Who saw that coming?![]()
Great result. Heard Turner had a great game and Judge scored a couple of good goals.
What happened the corkies or was it just a great display by rovers?
Was there a decent crowd there? Ragin I couldn't make it down![]()
Who saw that coming?![]()
Great display by us , best of the season by miles , whole team worked for eachother , 2 great goals by Judge especially the 2nd one and a great goal by Chrissy too to kill the game off , ****ing delighted!
Poor attendance. Red stand one third full. Turner was unreal as per usual but looked to be carrying a knock when substituted. The difference was that we had a striker to play to. My views on judge have been completely changed. He looks much quicker and has a way better touch than last season. his second goal is one of the bet goals i have seen in the showgrounds. cork barely had a chance except for the consilation
Poor attendance aye, but some craic in the blue stand which was packed i d say...cant believe we won 4-1
Didn't see that coming anyway! ****ing hell. Up until we scored all we were doing was hoofball and I thought we were in for another poor performance, how wrong I was
. Don't think the penalty should have been given as Faz had already lost it. Super performance from all the lads especially Judge, Turner, Hughes, Peers and McKenzie and Coleman. Judge and McKenzie have both really improved on last season in my opinion. Good chance for McMorrow and Gino to have a run out. Good to see Conor back too. Play like that and we really should trash Bray, consistency will be a big test though.
Agree fully with you (apart from your user name). Turner was class. So was Seamie Coleman. Judge was brilliant too, not just the goals even though they were something else. Like yourself I didnt rate the guy at all and to be honest I wasnt sorry that he was gone (he was let go wasnt he?)
But if he can perform like that then he has really improved himself and fair play to him. His two goals were excellent but the last one was just pure genius. Definitely goal of the season. Magic. Like something Thierry Henry would do.
They looked comfortable all might and never looked under pressure or in danger of conceding until they did. (that is the one negative from tonight - the fact they let in again so late in the game even though the game was in the bag)
Have to say. Best game of football I have seen in the Showgrounds in a long long time. When they got the ball down they played some excellent football. We often knock the lads (and justifiably) for some of their performances. Tonight we should give them credit for a magnificent performance. Well done lads
Agrre with you totally! Every player played to his full potential exept one...i wont name any names but i am sure you know who he is.
Great win and great buzz about the place. wont be long till the crowds pick up if we preform like that.
lots of positive talk about sligo, and rightly so i guess with a scoreline like that, but any judgements of cork?
Your Chairperson,
Gavin
Membership Advisory Board
"Ex Bardus , Vicis"
apart from turner, coleman has been our most consistent performer this season. defensively second to none and good going forward too. he has a great future ahead of him. Where did we get that mcmorrow fella from?
Youth acadamy.
Of course it would have to be mansen. He pulled out of 50-50 balls and turned back any time he had the ball. Very poor. Don't think he is up to much at all.
Raf was good left back.
Magnificent performance. Completely out of the blue. Even before we scored I thought we were just as good as Cork and that we were playing the ball intelligently to Matthew Judge and Murray was finding him unplayable. Terrific goals but above all great attitude. I must confess that I backed Cork at 11/10 as I could not see anyway we would live with them. Arrah feck it, I never liked the house anyway - Ladbrokes is welcome to it!
Turner legend and we kept the ball beautifully until Conor came on and began spilling it ? Want to watch himself - hard to change that midfield.
Happiest crowd leaving the Showgrounds for a long time and all I can say is well done, lads and keep it up.
We may be away for the next two weeks but guess who's coming to town the week after that ????????!!!!!!!!!!!!
A man of the match display from Chris Turner put the brakes on Cork City's recent rival as Sligo put in their best performance of the season at the Showgrounds.
The Northern Ireland under-21 international midfielder negated Cork's Joe Gamble in midfield before setting-up Matt Judge to side foot Sligo in front on 36 minutes.
Cork keeper Michael Devine then pulled down Fahrudin Kuduzovic from Turner's through ball on 44 minutes. Turner sent Devine the wrong way from the spot.
It got better for Sligo within two minutes of the second half when Turner brust through from Judge's pass to outfox Cork skipper Dan Murray and shoot past Devine.
Cork were all over the place and Devine had to make a superb finger tip save from Kuduzovic's shot after great work down he right by Stephen Manson just minutes later.
The lively Judge then completed the rout on 71 minutes with a brilliant solo goal.
Having charged down Darragh Ryan's clearance, the big striker back-heeled another defender before cutting inside a second to curl a left foot shot past Devine.
Substitute Daren Murphy got Cork's consolation goal a minute into stoppage time from Roy O'Donovan's cross.
Source.
Lads in fairness, what a result, CORK didn’t play poor, they were beaten by a better side, we were exquisite! They are a far better side than pats (& they beat us 4-0), they just got us on a good night! & it goes to show we aren’t far of the mark, …
4 great goals incl the peno, 100% credit to faz for that, he won it well ( i HAD A CLASS VIEW)!!!
Me, being a stunch republican & given the week that’s in it! I’ll forgive the cork fans with the linfield scarf’s 4 shouting for Aberdeen today & I also want to say.............. TURNER is class!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! (the big hunn!!)
The biggest downer to tonight was that the 3 goals are contenders for goal of the season, & they came in the same game, so we ave to choose between them!!
Bo11ix.
I am _p155ed______
RT that’s your fault.
But a performance & result like this makes it all worth while,
All our friends in the west take heart!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! :-)
KEEP THE FAITH
Lads in fairness, what a result
Last edited by Bravo; 12/05/2007 at 11:44 PM.