Thread: Hypocritical Geldof?

Hypocritical Geldof?

Anyone else think he's being a bit of a hypocritical arsehole here?

Someone stealing his halo

no i think he has a point alright , pity he wouldnt get on board and maybe help out though, he has identified things that could be done , maybe he coudl pitch in
    Was he crazy!! Yeah , in a very special way , an Irishman.
    I slept, and dreamed that life was Beauty;
    I woke, and found that life was Duty.

Time for Geldof to get off the stage.

Not sure why he criticising others efforts. Global Warming probably in the public awareness phase like Live Aid was about famine all those years ago.

I kind of agree with Sir Bobby. These concerts are pointless. Just another excuse for these pampered imbeciles to show the world how kind they are. It is however a bit rich coming from Sir Bobby as he invented the medium. As far as I know World hunger is still a problem.

thats wizards for you

[Geldof] accused Gore of doing little more than organising a worldwide musical extravaganza to state the obvious
    I can see why Bob would have a problem with this.

I hope they're a success. But why is he actually organising them?

To make us aware of poverty? Everybody's known about that problem for years. We are all f***ing conscious of global poverty.
    SIGNATURESCOPE

Geldof quite simply is a *****

joesoap, thought exactly the same as you when i read that. he is such a gobsheen just like that fella bono too. total hypocrite, oh nooaaa i meaaan you knooow like roight, someone is actually going to do something bigger than me thats just not fair.

The fact that Bob Geldof is a hypocrite surprises anyone??

Look at his brood of brats going around falling out of bars and straight under the nearest man

How much of his personal fortune goes on the black babies. Surely he should be over in Africa doing charity work rather than spouting out his arse anytime somebody waves a microphone at it

An absolute carbuncle on the arse of society, he should be blasted into space

The only thing Sir (Sweet Jesus) Bob cares about on this planet is himself

1,928 Posts
    I don't get the hypocrite angle.
    I suspect that Geldorf sees little point in it as well as an issue with the name.
    He does not BLAST GORE.
    The headline screams Bob Blasts Gore
    The only quotes from Bob are
    "I hope they're a success. But why is he [Gore] actually organising them?
    "To make us aware of the greenhouse effect? Everybody's known about that problem for years. We are all f***ing conscious of global warming."

Live Earth doesn't have a final goal. I would only organise this if I could go on stage and announce concrete environmental measures from the American presidential candidates, Congress or major corporations. They haven't got those guarantees. So it's just an enormous pop concert." Geldof added that he was irked by the choice of name for this summer's benefit gigs, which has led to a slew of unsolicited inquiries to his office from people who thought they were organising it.

Quote Originally Posted by geysir View Post
    I don't get the hypocrite angle.
    Criticising someone for organising an awareness concert that is just a thinly veiled excuse for celebrities to pat themselves on the back....come on it's pretty obvious

1,928 Posts
    I have no grounds to be cynical about what Geldof did. Just look at what has been achieved. The Live Aid thing was about cash for projects, overseen by a trust which kept going for 20+ years. That's a real achievement. I can imagine he gave a lot of time to it. Many NGO's were helped enormously and used the cash for good benifit. I'd assume that Geldof knows about these things more than most.
    I don't know what this (rip off) Live Earth gig is really about but it sounds very airy fairy to me.
    Maybe Geldof should have reversed a lifelong habit and shut up but I can see where he has good reason this time.
    Al fxcking Gore, we're truely fecked now.

Quote Originally Posted by geysir View Post
    I'd assume that Geldof knows about these things more than most.
    See theres the problem with humanity, assuming someone else is the expert and has everything in hand.
    TO TELL THE TRUTH IS REVOLUTIONARY

The ONLY foot.ie user with a type of logic named after them!

All of this has happened before. All of it will happen again.

Quote Originally Posted by jebus View Post
    Geldof quite simply is a *****
    That's an astute observation. Based on what?

The guy would have every right to feel a franchise of sorts had been breached with the appropriation of the the term LIVE in Gores Live Earth.

He's also welcome to his opinion that the thing has no solid end goal.

Quote Originally Posted by jebus
    Criticising someone for organising an awareness concert that is just a thinly veiled excuse for celebrities to pat themselves on the back....come on it's pretty obvious
    Live Aid actually raised cash -and no small amount of it -to help people.

Quote Originally Posted by LTID
    The fact that Bob Geldof is a hypocrite surprises anyone??

Look at his brood of brats going around falling out of bars and straight under the nearest man

How much of his personal fortune goes on the black babies. Surely he should be over in Africa doing charity work rather than spouting out his arse anytime somebody waves a microphone at it

An absolute carbuncle on the arse of society, he should be blasted into space

The only thing Sir (Sweet Jesus) Bob cares about on this planet is himself
    Hand LTID the gong for pettiest post ever.

1. It's none of your fcuking business what his kids get up to -and the man himself might reasonably argue it's scarcely any of his anymore either.

2. How much of YOUR personal fortune went on (outdated 1960's terminology alert!!!) "black babies"?
    Did you ever even attempt to do that which was within your gift to do to help them? That's all Geldof ever claims to have done.

You don't hear him giving out either that in the process he ****ed away a perfectly good career as a professional musician. You might've heard a couple of his tunes once upon a time. He was a bit handy that way.

3. A Carbuncle? If so I dunno where that leaves the rest of us ...lower than carbuncle for the most part I'd say.
    " I wish to God that someone would be able to block out the voices in my head for five minutes, the voices that scream, over and over again: "Why do they come to me to die?"

but did it make any real difference?

http://www.rte.ie/farawayupclose/

Quote Originally Posted by pete View Post
    Time for Geldof to get off the stage.

Not sure why he criticising others efforts. Global Warming probably in the public awareness phase like Live Aid was about famine all those years ago.
    Agree with ya here, global warming is going to be a very big issue in the next 20-30 and the general public probably have more of a chance of influencing it than they ever had of changing starvation and poverty. The money raised from these concerts is tiny when ya look at the bigger picture. The government budget of Ireland for this year is €60 billion the likes of these concerts will only raise a few hundred million.

Quote Originally Posted by Lionel Ritchie View Post
    Hand LTID the gong for pettiest post ever.
    Ya myself and Bob have it in for one another years...........

1. It's none of your fcuking business what his kids get up to -and the man himself might reasonably argue it's scarcely any of his anymore either.
    Fair Enough, as much as I dislike them that was a lil out of line

Cheerfully withdrawn

2. How much of YOUR personal fortune went on
    At the time of Live Aid I was but an itch in my fathers sack I'm afraid

(outdated 1960's terminology alert!!!) "black babies"?
    A terminology which I of course used because I find the whole thing just a little patronising towards African countries

Did you ever even attempt to do that which was within your gift to do to help them?
    Genuinely not my problem.

It shouldn't be up to us to dig the Third World out of a hole, responsibility for that should rest with the former colonial powers IMO.

That's all Geldof ever claims to have done
    And he's so quiet about it too. Why, you'd hardly even know he'd been involved without people like yourself around to tell us..........

You don't hear him giving out either that in the process he ****ed away a perfectly good career as a professional musician. You might've heard a couple of his tunes once upon a time. He was a bit handy that way.
    Have only heard a couple of Boomtown Rats songs, bit before my time, not a fan tbh. Somehow I doubt International acclaim and a knighthood beckoned

3. A Carbuncle? If so I dunno where that leaves the rest of us ...lower than carbuncle for the most part I'd say.
    Right..........

The guy would have every right to feel a franchise of sorts had been breached with the appropriation of the the term LIVE in Gores Live Earth.
    I passed a Pub but an hour ago which was advertising LIVE Music this weekend

Jesus someone tell Sir Bob

Made a huge difference

Why I can't think of one bad thing that has happened in Ethiopia since

What was the solid end goal of Live Aid??

Has it been achieved??

If it hasn't aside from sniping at Al Gore to get in the papers what's Sir Bob doing about it??

Genuinely not my problem.
    ...good thing everyone else didn't think like yourself and Maggie.

It shouldn't be up to us to dig the Third World out of a hole, responsibility for that should rest with the former colonial powers IMO.
    ...well yeah. Meanwhile people who could be saved were (and are) dying ...what do you do? tick-tock-tick-tock-tick-tock.

And he's so quiet about it too. Why, you'd hardly even know he'd been involved without people like yourself around to tell us..........
    ??
    What? the guy is consistent and persistent so now he's a shameless self promoter?

Have only heard a couple of Boomtown Rats songs, bit before my time, not a fan tbh. Somehow I doubt International acclaim and a knighthood beckoned
    International acclaim? The Rats were fcukin HUGE. No.1s all over the place ...huge tours ...the whole deal. Now your personal taste in music, nor mine, is neither at issue or of interest here. The guys career as a musician suffered severely because he dedicated time and effort to trying to improve things for some of the most vulnerable of the vulnerable.

I passed a Pub but an hour ago which was advertising LIVE Music this weekend

Jesus someone tell Sir Bob
    ...can I take you're indulging in the trite to mean you're not contesting that Gore has sailed close to the wind in his appropriation of the LIVE tag in the naming of his event?

Made a huge difference

Why I can't think of one bad thing that has happened in Ethiopia since
    I suspect there's a good few Ethiopians who think it made a huge difference to them. But they're not your problem sure...

What was the solid end goal of Live Aid??
    Has it been achieved??
    ...to save as many lives as possible and give as many people as possible a better future. It was never claimed that it could or would make all right with the world. But it sure as sh1t made a real difference to many people who were imminently dead as doornails if it hadn't happened.

If it hasn't aside from sniping at Al Gore to get in the papers what's Sir Bob doing about it??
    He wasn't sniping at anyone to get in the papers so far as I can see. Though if he has some issues with Gore I could forgive him for remembering that this guy was number 2 in an administration that would only countenance pitifully small debt cancelation (and that only to administrations that towed Washingtons line) and even more pertinent -would only consider emission reductions so small as to be meaningless and pointless.
    Last edited by Lionel Ritchie; 17/05/2007 at 3:43 PM.
    " I wish to God that someone would be able to block out the voices in my head for five minutes, the voices that scream, over and over again: "Why do they come to me to die?"

Quote Originally Posted by Lionel Ritchie View Post
    That's an astute observation. Based on what?
    Based on the fact that I think he talks ****, his band were ****e and Live 8

What franchise exactly? Using the word live to promote global concerts? Or making celebrity friends by having them pretend they give two ****s about the World on a global stage? Either way boo ****ing hoo

As I am to mine that the more recent Live 8 was a glorified way to boost record sales of the artists on show and a thinly veiled 'aren't we great' moment for all the right on morons left in the entertainment industry, Madonna's 'act' being the most sickening, followed by Pete Doherty being on stage for some reason, closely followed by Sir Bob taking the stage to perform songs that no-one has given a toss about in manys a year.

Furthermore on the Live 8 point, given that this was the more recent and appalling of the Knight's crimes, would it have harmed the message much to stick some of the quality African artists that are out there on the bill so that they might get a revenue boost that would actually have been used in said random African countries? According to Sir Bob that would have been against what Live 8 was trying to do, which says a lot about how far Geldof's values have slipped since the 80s