Thread: Gary Kelly on 100 Grand a Week Shocker!

Easy for us to say take a paycut. If I felt I earned the contract I'd say **** Leeds pay me
    "No regrets, none at all. My only regret is that we went out on penalties. That's my only regret. But no, no regrets." -Mick McCarthy

72 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Stuttgart88 View Post
    Don't you remember the story that Leeds had hired a hitman to end his career to save his wage expenses?
    Strange but supposedly true

http://www.sundaymirror.co.uk/tm_obj...name_page.html

Wise is such a decent charactor with his conviction for violence against a 60-year-old taxi driver, the fracturing of Leicester teammate Callum Davidson’s jaw, while the latter slept, and his suing of the cash-strapped Foxes for their temerity in sacking him for that assault). And lets not forget about the great chairman Ken Bates for putting the club into administration to save his business 30 million.

How dare Kelly have the cheek to collect his wages, after all, he only gave 16 years loyal service to the club !!

38 Posts
    It could be argued that once you have picked up your first few million quid if you really loved the club you could take a pay cut without having to worry about your future. I've heard good and bad things about G. Kelly but it's hard to separate the truth from the lies in such a scenario, however it was through a mistake from above that he was given such a high-earning contract. It wasn't his fault that they phucked up and got relegated. He always performed well and made himself available. As far as I can see he is an easy target because he was/is still at the club. If the reports are true Leeds were shelling out far more money on paying ex-players than they were on his wage and I'm sure they didn't ask him in the most polite way to reduce his wages. They wasted many millions on poor transfers and insane contracts and he is supposed to be the one who has to pay for it? In that situation I would tell them to go phuck themselves too.

isn't he retiring now anyway? so whats the point of giving out now?
    "A silent mouth is sweet to hear"

This contract is a reflection on the insanity within Leeds during Risdale's reign. Risdale has been dumping on O'Leary again recently, I don't think the insane 5M a year for modest Gary can be dumped on O'Leary. Risdale and the board are completely responsible for Leed's demise. Complete insanity, he was never worth even half of what he was getting and he s*cked for the last few seasons as well.

"At the start of the season we asked Gary Kelly if he would reduce his wages after five years here on £2m a year," rued Bates.

"On top of all that he also got £4,000 a game.

"His agent said he’d cut his appearance money to £2,000 a game but wanted it all back if we were promoted. Thanks a bunch."
    http://home.skysports.com/list.aspx?...ank+assessment

1,928 Posts
    Could it be that some nefarious characters are spiking John O'Shea's cuppa with prozac?

38 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by geysir View Post
    Could it be that some nefarious characters are spiking John O'Shea's cuppa with prozac?
    Barbiturates would be my guess.

Quote Originally Posted by Irish_Praha View Post
    Barbiturates would be my guess.
    Sure they were giving Van Nistelrooy ketamine for years

Was just going to say that £5m was a misprint but I see eirebhoy has posted the link. Still, for Gary Kelly to be on a basic £40k p/w shows how silly it all got at Leeds.
    Top Breeders recommend drinkfeckarse....

253 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Qwerty View Post
    This contract is a reflection on the insanity within Leeds during Risdale's reign. Risdale has been dumping on O'Leary again recently, I don't think the insane 5M a year for modest Gary can be dumped on O'Leary. Risdale and the board are completely responsible for Leed's demise. Complete insanity, he was never worth even half of what he was getting and he s*cked for the last few seasons as well.
    In fairness, he was a quality right back, and made the Championship team of the season last year IIRC...

I lost a lot of respect for Uncle Gary after the lazy, couldn't be arsed, I'm not up to it tackle that got him sent off in the crucial WC qualifier against Holland. Conversely, I'll never forget Harte coming to the sideline to take a throw in the same match and exhorting all us fans to start making noise (we already were). It was a nice gesture.