Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Thread: Rovers 4 Cork 1

I was in total shock when I saw the result , but saying that I have to tip my hat to Sligo a fantastic result for you boys .

Quote Originally Posted by Risteard View Post
    Who the feck scored the City goal?
    I've seen it attributed to Billy Woods, John O'Flynn and Darren Murphy?
    It was Billy.

I had the misfortune to be at the debacle and he was the best City player by far even though he only played for the last half hour.
    I'm what? I'm ants at a picnic?

Magnificent performance overall. One thing that stood out for me was the speed which which Rovers moved from defending to attacking. Even while we were playing well last year, I was always frustrated with McNamara (in particular) and Burns's tendency to spend half the day releasing the ball. The move that led to the penalty was a perfect example.

I thought Coleman had a terrific game and pushed Turner hard for man of the match - hard to believe he's so young. Judge and Faz got through a huge amount of work keeping the Cork defnders from getting forward the way they like to.

The passing of the ball through midfield was also very impressive, and would have been better if it weren't for a few bobbles (memo: SORT THE PITCH OUT).
    Tommy did everything he had to do (which wasn't an awful lot) very well. Dick might be a better shot-stopper, but Tommy looked very confident under the high ball.

A couple of things that were less than satisfying, if you can be hyper-critical after such a result:
    Manson - full of effort, and looks like he has the makings of a good player, but he has to learn to play with his head up and use possession more quickly.
    Foyser - we all know his only shortcoming, and surely he knows it himself. He's not that old, and while he won't get back to England at this stage, he's throwing away the chance to be one of the top players in the LOI. At the moment, he's in danger of going, in the space of a year and a half, from being our outstanding player to being the weakest link. If we strengthen the squad, I reckon his place is far from safe.
    "Even if the wind stops to blow
    Even if the sea ceases to flow
    Even if the sun ceases to rise
    The name of Sligo Rovers will shine and shine forever like the morning star glittering in the sky."

Quote Originally Posted by Fivesilver View Post
    Foyser - we all know his only shortcoming, and surely he knows it himself. He's not that old, and while he won't get back to England at this stage, he's throwing away the chance to be one of the top players in the LOI. At the moment, he's in danger of going, in the space of a year and a half, from being our outstanding player to being the weakest link. If we strengthen the squad, I reckon his place is far from safe.

He has the sweetest left foot in the league. When he gets his pass right he can be deadly at releasing players up the wing or playing the striker through from deep.

I hope the Cookie monster helps Keith sort himself out...
    Whats that comin' over the hill

It's the Monster,

The Cookie Monster!

I think our three goals from open play are all worthy to be in the goals of the month on Eircom Weekly. Let’s hope the coverage tonight does the lads justice.

I think we all have to admit that we went to the Showgies on Saturday night expecting the worse and at best hoping for a draw. The performance was clearly one of the best in a long long time.

I thought one of the key moves of the game was made from our Manager, when he switched Raff & Foy within the first 5 minutes to stifle the threat of O’Donovan. This switch worked well, particularly as O’Donovan got himself booked for mouthing at the Linesman, clearly frustrated. This could be the start of a new position for Raff.

Also key was the return of Peers to centre half. It is no coincidence that the games where we leaked goals were the games minus Peers.

The last time we turned on new floodlightts we scored 4 and the season began to turn around…………

Roll on eircom weekly tonight and Bray

151 Posts
    Risteard, is that bit at the bottom of your post about Rico ?

Diet

The only way Foy will lose the extra pounds he needs to is through his diet and eating habits. Training alone will not get rid of them.

When is the last time we beat Cork?

21 Posts
    Beat them down in Cork the season we got relegated, two one I think it ended up.

There was a major gamble on Cork around the town, the bookies made a fortune.

one fella had €3,000 on them i heard.....

Quote Originally Posted by red bellied View Post
    Beat them down in Cork the season we got relegated, two one I think it ended up.

There was a major gamble on Cork around the town, the bookies made a fortune.
    i lost money..anyone else

have to agree that peers made a huge difference. He is one of our most important players. Its tough to see ogrady getting back in the team now. When is curran back?

Smile fantastic result

what a result . i was'nt there at a wedding and could'nt believe my eyes when i got text messages thought the guinness was getting the better of me.
    im hearing lots of very positive things abiut the "cookie monster". very down to earth guy and put it up to the players. i know its only one game but hopefully it may be a turning point. if only we can get the 3 points on friday nite (i believe we can). looking forward to watching on telly tonite. i dont want to put a damper on things but can anyone verify a rumour that turner is set to leave in july. i heard it from a fairly reliable source that he wants to leave sligo and that his contract is up at the end of the season but there maybe moves on his behalf to go in july. i am not making this up so all realistic replies would be appreciated

alota clams

Quote Originally Posted by feo123 View Post
    one fella had €3,000 on them i heard.....
    I heard a fella had one meeeeelllllion dollers on them

It's the Monster,

The Cookie Monster!

Quote Originally Posted by red arrow View Post
    can anyone verify a rumour that turner is set to leave in july. i heard it from a fairly reliable source that he wants to leave sligo and that his contract is up at the end of the season
    I know from a reliable source that Chrissy likes sligo, As we know he has had difficulties at other clubs. He has experienced non of this in Sligo.

He is better than the League of Ireland, I hope he signs a new contract so we get summit for him as I'm sure he'll want to go to a better league.

He's a different class tho...

It's the Monster,

The Cookie Monster!

Quote Originally Posted by SligoBrewer View Post
    i lost money..anyone else
    Thats an important lesson, never bet against your own team.

Quote Originally Posted by Da Real Rover View Post
    Thats an important lesson, never bet against your own team.
    it better to bet against..

i couldnt care less about the money now

otherwise.. but still... worth every penny in my opinion

plus i got them at 11/10..

they were backed down to 4/6 in the end

Turner is in the boat now & men in that position have been known to do funny things maybe that might keep him here?

Quote Originally Posted by Rogue Trader View Post
    Actually agree i think there is a good chance you may keep him after Saturday, if we could string a few results together i fancy are chances of holding for the remainder of the season. I can't see the Grand master of Spin picking up in trophy's this season anyway. As well as that Chris keeps playing with and knocking in a few goals he could do better than them by attracting a team in England.

i have a new flag idea...for bohs match definetly
    nothing to do with connor though..

21 Posts
    Connor never got the best out of Turner anyway. The ball always by passed midfield. If Cook keeps gettting performances like that out of him there is a good chance an English club would come in for him.

Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast