Page 3 of 6 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast

Thread: Chris Turner

151 Posts
    I believe Turner will also be Bohs highest paid player, some of the current players who are about to negotiate new contracts are very excited because his weekly wage will be the first to top €5,000 and they all want the same.

If this is true then we are really heading into lunacy territory. This league cannot possibly support this sort of thing and he definitely wouldn't get that kind of money in The Championship in UK. It's no length since Bohs couldn't pay 5k for the entire weeks wage bill. Seanie works wonders.

I really doubt this is true and if it is there will be a lot of awkward questions for the board to answer very soon. No EL player should be on those wages. It would also be a massive leap from what any of the current squad are on so I really doubt its true.
    TO TELL THE TRUTH IS REVOLUTIONARY

The ONLY foot.ie user with a type of logic named after them!

All of this has happened before. All of it will happen again.

5k a week for Turner..... your Havin-a-laugh.

Lads it was a Wexford Youths fan who posted that. In fairness how the hell would he know something like that and ye Bohs fans don't. Its obviously Bull....

21 Posts
    Cookie offered Turner to extend his contract for another year at Rovers. A very good deal at that but if five grand a week is been talked about......

International Prospect passinginterest's Avatar
    435 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Midgit View Post
    Lads it was a Wexford Youths fan who posted that. In fairness how the hell would he know something like that and ye Bohs fans don't. Its obviously Bull....
    It came from a current Bohs player who is very excited about his own contract talks.

Take it however you want but that's what he said.
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
    Tallaght Stadium Regular

Turner I understand turned down the biggest contract ever offered to a Sligo Rovers player, so I'd say Conner must have offered him the moon and stars.
    Bohs are going down the lunacy route. But it shows once again Connor has no contacts or credability, all he can do is offer big bucks to former players.
    I have scattered my dreams underneath your feet, tread carefully, cos it's my dreams you walk on.

If Turner's legally entitled to do that, then fair enough.
    But there's a serious integrity issue if he didn't bother mentioning it to his manager - dead right to drop him in that case. Anyway, we won without him away from home in the Cup, and missing other key players, so he's definitely not indispensable.

That said, we're under no obligation to let him walk out for less than we believe he's worth (or the maximum we can possibly squeeze out of Bohs for him).
    Then it's back to Gerry Cassidy's little black book, plus the fact that with Cookie's background he must have loads of contacts.

We could do very nicely out of this.
    "Even if the wind stops to blow
    Even if the sea ceases to flow
    Even if the sun ceases to rise
    The name of Sligo Rovers will shine and shine forever like the morning star glittering in the sky."

Chrissy is one of the best talents in the league, if we let him go for €30k, which I saw mentioned on this forum then we're getting robbed!!!!
    Whats that comin' over the hill

It's the Monster,

The Cookie Monster!

Quote Originally Posted by passinginterest View Post
    It came from a current Bohs player who is very excited about his own contract talks.
    Well he's definitely misinformed.

Quote Originally Posted by Redzer
    But it shows once again Connor has no contacts or credability, all he can do is offer big bucks to former players.

Brian Murphy (Swansea), Dean Pooley (Milwall), Owen Heary (Shels), Glen Crowe (Shels).
    The fact that so many of his former players (who he obviously signed from somewhere originally) shoes that he has credibility, they've worked with him before and are willing to do so again.
    Last edited by BohsPartisan; 19/06/2007 at 10:45 AM.

21 Posts
    Players like Turner and Faz have both come on leaps and bounds this season. No doubt they had the talent but this season we are finally seeing it. Add Peers, Hughes, Brush, Coleman and McKenzie to the list. Just on the footballing aspect its a bad move for Turner because the only time he will see the ball is when its flying over his head.

Probably being biased but the best football I have seen this season has come from Rovers. If the club were properly organised at the start of the season (manager and three or four decent signings) they wouldnt be too far from wining the league.

Quote Originally Posted by red bellied View Post
    Probably being biased but the best football I have seen this season has come from Rovers. If the club were properly organised at the start of the season (manager and three or four decent signings) they wouldnt be too far from wining the league.

Deluded!

21 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by BohsPartisan View Post

Deluded!
    Least we are actually getting to see some football after two seasons of hoof alot Connor when he was here.

Deluded!
    Not as deluded as you think , A team that finished below us last year had stability and made those 3-4 decent signings and now they are top of the league.

Yes but that team has pot loads of money. Hardly the same thing. I'm sure if you had a Sugar Daddy like Pats or a sweet property deal like us it would be well within you but you don't AFAIK - correct if wrong.

21 Posts
    Try telling Derry that when Kenny was manager and look how close he came. Dont think they had a sugar daddy or property magnet.

Yes but that team has pot loads of money. Hardly the same thing. I'm sure if you had a Sugar Daddy like Pats or a sweet property deal like us it would be well within you but you don't AFAIK - correct if wrong.
    Money isnt everything , another few signings the likes of Peers and Turner who wouldnt be on bank breaking money compared to Pats I imagine and who knows .

Quote Originally Posted by red bellied View Post
    property magnet.
    ROFL

lads.. i dunno about ye but I wish turner all the best.

he has given 100 percent while playing for us for the time he has been there, and to be honest, nothing we could offer chrissy could match what bohs have offered him.

whenever the occasion was needed, chrissy rose to it. hes too good for bohs, us and any other irish team... only that bohs are paying stupid money, he'd easily be championship, maybe premiership.

he never faked injury.
    this deal had probably been agreed for months but did chrissy's commitment towards rovers on the pitch wane? no. unlike mansaram, singh and connor, he's given his all, right to the end.

i say hold on to chrissy. play him to the end of the season. take the 30k. let him go at the end of the season and
    make the man welcome if he comes back to the showgrounds. he's no traitor, he's the best player i ever saw pull on a rovers shirt

Quote Originally Posted by SligoBrewer View Post
    i say hold on to chrissy. play him to the end of the season. take the 30k. let him go at the end of the season and
    This seems like the sensible course of action to me. Why drop someone who could be pivotal to your season just because he's going elsewhere next year? Win the cup and you're in Europe, Setanta etc. If he can help you do that its just daft to consign him to the under 21's or try and get rid of him sooner (unless you have a cast Iron replacement lined up).

Quote Originally Posted by SligoBrewer View Post
    this deal had probably been agreed for months
    And like I have said Brewer you know nothing about football.

If the deal was agreed months ago that would be called tapping up!!
    He can only talk to other clubs once he reaches the last six months of his contract.
    Of course he knew there was interest but nothing would have been agreed.

Right and if you say he is good enough for the preimership you really haven't a notion. He is good and maybe when he has a few years of Championship under his belt then maybe. If he was good enough for the premiership he would walk into the Northern Irelad team no problem (seeing as most of their player are league one and two!!!).

And of course he is the best player you seen pull on a Rovers shirt seeing as you have been supporting them for how many is it???.......... oh ya 2 years or is it 1 year!!!

Page 3 of 6 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast