Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast

Thread: v. UCD

Quote Originally Posted by MyTown View Post
    No point in starting a new thread for this, but John Lester has been included in the Irish squad for the upcoming four nations tournament. More details here.

http://www.eircomloi.ie/news_item_94.htm

I'm glad he's getting some recognition for his performances. He had a fantastic start to the season particularly in Cork and Tolka, and I was saddened to hear he was the target of less than pleasant stuff from some who travelled to Waterford last week.
    nobody played particularly well in waterford and i also thought lester had a ****emare. i dont give personal abuse to anyone wearing the galway united jersey but feel entitled to voice my opinion if someone is having a crap game. he has had a good season so far and anyone has an off game so get over the fact that he had a crap game

Quote Originally Posted by scotsbeer View Post
    nobody played particularly well in waterford and i also thought lester had a ****emare. i dont give personal abuse to anyone wearing the galway united jersey but feel entitled to voice my opinion if someone is having a crap game. he has had a good season so far and anyone has an off game so get over the fact that he had a crap game
    Who denied you your right to your opinion?
    Who mentioned you one way or the other?
    Do you want a bouquet of flowers for not giving "personal abuse to anyone wearing the Galway United jersey"?.

You tell me to get over the fact that he had a crap game in Waterford? I'm well over it.
    Get over yourself. Hope your weekend improved since you posted this nonsense.
    Less Whining
    Less Moaning

What are YOU doing to make it better?

75 Posts
    Lester got some awful abuse in Waterford including being yelled at to "f**k off back to limerick you fat c**t" . I was disgusted by it and let the person who said it know of my disgust . Also on friday night what was the story with the boos just after the game I hope it was directed at Pat Whelan even if it seemed to be at the team.
    We are the Galway Boys Stand up and make some noise"

no it was definitely the ref that was being booed - but when a few of the players started coming over - you would hope cheering or at least the booing would have stopped - i admit it looked bad enough alright
    more water!

wasnt in the stands at the end of the match was down at the gate congratulating a few of the lads for having a good game. there was a lot of people down at the gate giving abuse to the ref, i threw my 2 cents in as well. i'm pretty sure that nobody was booing anyone on the team because in all honesty it was hard to expect too much. it was a terrible night for football and we just needed to steady the ship after waterford. i said before the game that i'd be happy with a point and i'm still happy with it. now, to focus on the bohs next week and getting another result
    Homer: I'm gonna make sure these deliveries are made on time.
    Bart: Let me come with you
    Homer: Dont you have school!
    Bart: Dont you have work!
    Homer: Ah Touche!

Quote Originally Posted by corbyeire View Post
    no it was definitely the ref that was being booed - but when a few of the players started coming over - you would hope cheering or at least the booing would have stopped - i admit it looked bad enough alright
    Makes sense, I thought it was a bit much booing your team after a draw with a top half team in farcical conditions.

Quote Originally Posted by GUISAUltra View Post
    wasnt in the stands at the end of the match was down at the gate congratulating a few of the lads for having a good game. there was a lot of people down at the gate giving abuse to the ref, i threw my 2 cents in as well. i'm pretty sure that nobody was booing anyone on the team because in all honesty it was hard to expect too much. it was a terrible night for football and we just needed to steady the ship after waterford. i said before the game that i'd be happy with a point and i'm still happy with it. now, to focus on the bohs next week and getting another result

i see your point and most others too... but bohs next week, ppl will be happy with a point too, derry,drogs etc..... 90% of the games involve teams (individually )you could be happy with a point with but even if you drew with every one of those teams you'd be struggling to survive we need to start gettings wins just like all the other teams are doing... as we've seen already even against the ''weaker teams'' we dont perform much better and draws and losses can be expected there too..
    i think its time the lads started pulling the weight they've been clapd off all year even though it hasnt been anywhere near good enough(btw in case ye'r thinking i didnt boo the ref/players off, im just not opposed to it)

secondly schumi im sorry if i offend you but UCD are no big cats that we should be happy against drawing with..... they are punching well above there weight this year and i didnt think ye we'r much better then bray(i know conditions we'r bad in case you challenge that statement considering the weather)
    There's the right way, the wrong way.... and the Max Power way!! :-D

Quote Originally Posted by gilberto_eire View Post
    secondly schumi im sorry if i offend you but UCD are no big cats that we should be happy against drawing with..... they are punching well above there weight this year and i didnt think ye we'r much better then bray(i know conditions we'r bad in case you challenge that statement considering the weather)
    We comfortably beat Bray earlier in the season so I don't know about that. Tbh, I don't mind people underestimating us, it probably helps us. I would have been disappointed with a draw against you guys before the game too but the wind made it such a lottery that a draw isn't too bad.

Quote Originally Posted by Schumi View Post
    We comfortably beat Bray earlier in the season so I don't know about that. Tbh, I don't mind people underestimating us, it probably helps us. I would have been disappointed with a draw against you guys before the game too but the wind made it such a lottery that a draw isn't too bad.
    when i said ye we'r no better then bray dont take that offensively...ya they are our only 3 points this year but we could have easily went in 1 down at half time and they nearly got a goal in injury time..... i would put them on par with sligo!

they are our only 3 points this year but we could have easily went in 1 down at half time and they nearly got a goal in injury time..... i would put them on par with sligo!
    We may have got them on a bad day, Waterford were the only worse team I've seen this year, and Bray seem to have improved since. Sligo didn't look great against us but we were quite poor that day too, there's a good few teams in the middle who could all just as easily beat each other.
    Last edited by Schumi; 21/05/2007 at 3:40 PM.

3,488 Posts
    What on earth is "we'r"?!?!

On your actual point though, if you consider the bottom five to be Galway, Longford, Bray, Waterford and Sligo, then our league record against them since Pete Mahon took over at the end of 2003 is P39 W22 D11 L6 F65 A26. Only one of those defeats was at home, and eight of the draws were away too. It's been fairly consistent over the past few years, which discounts your thoery that it's only this year we're punching above our weight. Longford are the only team to have beaten us more than once in that period. That doesn't really equate with your idea that we're a team who are just a bit better than Bray (record 7-2-1-21-7 in that time). We're not exactly title contenders, but if you're going to be disappointed with a draw against us, you're setting your sights too high.

As requested (!) I'm not taking offence or anything. If you want to underestimate us, it's no skin off my nose. We've gotten very consistent against the teams in the lower half of the league, so a draw is a good result for youz.

What on earth is "we'r"?!?!
    'were' obviously.

3,488 Posts
    Yeah, I figured that, thanks. I was wondering where on earth it mutated from. It looks like there's a lot of thought gone into its construction.

75 Posts
    Stu nobody is allowed point this out to Gilberto as he thinks we should be beating everyone because we have gone full time 4 monhs ago and Galway is a huge city.

3,488 Posts
    Oops.

Looking forward to his reply even more now, actually.

Quote Originally Posted by gufct View Post
    Stu nobody is allowed point this out to Gilberto as he thinks we should be beating everyone because we have gone full time 4 monhs ago and Galway is a huge city.
    surprise surprise if it isnt our ''best supporter'' telling the gospel according to...himself!
    i didnt say we should be beating everyone i said in relation to schumi that a draw against UCD at home isnt a great result..... get your facts right
    in relation to your ''nobody is allowed point this to gilberto'' sure your the only one i argue with(and anybody argueswith btw) and by saying ''nobody'' your trying to say you plus more ppl when in fact im not the friendless person on this forum
    take a look in the mirror before you go around accusing ppl of things because ive never met such an arrogant ''im the best fan'' supporter at the club(or any kind of a club for that matter)

while your having a go at me ill have one at you...... how many other GUFC fans on here are happy at our situation at the moment??.... gufct is happy anyway anyone else agree??
    ..... 1 win, 2nd bottom, constant tactics/stragedy changes, players playing out of position,a junior ''b'' team standard player constantly starting(up front)........ oooh that(to quote from our forum)....''anyone who's been following GUFC for yrs would bite your hand off for where we are nw''..

btw it has nothing to do with been gone full-time not like this is our 1st yr aswell, and yes a city of galways size should be competing with the likes of cork and playing in europe every 2nd year!!.....
    you might be happy at looking back to 1991 judging by your mentality but the majority of supporters arent and unless omething changes soon we could be back playing the likes of the mons and kilkenny again

grow up and stop taking snipes at me cause im getting sick of it now!
    Last edited by gilberto_eire; 22/05/2007 at 1:28 PM.

75 Posts
    Rattle and Cot are the two words that spring to mind. Ive never said anywhere that im a better gufc supporter than anyone else ill leave that to the people who know it all.

Quote Originally Posted by gufct View Post
    Rattle and Cot are the two words that spring to mind. Ive never said anywhere that im a better gufc supporter than anyone else ill leave that to the people who know it all.
    you dont have to say it....it shows(not saying that u didnt to someone at some point)
    well i think the fact that you dont travel on the supporters bus or are friendly with anyone on that bus says it all about your arrogance!
    you even have a sly dig at where i live in galway before on the other froum at the end of a counter-post towards mine.....
    you should think long and hard about yourself before you call me a baby

75 Posts
    Not travelling on the supporters bus has more to do with my work than anything else and the fact that I organised the self same buses for 15 years makes your point look rather stupid. I have been travelling on the supporters bus this season as well and always sit or stand with our fans chanting and singing so I dont know where that leaves me not being friendly with anyone.

I know most GUFC supporters of any age and watched a lot of them grow up and would consider a majority of them as friends so just because a certain few like abusing me here or at matches it still doesnt bother me .

OOOHHHH TOMMY
    Not to worry I will be your friend and I will have nothing bad said againist you so there .

T just put the money in the bag and address it to Claret Murph and leave in it Athenry in the same spot as always .

Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast