Page 2 of 6 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast

Thread: Colin Doyle

3,286 Posts
    He started Birmingham's first season in the Premier League as first choice - http://irish-abroad.appspot.com/Play...6&seasonID=137 - but let in 5 goals in his first 3 games, got rested in favour of Taylor and never really recovered

60 Posts
    Glad to see he kept a clean sheet yesterday. Didn't see the game but I'm glad at least he is getting a bit of game time.
    Always look on the bright side of life

130 Posts
    25 years of age, not likely to get ahead of Foster. Probably needs a move.

549 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by elroy View Post
    25 years of age, not likely to get ahead of Foster. Probably needs a move.
    He needs the responsibility of first team football at 25 years of age. Even for a goalkeeper.

Irish patriot Steven Carr has just done his mate a favour and taken out Ben Foster. Two goals down already so it might be a long afternoon for Doyle.

386 Posts
    Great op for Doyler if Fosters injury is serious. Hopefully he'll hold his nerve. Come on Doyler!!

The last of the 3 goals he let in was very poor, looked like an OG, he blocked with his left and knocked it in with his right. Based on that performance he isn't an option for Ireland.

386 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Qwerty View Post
    The last of the 3 goals he let in was very poor, looked like an OG, he blocked with his left and knocked it in with his right. Based on that performance he isn't an option for Ireland.
    Would not agree with that. The last goal took a wicked deflection off the defender (need the behind goal angle and possible slow mo to see it) which change the direction of the goal to Doyle's left. It looks terrible in real time when you don't see the deflection. You can't say he isn't an option for Ireland based on his first appearance in the Premier League this season, especially in the circumstance of Liverpool running rampant and already 2-0 ahead when he is introduced. Look at Foster's mistake for Liverpool's first. Let us not not be too hasty to judge until he gets a proper run of games (I don't think this will be at Birmingham)

549 Posts
    A player would need a good run of games before jumping to conclusions.

He could do with a loan move to a club where he would get regular football.

If a player is the regular sub goalie then its a question as to whether the host club is willing to loan the player.

2,611 Posts
    i just saw the highlights of the game and i thought the mistake for the 4th goal was similar to Fosters mistake for the first. Doyle also made a bad blunder for the last. Deflection or no, he didnt get enough on it. But Birminghams defending was atrocious throughout. Hopefully he can get a decent run and establish himself though.

130 Posts
    Was BHams first choice when they got promoted a few years back after having a very good season for them the year before. So there is no doubt the lad has potential.

386 Posts
    Foster is suffering from a dead leg so the chances are that he will be back in time for Sunday's clash with Wolves

Dead legs can be tricky. John O'Shea's kept him out for about 5 months. Not that I would wish that on poor Ben

1,813 Posts
    Didn't Josh have some sort of clotting problem. Maybe Foster does too?

2,679 Posts
    Was Foster in goals for the first one? I had the sound down and thought it was a poor error my Doyle but would be glad if it was Foster? I thought the 5th goal was an error.

Foster was in goal for the first two and was taken off just before half time.

357 Posts
    I would hate to be Doyle turning up for training after this. Comments like 'under the wife's thumb' might well be used or in the players' minds!

http://www.setanta.com/ie/Articles/2...--/gnid-94940/

International Prospect passinginterest's Avatar
    423 Posts
    That'll teach him to pee off the missus. Ouch.

Tallaght Stadium Regular

Someone needs to send herself and Claudine to "marrying a footballer" school
    These women are married to footballers, i am sure in most cases, especially Robbies, they wouldnt touch their now husbands with a 40 foot pole if they werent footballers.
    So when the lads behave like...........footballers........these women need to STFU and get over it. You married a footballer, so you would be rich and a D List Celeb. These are the trappings. Deal with it, or F**k off and marry a Rugby player who will bring you to meet the bloody Queen!

21. Thanks From:

82 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by an_ceannaire View Post
    Someone needs to send herself and Claudine to "marrying a footballer" school!
    Agreed!!
    I pity the fool!.... But suggest ways that he might improve himself.

www.thefastleague.com

Page 2 of 6 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast