Page 5 of 5 FirstFirst ... 345

Thread: v. UCD

75 Posts
    stu I wouldnt be so cocky but Gilberto is seriously contradicting himself here slamming me for my blind faith in Tony and the team and yet defending them against your assertions.

I still feel we will finish above you this season but as I said before i will be more than happy with 10th spot in our fist season back.
    We are the Galway Boys Stand up and make some noise"

3,488 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by gufct View Post
    stu I wouldnt be so cocky
    I'm not being cocky at all. Confident after the event maybe, but with due cause.

Anyways, how's things going on modifying your procedures for club officials on the guestlist.

Edit - just read the rest of your post. How's about a little bet on where we finish? Tenner says we finish above you this season, and I can collect on the last day when we're in Galway? That's exactly the sort of underestimation I'm quite happy for you to believe in.
    Last edited by pineapple stu; 22/05/2007 at 4:25 PM.

I just showed you the stats. In 39 games against Galway, Sligo, Longford, Bray and Waterford over the past 3½ years, we've lost six times. Those odds are simply stacked against a team like youz.

It's very easy to say you should be higher, but the table never lies in the end. You can go on about how many great chances you had (Matt Gregg made four superb saves by my count), but you couldn't score any of them We also had two possible goals ruled out, Conor Sammon had a one-on-one and we had a couple of dangerous 25-yard frees. We were also missing most of our midfield through injury, and the weather made a complete mockery of everything. So a draw was fair, you only get one point and the table is telling the truth, unfortunately.

That's why.
    over the last 3 and a half years we've been in the 1st division and not doing very well for one.... also because ye have/had a good record against likes of the other teams(u mentioned) doesnt mean that we should be happy with a draw at home against ye.....it doesnt make sense!
    even to cut out the rest of the teams you said and just focus on the record between ye and us things are completly differant now then to what they were...... so next year even if we are top because ye have a good record against us we should still be happy with a draw??.... dont think so i think we should take it for what it is now and while im not saying it was an un-accecptable result i dont think its a result we should be happy with...if we are well then we dont belong in this division, we should go back part-time and take apart the new stand and pack it away!
    There's the right way, the wrong way.... and the Max Power way!! :-D

3,488 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by gilberto_eire View Post
    over the last 3 and a half years we've been in the 1st division and not doing very well for one
    That's why I included other teams in your current position, such as Bray, Waterford, etc.

Obviously if you go top, then the record doesn't hold because I noted it as our record against bottom half teams, which you currently are. If you go top, then you can be disappointed with a draw against us.

Please read my point in full before going off on tangents...

I'd modify the list all right ... down to zero.

I can't understand this "avoid paying into the ground at all costs" mentality
    that officials at a lot of Irish clubs have.

I have always paid in at away matches. I could never comprehend this attitude. Why would you want to deliberately reduce the income of a fellow EL club ?

One or two EL clubs seem to have 10/20 people on their own "guest list" who show up at away grounds and throw a hissy fit if they don't get in for free.

Quote Originally Posted by gufct View Post
    stu I wouldnt be so cocky but Gilberto is seriously contradicting himself here slamming me for my blind faith in Tony and the team and yet defending them against your assertions.

I still feel we will finish above you this season but as I said before i will be more than happy with 10th spot in our fist season back.
    im not contradicting myself..... we are after all 2nd bottom and some of tonys decisions have been baffling to say the least..... you have stated you are happy with the season so far even though we are 2nd bottom and our goal per game ratio is just off a goal every 2 games now.
    i am far from contrading myself in fact if you look closely you assumptions are equal to stu's... he is saying we should be happy with a draw at home against UCD and im saying we shouldnt you are also happy with our position which would put your views on par with his....
    if tony had put more though into his signings before the season we would be doing better.... we virtually have no right-winger as he has been dropped, our 1st choice left back was also promptly dropped, we have a junior player up front who wont get a goal this year, we have conceded numerous soft goals mainly from set-pieces which is easily defendable with work in training!....
    having said that we could have easily picked up more points... but we didnt due to these mistakes made by players and management
    Last edited by gilberto_eire; 22/05/2007 at 4:33 PM.

3,488 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Patrick Dunne View Post
    I can't understand this "avoid paying into the ground at all costs" mentality that officials at a lot of Irish clubs have.
    You have a point alright, but if the club had a problem, they should have said so rather than lose his request. That's all.

The logic in Belfield anyways is that club officials work hard enough for the club outside of match days, so free entry to the match is a thank you for all their work.

For the record, there was no hissy fit in this instance (I know you weren't implying it). Yer man paid in, but it was just a bit unprofessional in the way it was handled is all.

We normally contact the away club early in the week in relation to passes, there
    must have been a breakdown in communication somewhere.

GUFC used to let half of Galway in for free up to a few seasons ago, so "complimentaries" has always been my bugbear.

It must affect the likes of Kilkenny and Monaghan a lot more than the "big" clubs. Bad enough having 78 people at the game, but if only 53 of them pay in, then you are in real trouble !

Quote Originally Posted by Patrick Dunne View Post
    It must affect the likes of Kilkenny and Monaghan a lot more than the "big" clubs. Bad enough having 78 people at the game, but if only 53 of them pay in, then you are in real trouble !
    If you can survive on 78 people, I'd say you could survive on 53 too as gate receipts obviously aren't a large part of your budget.

we dont belong in this division, we should go back part-time and take apart the new stand and pack it away!
    The new stand is quite nice but apart from that I agree.

Thumbs down

Quote Originally Posted by Student Mullet View Post
    leaving out a few words before that has completly changed the meaning of it

Quote Originally Posted by Student Mullet View Post
    Selective Qouting=Trolling.

Please go away.
    www.galwayunitedfc.net -----New GUFC fans forum and Gust Website.

Europe's Big Club.
    "Cause Galway are MASSIVE"-RW Rover on 24/8/07 00:29am

71 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Conor H View Post
    Selective Qouting=Trolling.

Please go away.
    Uhm, it was a joke.

75 Posts
    even though we are 2nd bottom

I Think were actually 3rd from the bottom which is the position that would guarentee us being in the premier next year and making Stu eat his words.

3,488 Posts
    Eat my words? How?

If you finish third bottom, you're still relegation candidates over the course of the season. Don't see how that would affect my view of yez?

75 Posts
    third from Bottom is safe and thats all that matters to me Stu. I actually think we will have pushed on at least 2 places higher than that by season end.

Now Stu you have had your fun away with the belfield Kop with ya.

3,488 Posts
    I still don't see how that would make me eat my words though?

i see your point and most others too... but bohs next week, ppl will be happy with a point too, derry,drogs etc..... 90% of the games involve teams (individually )you could be happy with a point with but even if you drew with every one of those teams you'd be struggling to survive we need to start gettings wins just like all the other teams are doing... as we've seen already even against the ''weaker teams'' we dont perform much better and draws and losses can be expected there too..
    i think its time the lads started pulling the weight they've been clapd off all year even though it hasnt been anywhere near good enough(btw in case ye'r thinking i didnt boo the ref/players off, im just not opposed to it)

secondly schumi im sorry if i offend you but UCD are no big cats that we should be happy against drawing with..... they are punching well above there weight this year and i didnt think ye we'r much better then bray(i know conditions we'r bad in case you challenge that statement considering the weather)
    I just showed you the stats. In 39 games against Galway, Sligo, Longford, Bray and Waterford over the past 3½ years, we've lost six times. Those odds are simply stacked against a team like youz.

It's very easy to say you should be higher, but the table never lies in the end. You can go on about how many great chances you had (Matt Gregg made four superb saves by my count), but you couldn't score any of them We also had two possible goals ruled out, Conor Sammon had a one-on-one and we had a couple of dangerous 25-yard frees. We were also missing most of our midfield through injury, and the weather made a complete mockery of everything. So a draw was fair, you only get one point and the table is telling the truth, unfortunately.

That's why.
    just to go back to this since you went back and dug-up the dimitri thing last week..... i told ya ye were no better then bray...they beat ye last night and are only a point behind ye now with 2 games in hand!!

International Prospect DmanDmythDledge's Avatar
    just to go back to this since you went back and dug-up the dimitri thing last week..... i told ya ye were no better then bray...they beat ye last night and are only a point behind ye now with 2 games in hand!!
    And going by are previous games before that we are much better than them. Individual games count for nothing. The only way you can compare teams is by the final league table.

And at least judge us when we have our strongest team playing.

Page 5 of 5 FirstFirst ... 345