Thread: Gary Kelly on 100 Grand a Week Shocker!

131 Posts

Gary Kelly on 100 Grand a Week Shocker!

Leeds chief hits out at Kelly terms

May 8, 2007

Leeds United chairman Ken Bates has hit out at former Ireland international Gary Kelly for refusing to accept a wage cut at the start of the season.

Leeds’s relegation from the Coca-Cola Championship last week marked the end of Kelly’s 16-year stay at Elland Road.

The Drogheda native had been out of the team since last November, first through injury and then a personality clash with manager Dennis Wise.

And Bates admits the Irishman’s contract was a major millstone around the club’s neck over the past nine months.

He said: “At the start of the season we asked Gary Kelly if he would reduce his wages after five years here on £5m a year.

“On top of all that he also got £4000 a game. His agent said he’d cut his appearance money to £2000 a game but wanted it all back if we were promoted. Thanks a bunch.”

Had Leeds got promoted to the Premiership, when they were stuffed in the Play-Off Final by Watford , no-one would have raised the issue.

It's not his fault ( alone ) that they have fallen so far........perhaps the more culpable "Millstones", namely Bates and Wise, should share the responsibility!!

51 Posts
    He signed a contract the club offered. He should not be criticized for honouring the contract.
    "Jacques Santini...will be greeted in every dugout of the country by "one-nil, one-nil" - Clive Tyldsley, 89th minute of France-England June 13, 2004.
    "Ooooohhhh Nooooooo" Bobby Robson 91st minute.

Bates is a degenerate trying to get the leeds fans to blame Kelly for their finances this season. What a servant to the club. He had a contract so they should honour it.

In Drogheda last night and I passed the Gary Kelly Cancer Support Centre http://www.gkcancersupport.com/

Ask the people he swindled in the Irish Trust Bank fiasco how they feel about this charlatan. Described Matthew Harding as evil after he died. Scumbag.

131 Posts
    Bates is a wa*ker. Of that there can be no doubt. I'm just amazed Gary Kelly could get himself a contract worth anywhere near 100K a week, his agent must be a legend though this could be a severe exagerration from the aformentioned wa*ker.
    Last edited by youngirish; 09/05/2007 at 3:06 PM.

If Kelly moved Bates would've accused him of being unloyal

Nothing story created by a egomaniac charlatan

Bates is a terrible character but good for Leeds atm.
    Incidentally, Kelly was rumoured to be interested in leading some consortium there before Bates pulled a fast one with the whole administration fiasco.
    City definetly have the best bands playing at half-time.

O'Bama - "Eerah yeah, I'd say we can alright!"

G.O'Mahoney Trapattoni'll sort ém out!!

2,690 Posts
    No wonder they had a contract out to break his legs.

214 Posts
    100k a week?! Hahaha
    "If God had meant football to be played in the air, he'd have put grass in the sky." Brian Clough.

You'll NEVER beat the Irish.......you'll just draw with us instead!!!

60 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Stuttgart88 View Post
    No wonder they had a contract out to break his legs.
    Always look on the bright side of life

2,690 Posts
    tongue in cheek

114 Posts
    There was apparently a contract out to break his legs/shoot his knee caps. Not sure of the final outcome but someone on the board was implicated - the motivation entirely driven by his wage bill.

131 Posts
    tongue in cheek
    That was Neil Warnock. Maybe he has shares in Leeds Plc.

114 Posts
    tongue in cheek
    really ??

2,690 Posts
    Don't you remember the story that Leeds had hired a hitman to end his career to save his wage expenses?

114 Posts
    Yes sorry, I thought you meant your comment was tongue in cheek - and by that a coincidence. I don't think drummerboy was aware as opposed to questionning your wit. I was about to make the same comment as you!

26 Posts
    i think i read quotes from bates in the sunday independant that said hes on 48k with bonuses...a sizeable amount

well look lads kelly was given a contract and he honoured it but if he loves the club he should have taken a wage cut!!!!!!! he is a tosser for not doing it imo... would you lot pay an extra fiver into your teams home game if it was needed to save the club from administration or free up cash so the club cpuld survive for a bit longer.. if the fans would pay an extra fiver surely the millionaire players could take a% wage cut

1,912 Posts
    I wouldn't have considered that thought for a second. Gary Kelly had a decent stint in the national team. He did enough, just about, over the years to indemnify himself against any slur on his good name. The Gordon Gecko slogan rings true in this instance. The fans don't own that club, they have little more than serf consumer status.

From what i heard he was on £50000 grand a week and had already taken a pay cut from leeds. The way they treated him was disgraceful but I would not expect anything else from Leeds