there was more than 20. end of. the entire forecourt was full.
then they shouldnt have made such a big deal about the actions of one individual 2 weeks before..... you couldn;t have scripted this better. we hold the clubs responsible in all cases for the actions of fans in or near the stadia or we dont. not some clubs some of the time
Last edited by OhNoYouDidn't; 09/05/2007 at 7:48 PM.
well i can tell ya we dont have ANY scumbag element in our club.... dont know why...maybe cause in galway going to a match on a friday night is deemed as a ''waste'' by the types who would do cause trouble!!.... our bad element consists of a couple of young fellas who sing along the songs and go str8 home as its nearly 10pm( all innocent boys)
There's the right way, the wrong way.... and the Max Power way!! :-D
you are beginning to embarress yourself with the comparisons to the simon webb incident .TOTALY DIFFERENT SITUATION . The high moral stance of some of the rovers fans on here is hilarious .Look in the fcukin mirror for gods sake
and before i forget , drogheda skins my arse .
Last edited by ndrog; 09/05/2007 at 9:27 PM.
Correct.The same group threw stones at the Sligo Supporters Bus this year aswell.
As i stated here before every Club has an element-including us.
This is a stupid thread.It's been Rovers one week,Bohs another...i remember after we played Sligo in the league 2 years ago Sligo fans giving out about our fans.
Who will it be next week?
www.galwayunitedfc.net -----New GUFC fans forum and Gust Website.
Europe's Big Club.
"Cause Galway are MASSIVE"-RW Rover on 24/8/07 00:29am
The general tone of this thread is pathetic. The Shamrock Rovers team bus was smashed, the bus driver was in shock and understandably refused to drive. Despite this precedent Drogheda United didn't give a toss (after being so sanctimonious following one Rovers' fan giving Simon Webb personal verbal abuse) and all people can do is throw more stones. No wonder Joe Soap doesn't care about the LoI. It's like a bunch of animated monkeys fighting over a shattered bone.
no but funnily enough one or two lads on our forum will state ''every club including ours has schooligans'' ours are lil well dressed rich boys as i said in galway anyway going to a game on friday night is a ''waste'' those type are off drinking somewhere...... the most the young fellas in terryland will do is shout abuse!!... even dodge(was it?) said galway was the only place he didnt see anything!!
conor our crowd are nowhere near on the par of this..... as i said you will get the odd bit and piece with a big crowd everywhere else but you wouldnt get anything outside dublin/louth like what does be posted here..... ok so 2-3 young fellas threw one or two rocks at the sligo fans bus..... but that was a once off and didnt involve anymore then 2/3/4 lil ****s(if im not mistaken i think i know who they we'r and they havent been back either)
Galway is a pleasure to visit in my experience as a Shamrock Rovers fan. The vast majority of locals are spot-on and we had great craic mixing last season and long may that continue. I can't think of another group outside of Finn Harps (the best fans by a long stretch) who made our lot as welcome. We encountered slight verbals outside Terryland on our second visit last season but we knew that the true Galway fans welcomed us and just treated it as a few uneducated locals hanging tough.
Respect to the Tribesmen.
I said this with kdjac's thread the week before last.
I don't think the issue is as much the fans for Rovers. So much of this thread is irrelevant, sanctimonious sh!te from all sides which really eludes the point of Rovers' ire, imo.
The extent of the official Drogheda reaction [or lack thereof] is what really annoys me. Above and before all else, that is not acceptable, imo.
Last edited by dfx-; 10/05/2007 at 1:50 AM.
The Model Club
Tell all the Bohs you know
that we've gone and won two-in-a-row
and it's not gonna be three
and it's not gonna be four
it's more likely to be 5-1.
If by the management of dufc you mean Paul Doolin ? what do you expect " him " to do .Read my last post i am condeming what happened because i am embarresed and disguisted with it .The board issued a statement on the website , what more do you want .Most of the rovers fans on here are now using this as an oppourtunity to get up on the moral highground for once in your lives .Can you please show me offical condemnation from your club for every incident involving rovers support from the last 5 years please .Dont think so .I also would have thought youd know better than to come out with classics like " Drogheda are scum and i hope they go bust " lines .This is the kind of thing said about you for years![]()
Billy I said previously that Garda incompetence played a large role in this and most other trouble outside EL grounds.
You and the other Rovers fans also tend to blame the guards when the trouble comes from the Rovers side.
Without changing the moral fabric of the whole country, there will always be a minority of scumbags looking for trouble, whether loosely associated with football or not.
What do you want people to do?
I don't really see the value in Drogheda making an apology, its actions that are needed to stop this kind of thing, and its action by the Gardai as its clearly a public order issue.
I may be wrong but you've stated elsewhere that you like your football "with an edge to it". When football has an edge to it, it invariably spills over into incidences like this, from time to time.
You can't have your cake and eat it.