Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst ... 234

Thread: Jackman Park Development

I'd rather stay and have concrete plans for developing Jackman than spend another few years ****ing after the Market's Field lads, its gotten nowhere in the past, and probably won't in the near future

While im all in favour of going back to the Markets field as it has a larger development potential then the Jacks, i dont think it could be a success unless all strands of football go there. This would mean the LDMC selling off jackman (and making a fair penny for themselves) schoolboy, ladies and junior leagues comming to The markets field, but the move is at least 4/5 years away so ongoing development work at jackman park can continue till then. Btw remember the FAI in getting rid of the DD bid for rathbane did make a promise to develop rathbane as a regional center of football so with this center and markets field with all eliments of football on board i see it as being stronger then any combination with the jacks on board.

Markets field has huge potential IMO providing they get the building on Mulgrave st as part of the deal, this could prove expensive. The ground hs limited scope for development...if u leave the dog track there. remove the dog track and you could build a 25/30,000 seater no problem. The markets field is twice the size of jackman... its along way off though and i hope all strands of football stick together in the interm

Quote Originally Posted by gael353 View Post
    Markets field has huge potential IMO providing they get the building on Mulgrave st as part of the deal, this could prove expensive. The ground hs limited scope for development...if u leave the dog track there. remove the dog track and you could build a 25/30,000 seater no problem. The markets field is twice the size of jackman... its along way off though and i hope all strands of football stick together in the interm
    The money is in Limerick to build a quality communal stadium. Some of those 25,000/30,000 seater Dutch stadiums are class and they cost relative peanuts to build. You'd need major investors and a number of sporting bodies on board to do it, but it's possible. Limerick 37 would be the obvious candidates for anchor tenants. But as you said, its years away. Doesn't mean we can't develop Jackman to a decent standard in the meantime....

Is this the same run down markets field that cant hold greyhound meetings without patrons having there cars robbed and smashed up? didnt the fire brigade get attacked after an owners van was set on fire there a few weeks back? People were very quick to critacise Hogan park for simular things last year. Just wondering why the FAI would invest a fortune into the place?

Quote Originally Posted by 4tothefloor View Post
    Just to reply to you there:
    1. If it's being leased to the FAI I'm sure they'd build a stadium there. The FAI would then lease it to us.
    2. See no. 1
    3. It's about an extra 5/10 mins walk. No big deal really
    4. So what? The train station is still very near it.
    5. And Jackman is better is it?
    6. And Jackman isn't?
    7. If you read the article, it is zoned for recreational and sporting use. Previous rezoning attempts have been blocked as will all future attempts. So the value of the property is a lot less than what you would expect. The majority of it cannot be used for commercial/residential development, so it's not that valuable with that in mind. It looks like any developer who wants to develop on it, cos there's also the telecoms building, will basically have to build a stadium as part of any deal.

Would be great I think. All years away though development wise...
    But all your points really just say that it is no better or worse than the Jacks. So why move?
    "It's impossible to make a man understand something when his livelihood depends on him not understanding" Upton Sinclair

Exactely. The last thing we need now is another F**king move

If we develop Jackman it will be a grand home for us IMHO

John
    "How Can you lie there and think of England when you don't even know who's in the team"-- B.Bragg

Quote Originally Posted by JohnD View Post
    Exactely. The last thing we need now is another F**king move

If we develop Jackman it will be a grand home for us IMHO

John
    I think you'll find it's the home of junior soccer in Limerick.

And your point is ???
    "How Can you lie there and think of England when you don't even know who's in the team"-- B.Bragg

Smallmindedness John...it's part of the inferiority complex some junior soccer supporters suffer from. Not all, just some.

Quote Originally Posted by joeSoap View Post
    Smallmindedness John...it's part of the inferiority complex some junior soccer supporters suffer from. Not all, just some.
    It's just my opinion but I get the impression that the new LDMC committee are not as openly minded to senior soccer in Jackman Park as the previous committee that gave the go ahead.
    Is smallmindedness the new phrase that is used instead of "FACT". Limerick37 are only tenants in Jackman Park.

Nobody ever denied L37 were only tenants at Jackman Park. But what about the whole ethos of trying to broaden the horizons of the game across the entire city and county?

Smallmindedness is when people like you make petty remarks about the fact that the club are only tenants in Jackman. Get a grip.

Quote Originally Posted by Mercurial Vapor View Post
    I think you'll find it's the home of junior soccer in Limerick.
    a big old yawn goes out for your efforts champ

Quote Originally Posted by LFC in Exile View Post
    But all your points really just say that it is no better or worse than the Jacks. So why move?
    I wouldn't mind seeing us staying in Jackman Park, and I never said Limerick 37 would be buying the Markets Field. If it'll happen it'll be a stadium/facility built either by the FAI or another group of bodies/investors. It would have nothing to do with Limerick 37 until they would be invited to play there. So if it reached that stage, why not move? It would be years away anyway.

It's only a matter of time too before something kicks off with the LDMC, as you can see by the attitudes of some who support or are linked with them It's all just bubbling under the surface. Wouldn't surprise me one bit that they're only allowing L37 play there so they can get the ground developed to a decent standard......I like Jackman alot but I've no confidence in the LDMC.

"FACT". Limerick37 are only tenants in Jackman Park.
    Untrue.
    Limerick 3:7
    "Marvel not that I said unto thee, ye must be born again"

It's just my opinion but I get the impression that the new LDMC committee are not as openly minded to senior soccer in Jackman Park as the previous committee that gave the go ahead.
    Is smallmindedness the new phrase that is used instead of "FACT". Limerick37 are only tenants in Jackman Park.
    And wait and see who the players released from L37 are.All of the players who were Junior last year(easy option???).Thats going to play right into the hands of those who do their ut most to stop players from the junior ranks trying their luck at senior.
    "Bath Avenue or Shelbourne" 1895

Quote Originally Posted by manalishi View Post
    And wait and see who the players released from L37 are.All of the players who were Junior last year(easy option???).Thats going to play right into the hands of those who do their ut most to stop players from the junior ranks trying their luck at senior.
    So what? Anyone that will be released will be players who are not good enough. And no surprise that the majority should be from the junior ranks, i.e. players who couldn't make the step up.... It would be the norm that there would be more players failing to make the jump from junior to senior, than players suceeding in making that jump.

Its very short-termist to look at the players who made the step up this year that didn't make it as evidence that players should not try. Okay, some players will be released but there are still a lot of L37 players who came through junior scene e.g Robbie Kelliher, Derek McCarthy, Tommy Barrett, Brian Buckley, Tierny (?) as well as practically all of the prospects in the 21s.

If 2 or 3 make the step up that would be a good return for them and the club.
    "It's impossible to make a man understand something when his livelihood depends on him not understanding" Upton Sinclair

If moving (again!!!) is being seriously discussed I believe the viability, pros and cons of moving to Thomond Park should be on the table as well.

It'd be a big, big ground for sure but so what? We should be thinking big and thinking long term.
    " I wish to God that someone would be able to block out the voices in my head for five minutes, the voices that scream, over and over again: "Why do they come to me to die?"

Quote Originally Posted by 4tothefloor View Post
    Wouldn't surprise me one bit that they're only allowing L37 play there so they can get the ground developed to a decent standard......I like Jackman alot but I've no confidence in the LDMC.
    Wouldn't happen

The FAI would eat them alive

It's the Junior geniuses after getting the $hitty end of this stick. They just don't realise it (Quelle Suprise)

If moving (again!!!) is being seriously discussed I believe the viability, pros and cons of moving to Thomond Park should be on the table as well.
    Not unless they move Thomond Park to the Southside

Quote Originally Posted by Lionel Ritchie View Post
    The suburbs are no good for Limerick football. We need to stay in the city

Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst ... 234