Thread: Castlebar Town FC

Quote Originally Posted by yellowmonkey View Post
    Other teams cant rob other clubs like ye do
    Why can't other teams not do the same. I think I remember a Snugboro team last year with Michael Wallace (Mulranny Utd), Colin Corrigan (Castlebar Celtic), Declan Flynn(BBB) Kieran Murphy (Castlebar Celtic) Joe McCarthy (Glenisland Utd). what do you want to do, stop players leaving clubs. This solution would be fine by Celtic considering all the youths we have developed, Tell me where did all you U-14 & U-16's come from this year. So you should look at your own club before giving out about ours. If good players want to improve themselves by going to the big clubs why should we stop them. Look at all the youths that have left Mayo to go to Dublin because they were advised by Regional & National coaches that they need play with the big Dublin clubs, now they have a choice to go to Celtic, Mervue or Salthill Devon.

switching teams..

i see snugboros 4 midfielder players that startd against westport on sat eve were ginelly( glenisland) mcdonagh(bbb) roughneen(celtic) and duffy(celtic). i think i am correct in sayn all these players are 'blow-ins'. plus they were missing mccarthy(glenisland). so dont be slagging celtic

Quote Originally Posted by couchpotato View Post
    i see snugboros 4 midfielder players that startd against westport on sat eve were ginelly( glenisland) mcdonagh(bbb) roughneen(celtic) and duffy(celtic). i think i am correct in sayn all these players are 'blow-ins'. plus they were missing mccarthy(glenisland). so dont be slagging celtic
    surely this age old debate about who came from what club and the likes isnt starting up again is it??if lads decide to play for a different club its surely their own decision-as me auld lad has said on many an occasion-"they're big enough and thick enough to make up their own minds"as well as that its all about who they're playing for at the moment and as long as they're giving their all to the cause of their own club then let them have at it i say!played with ginnelly at glenisland a few years ago and he's a great little battler who always does his best so it doesn't matter who he or anybody else played with previously

Quote Originally Posted by couchpotato View Post
    Oh thats poor now in fairness . please tell me the last time roughneen and Duffy played for Celtic. Under 13s Maybe. Half the town played a season for Celtic at some stage. McDonagh came to Snugboro because Ballyvary B team had to disband. McCarty actually played most of his underage Football for Snugboro and is with us the Last 3 years. Ginelley Came on Board because Glenisland Nearly dibandanded. Thats Hillarious and a crap attempt to say the least

Quote Originally Posted by Closing Time View Post
    Why can't other teams not do the same. I think I remember a Snugboro team last year with Michael Wallace (Mulranny Utd), Colin Corrigan (Castlebar Celtic), Declan Flynn(BBB) Kieran Murphy (Castlebar Celtic) Joe McCarthy (Glenisland Utd). what do you want to do, stop players leaving clubs. This solution would be fine by Celtic considering all the youths we have developed, Tell me where did all you U-14 & U-16's come from this year. So you should look at your own club before giving out about ours. If good players want to improve themselves by going to the big clubs why should we stop them. Look at all the youths that have left Mayo to go to Dublin because they were advised by Regional & National coaches that they need play with the big Dublin clubs, now they have a choice to go to Celtic, Mervue or Salthill Devon.
    The point i think hes making is that Celtic would have approached players to play for them. I dont remember Snugboro "approching" any of the above to play for them. And for the love of the lord colin Corrigan has been with us far to long to still have an association with Celtic

Quote Originally Posted by pixiehead View Post
    The point i think hes making is that Celtic would have approached players to play for them. I dont remember Snugboro "approching" any of the above to play for them. And for the love of the lord colin Corrigan has been with us far to long to still have an association with Celtic
    Maybe you're jealous that we never approached you about playing for us. Then again I'd say you're not very good
    Last edited by swift; 11/06/2007 at 11:39 PM. Reason: spelling

It has always been the case that footballers have moved around clubs in Mayo. Soccer is not as parochial as Gaelic and lads don't necessarily play with their 'home' club. Should they - maybe. But that's another argument

51 Posts
    Lads,

get over the transferring of players from one club to another - yes its rotten when it happens but hell thats life - its now going to happen more and more now especially when Castlebar Celtic are now in the under 21 Eircom League! its good for the soccer in mayo but i hope it does not ruin the club games here in Mayo!

Are you for real. You are telling me that all the new players you have signed over the last number of years from other clubs woke up one morning a said ' I want to play for the great Snugboro team' with out someone approaching them. Come on. As for Colin Corrigan fair point, then Declan Conway & Danny Lawless would then be considered Celtic palyers based on this.

Quote Originally Posted by Closing Time View Post
    Are you for real. You are telling me that all the new players you have signed over the last number of years from other clubs woke up one morning a said ' I want to play for the great Snugboro team' with out someone approaching them. Come on. As for Colin Corrigan fair point, then Declan Conway & Danny Lawless would then be considered Celtic palyers based on this.
    No . Can you please read my post again fully . I never said they "woke up one morning Bla Bla Bla" Each player had different reasons to move on from their former clubs. Most choose Snugboro as its to hard to get on the celtic squad. Snugboro just like celtic provide good Facilities ect and so is a good option for most players who feel they not good enough or as the case may be NO LONGER good enough for Celtic. As for Conway and Lawless. Yes they spent most of their careers at celtic so i wont argue with ya on that
    Last edited by pixiehead; 12/06/2007 at 8:38 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by swift View Post
    Maybe you're jealous that we never approached you about playing for us. Then again I'd say you're not very good
    That comment made me giggle It brought me back to when i was in national School and the slagging would start between clubs..... and then a lad might pop up and say somthing stupid like that but every one would start laughing at him.. Swift...... Have you asked permission from Mammy or Daddy to use the internet because you should know this is an adults forum . Now be a good little lad and finish your proper homework
    Ahh, Kids these days

250 Posts
    This thread's heading for the bin if this crap continues.

Cool

That comment made me giggle It brought me back to when i was in national School and the slagging would start between clubs..... and then a lad might pop up and say somthing stupid like that but every one would start laughing at him.. Swift...... Have you asked permission from Mammy or Daddy to use the internet because you should know this is an adults forum . Now be a good little lad and finish your proper homework
    Ahh, Kids these days
    You make no sense at all. I'd say out of all your posts the only thing you can thats anyway sensible is the smiley icon:

Quote Originally Posted by the 12 th man View Post
    This thread's heading for the bin if this crap continues.
    Yes, please close it down, im bored to tears with the same old argument being spouted over and over. And on the wrong thread too!!

Quote Originally Posted by swift View Post
    You make no sense at all. I'd say out of all your posts the only thing you can thats anyway sensible is the smiley icon:
    Hear hear!!

Quote Originally Posted by town old boy View Post
    Hear hear!!
    Nobody talking to you

250 Posts
    Junior League forum deserves better than this stuff.