Thread: Astro Park

Best ones to me are the ESB ones at Sportsco in Dublin 4

have to agree with you the pitchs and facilitys out there are very good.it's a pity they dont run a public league though. i know they do run a tournament for the people who work in esb.

UCD cages and poligrass pitches are very good. Newtown park avenue is crap. Completely waterlogged

Quote Originally Posted by bazza1 View Post
    Dmandmythdleg-end, Sligoman and Pedro - question for ye Three Wise Men.
    What exactly did Gilberto do to generate such a wave of Condescending Smugness from ye three very knowledgeable know-alls???

Answer for ye - He offered his opinion on passinginterests original question and might just have got one of his facts wrong! So fcuking what??

Grow up the three of ye - jaysus if you were to trawl through all your own posts I'm sure you posted some misinformation before.

Its ye 3 that need to grow up !
    Just after seeing this thread now and the only know all, acting like a twelve year old was gilberto eire.

I managed a school team last year and we played one game in Oriel and we were asked not to wear steel studs, so I assume eL teams can't either. The surface had the black chippings in it and was identical to the suff that I play five a side on, in a cage.
    Last edited by sullanefc; 13/01/2008 at 4:44 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by sullanefc View Post
    Just after seeing this thread now and the only know all, acting like a twelve year old was gilberto eire.

I managed a school team last year and we played one game in Oriel and we were asked not to wear steel studs, so I assume eL teams can't either. The surface had the black chippings in it and was identical to the suff that I play five a side on, in a cage.
    i wasnt been a ''know it all'' theres no way the FIFA standard pitches are the same most junior clubs have. FIFA set regulations for all-weather pithes... from the 3 differant places i played on them in galway none would have met the criteria(im just going to base that on the cut factor from a fall and lack of ability to slide tackle)
    so when passinginterest asked was the pitch he played on the same as Dundalks i said no as it would be illegal...although that came across as me saying that all-weather pitches in general were illegal. i just meant that of any i came across they were cheaper versions and wouldnt match FIFA regulations!.

so basically my whole point was that poorer quality pitches are used by junior clubs and wouldnt match FIFA playing regulations

P.S he didnt ask for you for comment and i dont appreciate you refering to me as a ''12 yr old'', find something better to do with your spare time then replying for other ppl
    Last edited by gilberto_eire; 13/01/2008 at 7:29 PM.
    There's the right way, the wrong way.... and the Max Power way!! :-D

AFAIK, Studs and blades shorten the life of the surface, so commercially operated pitches often won't allow them even if the surface can take them. I'd imagine the same would apply to club pitches when they are renting them out as opposed to using them themselves.

Quote Originally Posted by monutdfc View Post
    AFAIK, Studs and blades shorten the life of the surface, so commercially operated pitches often won't allow them even if the surface can take them. I'd imagine the same would apply to club pitches when they are renting them out as opposed to using them themselves.
    in any of the ones ive played on they were strict about the studs.... blades and moulds were fine. after all the studs dont sink into it anyway so your better off playing in runners.

Quote Originally Posted by gilberto_eire View Post
    P.S he didnt ask for you for comment and i dont appreciate you refering to me as a ''12 yr old'', find something better to do with your spare time then replying for other ppl
    Fair enough, I take back the 12 year old comment. But you were still talking like a know it all in your response to the first post. Even though you were wrong

Quote Originally Posted by sullanefc View Post
    Fair enough, I take back the 12 year old comment. But you were still talking like a know it all in your response to the first post. Even though you were wrong
    no i wasnt i just didnt state clearly what i meant!!..... read it again bearing in mind i was talking about the standard.... the adverage ones not been up to FIFA regulations i.e illegal.... i just didnt state my point clearly enough and it all went pearshaped from there... came across like i meant all-weather pitches were'nt allowed!!

well any one i have played or trained on in limerick cork dublin and galway would not be classed as "illegal" the afl complex in dublin is very similar if not the exact same as any of the ones in "cages" as you say and thats fine i do think you are wrong gilberto. any of the ones built in the last 5 years or so especially are better than most grass pitches you will play on.

Quote Originally Posted by inexile View Post
    well any one i have played or trained on in limerick cork dublin and galway would not be classed as "illegal" the afl complex in dublin is very similar if not the exact same as any of the ones in "cages" as you say and thats fine i do think you are wrong gilberto. any of the ones built in the last 5 years or so especially are better than most grass pitches you will play on.
    What i meant is they wouldnt pass the FIFA standards for sliding on, maybe im wrong but any i played on would cut the legs off you if you slid on them!!

I dont see why any junior clubs would get them up to FIFA playing standards, whats the advantage?.

There just there to make a few quid