginning to get the yips
    Russell was Injured and Foley was rested for tonight I presume.Id have to disagree with ya on Liam he was all over the place on Friday compared to the performance he put in against UCD.
    We are the Galway Boys Stand up and make some noise"

But looking on the positive side of things a lot will depend on Derek , if he has a good game he will be unstopable and he will murder the Longford defence . I think we will know after the first 10 minutes of the game .

United 1-0 up O'Flynn peno after 2mins after an apparent dive from O'Brien. Claret you were spot on we knew within the first 2mins!!!!!!
    Last edited by Tir Oilean; 29/05/2007 at 6:54 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by eamo1 View Post
    i can only assume they were being rested for tomorrow night and friday but then they are pros now and shouldnt have to be rested that much.our first choice midfield should be back together tomorrow night i hope,i also hope he goes 3-5-2 and really goes for it,we can beat them.2-1 to utd.
    The letter seems to have taken focus off the report on the match. Russell had a thigh strain and wasnt to be risked by Cousins. Resting Foley is strange though seen as he is our best player IMO so far this season.

Some team news James Tracey Foley and Russell in, Moran, McKenna, Reilly and Lester out. O'Flynn and Glynn start up front.

2-0 Glynn on 18mins

would be great to see glynn score tonight, would do he confidence the world of good.

woo hoo

2-0

and its glynn !!!!!!

right if that works, it would be great to see Kerryman score tonight, would do his confidence the world of good. haha

EDIT: D'oh only seen Tir Oileans post now, Im running a bit slow tonight

288 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Terry View Post
    EDIT: D'oh only seen Tir Oileans post now, Im running a bit slow tonight
    Dont feel too bad, im the eejit that thought the game was on friday and booked a half day...
    Last edited by gufcfan; 29/05/2007 at 11:00 PM.

3-0
    a second from Glynn

Longford v GUFC

Just back from match in Longford. Our goalkeeper Gary Rogers was my man of the match without his agility we would have thrown away a 2-nil interval lead. Longford dominated the first 30 mins of the second half and were unlucky not to get a result. They hit the cross bar twice though a header and a long range effort which came down off the underside of the cross bar. Rogers pulled of many fine saves especially when he made a fabulous one handed save to claw away the ball from the top corner of the net.

The reason why we won was the change of formation to a more conventional 4-4-2 system with O'Flynn and Glynn upfront none of this 4-1-4-1-1-2-2 nonsense. Hats off to Tony Cousins for perserving with Derek Glynn he got his rewards tonight with two goals. His pace proved to much for the Longford central defence. His second goal was a sublime piece of finishing. Finally, we got a penalty which we didn't deserve when Derek took a tumble in the box, a bit like the one he got against Derry. Approx 125 United fans at the match, it is good to see families traveling to the away games. Roll on St. Pat's

Quote Originally Posted by DonO'Bate View Post
    Just back from match in Longford. Our goalkeeper Gary Rogers was my man of the match without his agility we would have thrown away a 2-nil interval lead. Longford dominated the first 30 mins of the second half and were unlucky not to get a result. They hit the cross bar twice though a header and a long range effort which came down off the underside of the cross bar. Rogers pulled of many fine saves especially when he made a fabulous one handed save to claw away the ball from the top corner of the net.

The reason why we won was the change of formation to a more conventional 4-4-2 system with O'Flynn and Glynn upfront none of this 4-1-4-1-1-2-2 nonsense. Hats off to Tony Cousins for perserving with Derek Glynn he got his rewards tonight with two goals. His pace proved to much for the Longford central defence. His second goal was a sublime piece of finishing. Finally, we got a penalty which we didn't deserve when Derek took a tumble in the box, a bit like the one he got against Derry. Approx 125 United fans at the match, it is good to see families traveling to the away games. Roll on St. Pat's
    i wouldnt agree with saying it was the same as the derry pen!!..... it was a clear cut(ronaldo) dive tonight and i was shocked it was given.... even the way he fell was funny!!..... glynn has some pace and he showed it against UCD too when he got through two of them before he was fouled... his two goals tonight were kind of the same just more out and with more to do....(no more moran)
    There's the right way, the wrong way.... and the Max Power way!! :-D

Right where to begin
    The start it took us just under 2 minutes to score again Derek when't on a run into the box and and was just clipped by the defender the ref had a look and the Steve stepped up to send the keeper the wrong way Que madness in the stands .
    Now in the first half I don't think I have seen United play any better 4-4-2 was working really well Glynn's speed was giving their defence a hard time of it and then of course he got around behind them again rounded the keeper and put the ball into the back of the net with a defender on the line . We were making chances Glynn had a free header from a corner and a one on one with the keeper which just cleared the bar , we should have been at least 3 up by half time we were in total control when the ref blew for half time .
    So down for a quick cup of crap coffee at the Londford bar and back to the stands for the second half .
    Now I am sure you have heard the phrase it was a game of two halfs well that just about summed it up as Longford took the field a good 5 minutes before we did not much happeded in the first 10 minutes but it all was to change with Longford playing 3 up front . They hit the bar from a corner ( set peices again ) and everything included the kitchen sink headed our way they had 3 or four good chances and Rodgers pulled off 2 or 3 fantastic saves they hit they bar again we were all over the place at the back Russell and Murphy were taken off both didn't look that fit but fair play to them to keep going as long as the did . A few more chances were had at either end then Glynn outpaces the defence AGAIN and scored a very good goal and that was that .
    Now if Longford would have scored in that 25 minute spell my report would have been somewhat different as we may not have left with 3 points , still in a game of at least 20 chances for both teams we took 3 of ours and the rest is for the record books . It's going to be a long day as I only have had 4 hours sleep but I am still smiling .

Makes you wonder where we would be in the league if we played 4-4-2 earlier in the season. Think we gave too much respect to our opponents early n in the campaign. Great 3pts even though it appears we were under the kosh for a long period. Good for Derek Glynn and the team as there is confidence there now, its our first 3 goal victory of the season, lets hope we dish out more of the same to Waterford and Sligo in ths series.

Fair play DonOBate & Claret have given fairly good accounts of the evenings entertainment in my view.

First Half Brilliant, second half, squeaky bum time. Rogers and the woodwork combined to deny Longford 4 goals, and their front man failed to connect with at least two other gilt edged opportunities, much to the disgust of the locals around me, and Wes and Regi cleared off the line when Gary came to the edge of the area and mistimed the clearance.

The penalty decision was disgraceful in my view, and I have to have some sypmathy for Longford. As we well know, when things are going against you, there seems to be a domino effect.

I think the Flansiro is a great ground. Its a pity they don't have the catchment population to keep them going. Nothing went right for them, although the red haired sub who came on for the last 10 minutes had the measure of both Derek and Barry, eventhough Derek must have been flattened by then, given his best performance in a United shirt. He took his two goals brilliantly.

Murphy and Russell coming off really exposed us in the middle. I thought Ciaran Foley was floundering for the lack of support there. Well done to Russell and O'Flynn for acknowledging the travelling support as they were being substituted. Well done especially to Wes, Gary and Liam McKenna for going out of their way to do the same at the end.

As DoB noted it was great to see families in attendance, and most of the home support seemed to be family oriented as well - so I hope they have a future.

Great to see the legendary Eamon 'Chick' Deacy there. I knew the omens were good once I bumped into him.

You can't ask more of the lads than to get the 3 points - so well done to them all.

Giving Pats something to think about on Friday night would be fantastic.
    Less Whining
    Less Moaning

What are YOU doing to make it better?