Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Thread: Rovers 4 Cork 1

21 Posts
    Turner was the player of the match to night, never gave up for the second goal, buried them penalty as well. Well as for Judges second goal, I was trying to interact all night in the pub, wouldnt be the greatest fan but has to be ONE OF THE BEST EVER GOALS IN THE SHOWGROUNDS.

21 Posts
    Sligo put dent in Cork's revival

12/05/2007 - 9:35:31 PM

Sligo Rovers 4 Cork City 1

A man of the match display from Chris Turner put the brakes on Cork City's recent rival as Sligo put in their best performance of the season at the Showgrounds.

The Northern Ireland under-21 international midfielder negated Cork's Joe Gamble in midfield before setting-up Matt Judge to side foot Sligo in front on 36 minutes.

Cork keeper Michael Devine then pulled down Fahrudin Kuduzovic from Turner's through ball on 44 minutes. Turner sent Devine the wrong way from the spot.

It got better for Sligo within two minutes of the second half when Turner brust through from Judge's pass to outfox Cork skipper Dan Murray and shoot past Devine.

Cork were all over the place and Devine had to make a superb finger tip save from Kuduzovic's shot after great work down he right by Stephen Manson just minutes later.

The lively Judge then completed the rout on 71 minutes with a brilliant solo goal.

Having charged down Darragh Ryan's clearance, the big striker back-heeled another defender before cutting inside a second to curl a left foot shot past Devine.

Substitute Daren Murphy got Cork's consolation goal a minute into stoppage time from Roy O'Donovan's cross.

FRONT | PREVIOUS

News: Breaking News | World News | Sport News | Entertainment News

Services: Horoscopes | Lotto Results | Weather | Family Notices | Sports Fixtures | Echoes of the Past

Community: Local Information | Cork Diary

Newspaper: Contact Us | Media Pack | Editorial Team | Free Ads

Terms & Conditions | Privacy Policy | Copyright Info
    © Echo Publications (Cork) Limited, City Quarter, Cork. Registered in Ireland: 344279.

I already posted that red bellied, page 1.

What a game, unbelieveable. Such a buzz at the game, havent seen anything like that for a while. After being so completely disheartened at Harps, with thw worst defeat of the season we follow it up with the best victory of the season. Its true what they say about us, that when we come to our lowest ebb, our greatest moments then come.

Cork didnt show at all, didnt perform did even make an effort. Above all if i were a cork fan that made the trip that woud be my main complaint, no commitment or effort from the cork players.

By the way, Matty Judge is a legend, was chatting to him after the game, sound bloke.

What about the boss?

Couldn't believe the result, couldn't make it to sligo for the game, first game I've missed in weeks. Gutted and Delighted all at once.

Dunno lads, but for all of the complementing of the players, there has been little mention of the Cookie Monster. Surly he had a large roll to play in the turn around from the defeat to Harps. I was at the game in Finn Park, and I hadn't seen such a disorganised display from a Rovers side in years (wasn't at the semi-final replay in Derry).

Well done Paul and the team and Chrissy (legend) and thanks,

In the words of The Automatic - sort of...

'What's that coming over the hill,

It's the monster,

The Cookie Monster!!!!!!!!!

Was there a camera at the game? Please say there was...
    Whats that comin' over the hill

It's the Monster,

The Cookie Monster!

Was up last night. Rather forget the result but had a grand chat with some Sligo lads in Foleys beforehand.

Well deserved on yer part

Quote Originally Posted by Only1Rovers View Post
    Please say there was...
    'there was'
    not sure if there was a camera

No Camera?

Quote Originally Posted by feo123 View Post
    not sure if there was a camera
    If there wasn't thats summit the club should really get sorted.

It's the Monster,

The Cookie Monster!

If there wasn't thats summit the club should really get sorted.
    There was an announcement on the PA after the game that you could see all the goals again monday on EL weekly so I presume there was.

not that il be watching

Quote Originally Posted by micls View Post
    There was an announcement on the PA after the game that you could see all the goals again monday on EL weekly so I presume there was.

not that il be watching
    Nice one micls, thanks.

It's the Monster,

The Cookie Monster!

Quote Originally Posted by SeaniesRedArmy View Post
    Where did we get that mcmorrow fella from?
    He signed from Strand Celtic about 2 months ago, was with Rovers before a few years back in the under age setup, signed originally by DOR I think. Usually plays in the middle of the park but think he may have played at right back a few times in his previous spell.
    "he tries his best.... but I was a proper player".

Was there a camera at the game? Please say there was...
    there was, the cookie monster was being interviewed as i left the ground, so hopefully marajudge will get his moment in the sun

Quote Originally Posted by SligoBrewer View Post
    there was, the cookie monster was being interviewed as i left the ground, so hopefully marajudge will get his moment in the sun
    they'll probably just say how bad cork were and not how good we were.
    and we'll stuggle or something. i think they just recorded one show at the start of the year and edited in the weeks goals in between the comments, same sh*t over and over and over again

i mentioned it in that survey thing.. elw is really a disgrace and does the league no justice

what survey thing?

club promotion survey...handed mine to sinčad before the match...

Last edited by gustavo; 13/05/2007 at 9:46 PM. Reason: embedding link

where did ye get them?

eh your man noel mooney was handing them out

Who the feck scored the City goal?
    I've seen it attributed to Billy Woods, John O'Flynn and Darren Murphy?
    City definetly have the best bands playing at half-time.

O'Bama - "Eerah yeah, I'd say we can alright!"

G.O'Mahoney Trapattoni'll sort ém out!!

151 Posts
    Murphy

Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast