Page 2 of 6 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast

Thread: Chris Turner

Quote Originally Posted by SligoBrewer View Post
    eh.. no
    eh yes! if rovers get an offer during the transfer window, and its decent, and if Cook can get a better player,during the window, (striker or winger) then imo Rovers should sell Faz.

Quote Originally Posted by Rovers1 View Post
    eh yes! if rovers get an offer during the transfer window, and its decent, and if Cook can get a better player,during the window, (striker or winger) then imo Rovers should sell Faz.
    Ignore Brewer, we all know he has a crush on Faz, he wouldn't like to see him move to Dublin as the relationship would break up.

Turner gone?

Did Toolan mention this at the meeting? The selling of some of the players?

Certainly 30k for such a top quality player is way too little!

i wouldnt want to sell faz, we cant just sell our best players just for money. we want to progress as a team...not just do things for money. thats not football!
    what does it say to other teams that we'll just sell people for the right price, no matter how valuable they are to the club.
    Faz has IMO prooved alot of his doubters wrong over the season so far, and it would be a big blow to everyone if he left aswell, just lettin sean connor think even more that we're a small club, smaller than him

Thumbs down Turner

Think of it this way..... If we had a good cup run this year we could bring in twice if not three times this amount of money (30k) for selling Turner.
    The thing that should have been done was wait until after tonight. Should we beat Shams keep Turner for the rest of the season and let him go on a free if so he desires. Turner is our best player and he could have been the difference between us having a good cup run this year. But should we lose and get knocked out of the cup between now and the end of the transfer window then let him talk to other clubs and we would probably get the same amount for him.
    That was the desision the board/manager should have gone with but i am sure there is a reason for him signing a contract at such a bad time. (there would ****n want to be...)

hes leavimg in november afaik so he'll be here for our cup run (please god there will be one!)

i suppose if faz and chris arent playing tonight then we might aswell expect the worst cos if they do play they will be cuptied.

Just wondering - if it's true he's signed a pre-contract with Bohs but isn't joining Bohs until the season finishes - why would Bohs be paying a transfer fee of any kind to Sligo? Surely if he's out of contract at the end of the season then he can go for free.

With him not playing against the filth tonight I'd be surprised that this isn't because Connor wants him available for our cup games this season. No?
    I got no lips I got no bones where there
    were eyes there's only space

151 Posts
    A pre contract ????????? Get real. It's not Henry or Ronaldinho we have on our hands here. Pre contract ??????????? You lads are watching too much Sky.

he is not playin tonight so he wont be cup tied when he joins bohs.

International Prospect DmanDmythDledge's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by CharlesThompson View Post
    Just wondering - if it's true he's signed a pre-contract with Bohs but isn't joining Bohs until the season finishes - why would Bohs be paying a transfer fee of any kind to Sligo? Surely if he's out of contract at the end of the season then he can go for free.
    If a player has been at a club for 2 years and is under 24 and is offered a contract equal or greater than his previous one the club that he signs for has to pay compensation, which is set by arbitration if the clubs can not agree a fee.

what a crap player Faz is !MOTM tonight by all accounts

Quote Originally Posted by gustavo View Post
    what a crap player Faz is !MOTM tonight by all accounts
    After 2 years, if Connor liked Faz so much, he could have had him for free at the end of last year. As soon as he's played in position and scores goals like there's no tomorrow, Connor's after him.

We all know Connor knows nothing about football but he wouldn't even do that.

btw. Well done Faz..aleays knew he had it in ye!

151 Posts
    So Chris Turner is joining Blackie Connors and The Gypsies?. Good player but if he really believed in himself he would go across the pond. On the other hand, Quasimodo made have convinced him that he is going to get the Northern Ireland job and he will give him full caps.

Over on the Bohs forum one of the posters said this
    In the Star today they've quoted Cook as saying that he's disappointed that Turner has signed a pre contract agreement with Bohs but has been delighted with his performances this season - or words to that effect.

Article in The Daily Star.

SLIGO DEMAND BOHS COUGH UP

Chris Turner is on his way to bohs in next months transfer window but only if the Gypsies cough up £40,000 to Sligo Rovers.
    The Northern Ireland Under-21 international was dropped from the Sligo side that defeated Shamerock Rovers 3-2 in FAI Ford Cup seacond round on saterday night.
    Sligo boss Paul cook took the decision after learning that Turner had signed a pre-contract agreement with Bohs earlier last week.
    Cook won't use the highly talented midfielder - whose showgrounds contract expires at the end of the season - because of the deal.
    Cook is unhappy with Turner's actions. but he wishes him all the best in his future career.
    "Chrissy has signed a pre-contract agreement with Bohs and i think he is entitled to do so," said Cook.
    "I'm not going to speak too much about Chrissy because he has been absolutley fantastic since i came to the club."
    "He let himself down a bit on Thursday by not keeping me informed of what was going on and signing a deal. For that reason we're leaving him out now.

Paul Lennon reports.

Presumably Turner's contract expires at the end of the season. The only way he could have signed a contract for Bohs starting in July is if it has been allowed by Sligo, which it seemingly hasn't. Sligo should report Bohs for tapping up Turner.

International Prospect passinginterest's Avatar
    435 Posts
    I believe Turner will also be Bohs highest paid player, some of the current players who are about to negotiate new contracts are very excited because his weekly wage will be the first to top €5,000 and they all want the same.
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
    Tallaght Stadium Regular

Quote Originally Posted by DmanDmythDledge View Post
    Presumably Turner's contract expires at the end of the season. The only way he could have signed a contract for Bohs starting in July is if it has been allowed by Sligo, which it seemingly hasn't. Sligo should report Bohs for tapping up Turner.
    Its not tapping up, we've signed him on a pre-contract for next season when he is a free agent. I believe there is compensation involved because of his age? Anyway I think the thrust of this is that Cook wants him to go to us in July so he can get a bit of extra cash to replace him rather than let him languish in the under 21s for the rest of the season.
    TO TELL THE TRUTH IS REVOLUTIONARY

The ONLY foot.ie user with a type of logic named after them!

All of this has happened before. All of it will happen again.

Quote Originally Posted by BohsPartisan View Post
    Its not tapping up, we've signed him on a pre-contract for next season when he is a free agent. I believe there is compensation involved because of his age? Anyway I think the thrust of this is that Cook wants him to go to us in July so he can get a bit of extra cash to replace him rather than let him languish in the under 21s for the rest of the season.
    I read the piece again, I thought the first line meant he had signed for Bohs starting in July the first time I read it.

Page 2 of 6 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast