Thread: Galway vs UCD

International Prospect DmanDmythDledge's Avatar

Galway vs UCD

As the first series of games comes to an end I think everyone will be pleased with how the season has gone so far. Although we're not usually great away from home we have improved this season, the 1-0 win against Derry being the highlight on the road.

A peformance like that will set us on our way to victory against a Galway side missing their best player, that foreign defender that isn't Wes Charles. I'm going for a 2-0 to us, with Paul Byrne getting on the scoresheet at least once.

3,491 Posts
    We've a very good record in Galway too (they tend to win in Belfield though).

I'd be happy with a draw in the sense that it'd be nine games unbeaten and a good springboard for the second bit of the season, but I'd be hoping for us sneaking a one goal win.

71 Posts
    This is a game we really need to win. The sides we'd like to feel we're competing with, Derry, Shamrock Rovers, Sligo and Bohs are all playing weak opposition they'd expect to beat this weekend. I feel we'll only nick a draw though.

Galway are the bookies' favourites for this one.

You didn't think ye'd be favourites at Terryland did ya?

Many of ye travelling Friday?
    GUST will be in Foxs Bar Eyre Square from 5pm on.Probably,No Definitely,the best place for pre match pints.
    Especially if the weather is good...

If not perhaps we can arrange a showing of our AGM presentation!
    www.galwayunitedfc.net -----New GUFC fans forum and Gust Website.

Europe's Big Club.
    "Cause Galway are MASSIVE"-RW Rover on 24/8/07 00:29am

Quote Originally Posted by Conor H View Post
    You didn't think ye'd be favourites at Terryland did ya?

Many of ye travelling Friday?
    GUST will be in Foxs Bar Eyre Square from 5pm on.Probably,No Definitely,the best place for pre match pints.
    Especially if the weather is good...

If not perhaps we can arrange a showing of our AGM presentation!
    Didn't think we would be the favourites- thought that would be the draw. till surprised that ye are given more of a chance to win considering each team's starts to the season, even taking home advantage into account.

Don't know how many are going but we'll be in Foxs that's for sure. Doubt anybody would want to miss pineapple stu going head to head with Galway fans.

Is he planning an all out attack?
    www.galwayunitedfc.net -----New GUFC fans forum and Gust Website.

Europe's Big Club.
    "Cause Galway are MASSIVE"-RW Rover on 24/8/07 00:29am

Quote Originally Posted by Conor H View Post
    Is he planning an all out attack?
    He's planning on taking the mickey out of yee for a bit, then converting into his other username* to make the same points but in a more reasoned form, then converting back again to make an eejit of himself.

*Oh No, I've said too much!

Quote Originally Posted by DmanDmythDledge View Post
    Doubt anybody would want to miss pineapple stu going head to head with Galway fans.
    *shudder* Can someone give him the wrong address please?

Quote Originally Posted by Bald Student View Post
    He's planning on taking the mickey out of yee for a bit, then converting into his other username* to make the same points but in a more reasoned form, then converting back again to make an eejit of himself.

*Oh No, I've said too much!
    pineapple is also DCFCSteve?

812 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Schumi View Post
    pineapple is also DCFCSteve?
    It explains so much.
    You can't spell failure without FAI

McFaul is out injured. So that leaves Crowley and Bolger as our only fit centre mids. Didn't think we would get so many injuries.

Paul Byrne to score 2 goals 14/1. Decent odds. Would have been longer last week.

812 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by DmanDmythDledge View Post
    McFaul is out injured. So that leaves Crowley and Bolger as our only fit centre mids. Didn't think we would get so many injuries.
    That's Tony, McFaul, Finn and King all injured? Are we Newcastle in disguise?

Are we worth a punt so or is there strength in depth? 11-8 with Paddy Power. 5-1 for 1-0.

812 Posts
    There's some strength - Crowley is certainly good enough, but Bolger isn't very experienced. I'd be more inclined to look at the odds on a draw now - we may be a little more cautious missing those players.

Quote Originally Posted by Gaillimh Al View Post
    Are we worth a punt so or is there strength in depth? 11-8 with Paddy Power. 5-1 for 1-0.
    Won't make a difference. All our midfielders are of similar strength, bar Tony McDonnell, but he hasn't played much this season.

Lineup: Gregg, Mahon, McNally, Kenna, Bermingham, C. Byrne, McFaul, Crowley, Doyle, Sammon, P. Byrne.

Live streaming from Galway Bay FM.

3,491 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Gaillimh Al View Post
    6/1 0-0.

6/1 0-0.
    In the words of Homer Simpson... '' sweet''