Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast

Thread: letter in today's City Tribune from an angry Utd fan.

75 Posts
    I think the club should reply asap.
    We are the Galway Boys Stand up and make some noise"

Quote Originally Posted by Conor H View Post
    Sensible UTD fans know that this is a money spinner for the Club.Perhaps a more simplictic explanation to Mr.Cahill by the Club would put him straight.

High Profile Friendly=Money=BetterPlayers and Club Stability=Better League results and Cup Runs=More Money again=Winning the League=Qualifying for Europe=Champions League Winners 2020.Massive.

Nail on the head!

Claret we all know people like the man you just described, however I'd be weary of slagging him off like that on a forum. And slagging the area he comes from is even worse as your offending even more people, people who are ardent fans of this club. If he's not been to all the games like he claims then its quite a success for the club in that we've got a ball of cash from a barstooler. If he supports Man U then he should keep his mouth shut as that club are constantly screwing their own regular supporters out of tickets.
    "Are those my feet" Fr Jack Hackett

fair play to the woman who payed and qued three times for her sunderland tickets
    more water!

[QUOTE=Tir Oilean;694338]Nail on the head!

Claret we all know people like the man you just described, however I'd be weary of slagging him off like that on a forum. And slagging the area he comes from is even worse as your offending even more people, people who are ardent fans of this club. QUOTE]

Fair comment Tir oilean you are dead right I have now edited the post , I put my hand up sorry to all about that area .

Quote Originally Posted by gufct View Post
    I think the club should reply asap.
    I think some on the Board feel they dealt with it on friday night in person.

I had drafted a letter in a personal capacity but most of next Thursday / Friday's Tribune is printed already, so coupled with some of the excellent posts here on the topic, I've decided to hold fire.
    Less Whining
    Less Moaning

What are YOU doing to make it better?

1,553 Posts
    fair play to the woman who payed and qued three times for her sunderland tickets
    I agree and disagree with this. It's great that GU made the money from her, but rather sad that people will go to great lengths and expense to see a scratch team from England play a friendly but are not that interested in their local side.

One other point- I don't think the Tribune group would want to be positive to avoid offending anyone- actually negative stories sell far more papers and that's what advertisers are buying into.

Quote Originally Posted by Tir Oilean View Post
    Nail on the head!

Claret we all know people like the man you just described, however I'd be weary of slagging him off like that on a forum. And slagging the area he comes from is even worse as your offending even more people, people who are ardent fans of this club. If he's not been to all the games like he claims then its quite a success for the club in that we've got a ball of cash from a barstooler. If he supports Man U then he should keep his mouth shut as that club are constantly screwing their own regular supporters out of tickets.
    just read there either yesterday or the day before that man utd are been brought to some court of there ACS(automatic cup scheme) which made all new season ticket holders have to buy tickets for the cup matches... they made everyone this year i think.....

http://www.manchestereveningnews.co....r_tickets.html
    There's the right way, the wrong way.... and the Max Power way!! :-D

Quote Originally Posted by Galway Harps View Post
    I agree and disagree with this. It's great that GU made the money from her, but rather sad that people will go to great lengths and expense to see a scratch team from England play a friendly but are not that interested in their local side.

One other point- I don't think the Tribune group would want to be positive to avoid offending anyone- actually negative stories sell far more papers and that's what advertisers are buying into.
    yes it is sad but its a fact of life for all EL football fans so if thats the way she is goin to support us then so be it. The Tribune will want to give balance to the argument at the very least. And everybody is entitled to the right to reply. Twud only be good for some supporters to write into the Trib to give their two cents about the issue. As GUFCT said there were loads delighted to get the tickets at whatever the cost. Id say we'll see something in response ny the end of the week if sonething is sent in.

Quote Originally Posted by gilberto_eire View Post
    just read there either yesterday or the day before that man utd are been brought to some court of there ACS(automatic cup scheme) which made all new season ticket holders have to buy tickets for the cup matches... they made everyone this year i think.....

http://www.manchestereveningnews.co....r_tickets.html
    The Carling Cup games are a problem as nobody goes to them it seems so if its compulsory to buy the ticket at the start of the season they are covered. but worse than that it seems they rotate the crowds goin into the ground so that the revenue from the club shop is kept high. this disenfranchises manchunians who support Man Utd.

All good stuff lads ...but hang on a minute ! Why are we even talking about this clown. Anybody who really has the good of the club at heart knows this guy is just an idiot trying to get his name in the paper. Lets get to Longford and register three points. I wonder how many Friday nights Mr Cahill has treked up and down the country like the rest of us????????

Any person has the right to right a letter to a newspaper in the hope that it gets printed. If this is printed then at least 1 reply to this should also be printed
    Has anyone sent a letter to the tribune in reply
    If not what is the point in complaining.
    I don't agree to what he says but he has a right to an opinion, the paper has the right to print this and the club has a right to reply, which in my opinion they should do. Otherwise people reading the paper only see one side of the story.
    Dealing with this man individually does not deal with the point raised in the paper

The Empire Strikes Back !

Excellent reply by John Fallon in this weeks City Tribune.
    Far too long to print here, but basic points included :

- Kids go free to all EL games, as pointed out by Mr Cahill, thus defeating
    his own argument
    - Cost E1.25 million to run the club every year, all but E15,000 of this has to
    be raised by GUFC
    - Club would not survive without 100 volunteers
    - Club official did not answer Mr Cahills call because he was at his fathers deathbed in the UK
    - Anyone who chooses to attack the club through the media cannot call themselves a supporter of GUFC

agree with all points bar the last - the media is the arena for such an attack
    more water!

Quote Originally Posted by corbyeire View Post
    agree with all points bar the last - the media is the arena for such an attack

Surely if any proper fan has a problem with the club he should take it up with the club before trying to damage the clubs image in front of the county's rag readers?
    Galway United - Connacht Champions 2008

the club should be well capable of taking an attack through the media - its bound to happen - "Anyone who chooses to attack the club through the media cannot call themselves a supporter of GUFC" the last point sounds very unlike a massive club

in having 5 year plans and going professional - you would expect your support base to grow and grow into the thousands - and that GUFC would be discussed in all media - both good and bad opinions

who said bad publicity is detrimental

who said we the supporters should have a maroon mist about us and not question anything the club does - so that last point reeks of shut up - hand your money over - no questions - blind patriotism

being able to question the whole process having the accountability rightly or wrongly - makes the club - appear more accesible to the fans - than to the decision making board

im not saying i support the particular letters views - but hes entitled to his opinion - and utd should expect as much
    more water!

If I have a problem with, lets say, the GUST Lotto, do I

(a) talk to the people who run the Lotto
    or
    (b) bring it up at a GUST meeting
    or
    (c) write to the City Tribune

Why would supporters of the club want to attack the club ?
    Why would they choose to use the media as an avenue for this attack ?
    Also why would you include cheap and personal shots at club officials ?

The aim of the letter was to inflict maximum damage on the club. This person cannot call themselves a supporter.
    Last edited by Patrick Dunne; 03/06/2007 at 11:36 AM.

Have to diagree with you on this corby on the basis that the guy brands himself a supporter. He reeks of barstooling to me only for the kids drag him up there. If his point was valid and he got no satisfaction from the club then his writing to the paper is fine but his argument just doesnt wash.
    As for JF excellent letter covering all the vital points of the issue and evcen highlighting the fact that the Trib didnt investigate the story fully before printing. I wonder did the editor even contact the club for its view before including the letter...... doesn't look like it.

thats fair enough - your mans position is wrong etc. - but the club should be big enough to take an earful like this

ye have your opinions i have mine

on another note the particular papers review of the longford game was very good and impartial i thought and a damn better read than the free papers
    more water!

75 Posts
    They also didnt bother sending a reporter to Richmond Park on Friday which is absolutely disgraceful.McIntyre is so biased its unreal.

75 Posts
    Anyone see the Sindo where Cork are not putting any tickets on sale to the general public wonder did the Tribunes great Sports ed notice that.

Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast