Thread: vs Cobh this Friday

big big big test for limerick tonight.cobh will have improved hugely from the first game.id like to see conor molan back in the centre of midfield for the game just for his attitude alone.if ski changes things limerick could nick it if the middle of the park stays the same im guessing an away win

Come on the mighty rams! See ye all later lads!
    COBH RAMBLERS FIRST DIV CHAMPS 2007

http://irish-abroad.appspot.com/GameDayDetails fantastic website by tetsujin1979

Scoreless. Poor game. We'd nothing in the final third. Good atmosphere though.

Quote Originally Posted by sadloserkid View Post
    Scoreless. Poor game. We'd nothing in the final third. Good atmosphere though.

Good atmosphere? Did you notice how many youngsters were in the ground or lack of them? I know parents who won't bring their kids to the game to listen to the sh1te that was being sung at the game last night. Good atmosphere my ar$e, a bunch of morons trying to outdo each other with their childish rants.

Quote Originally Posted by Bonovox View Post
    Good atmosphere? Did you notice how many youngsters were in the ground or lack of them? I know parents who won't bring their kids to the game to listen to the sh1te that was being sung at the game last night. Good atmosphere my ar$e, a bunch of morons trying to outdo each other with their childish rants.
    Your first football match then?
    Your Chairperson,
    Gavin
    Membership Advisory Board
    "Ex Bardus , Vicis"

What did you want? polite clapping at the correct time? did you sing or attempt to sing something of a more mature nature yourself?

Yeah when you actually start chanting along to any of our songs (what's wrong with 'Super Blues'?) then you can have a say, until then **** off back to rugby

As for the game itself I thought both teams were pretty poor. Cobh had a good ten minute spell when they looked like they were going to go on and win the game, other than that though neither of us created anything. On the evidence provided I reckon Dundalk should start booking hostels for their trip to Derry next year (provided Derry don't get relegated that is )

I think the singing adds to the atmosphere of the game and fairplay to the lads who are doing the singing,but it would have been better to sing in support of the team in the last 15mins,instead of giving Jamie Nolan stick,when they looked like they might nick a goal. Nolan is a nobody and doesnt deserve the amount of attention he gets.
    EVERYTHING is black and white

Thats just textbook................

The scoreless draw was predicatble I thought, two very good sides defensively.
    I expected Cobh to be more of a threat than they turned out to be. That said, I thought we played better than we have done recently, we bossed the first half. Cobh came out strong after the break. There was a long spell in the second half when both sides seemed to lose interest, it went very dead, but we finished up stronger again and could have nicked a win. The draw was a fair result though.
    Dundalk drew as well so we havent lost any ground on the top two.
    I was glad to see Dave Ryan back, he did brilliant to prevent Cobh from scoring after that messed up back-pass late on. Have to say though Healy was man-of-match for me last week, pulled off some suuuuuuuper saves when Mons had a good spell near the end.
    LTID

Quote Originally Posted by jebus View Post
    Yeah when you actually start chanting along to any of our songs (what's wrong with 'Super Blues'?) then you can have a say, until then **** off back to rugby
    Nothing wrong with "Super Blues" but a lot wrong with the racial abuse of players such as "inbreds", "pavies", the mention of mothers and fathers of players. So you are condoning it then? I can guarantee you I have been involved in football a lot longer than you little man and even though I would support Limerick in any sport, soccer is number 1. Now, can you answer my question?????????

Do you understand the idea of "race"? Seriously, if you're old enough to know better, don't embarrass yourself, swearing and taunting are part of football and sport throughout the world. Even in a sterile sports environment such as baseball there are taunts.
    Your Chairperson,
    Gavin
    "Ex Bardus , Vicis"

I am open to correction on this but i didnt hear any mention of members of our beloved traveller community in song and the only mention of players parents was Mr Nolans, and the 'fact' that they hate him (dont acually know if this is true or not) so where is this racial abuse you have mentioned? this is a serious alligation which everyone in the club would take seriously if true, but it seems for now your the only one who has any knowledge of it.
    Last edited by Monkfish; 13/05/2007 at 2:09 PM.

Ya right mate go back to Thomond Park, this is football we are talking about, if a bit of good humoured banter upsets you god help us ! Just wait till we get rovers in the cup .

1,025 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by fc hammer View Post
    if a bit of good humoured banter upsets you god help us !

To be fair, it is easy to say it's good-humoured banter when you're giving it.

Wonder if Jamie would agree with that definition of what it was. Based on what I remember on this forum regarding Jamie during his Limerick days, it wouldn't surprise me if it was far from good-humoured.

the racial abuse of players
    A WUM surely? Or Jamie Nolan himself?

Quote Originally Posted by osarusan View Post
    To be fair, it is easy to say it's good-humoured banter when you're giving it.

Wonder if Jamie would agree with that definition of what it was. Based on what I remember on this forum regarding Jamie during his Limerick days, it wouldn't surprise me if it was far from good-humoured.
    Do you call spitting towards your own fans, giving them the finger, and doing it again on Friday to a couple of kids, ranting at Slk back in March and throwing your jersey to the ground good-humoured? we dont, thats why he got the bit of VERBAL abuse that he did, we didnt throw a pigs head, batter him with coins, or sing about a dead relative. Cobh havent even brought it up on their own forum (yet) Its not even worth talking about anymore, besides we have Athlone next week and a certain poser is still getting his game up there!!!!

1,025 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Monkfish View Post
    Do you call spitting towards your own fans, giving them the finger, and doing it again on Friday to a couple of kids, ranting at Slk back in March and throwing your jersey to the ground good-humoured? we dont, thats why he got the bit of VERBAL abuse that he did, we didnt throw a pigs head, batter him with coins, or sing about a dead relative. Cobh havent even brought it up on their own forum (yet) Its not even worth talking about anymore, besides we have Athlone next week and a certain poser is still getting his game up there!!!!
    Try to read the post more carefully next time.

It was fchammer in post 36 who said that what had been said to Jamie was "good-humoured" banter. I said, in post 37, that I wondered how good-humoured it had been (if at all). You, in your post above (bold highlighted by me) have hinted that I may have been correct.

Nowhere did I say anything about Jamie's behaviour, nor say any of the above was good-humoured. I didnt even mention it.
    Last edited by osarusan; 13/05/2007 at 5:25 PM.

You know some easily offended parents with sheltered little kiddies, well done.

Heard one brief Anti-Semetic chant that towed the lines of good taste a small bit

Apart from that nothing I would disagree with or anyone else who has been going to games for any length of time would disagree with either.

Your first football match then?
    Nah Gavin, I think you'll find the parks on a Sunday morning is more his thing

Nolan is a nobody and doesnt deserve the amount of attention he gets.
    An excellent point and now that we have given the ape our opinions in two games this season a banner might be more appropriate from now on to remind him of his deficiencies as a human

Nothing wrong with "Super Blues"
    Good, we have your permission so...............

but a lot wrong with the racial abuse of players such as "inbreds", "pavies"
    You Sir are an idiot

the mention of mothers and fathers of players.
    All fair game given the history

So you are condoning it then?
    Why Yes, Yes I am

I can guarantee you I have been involved in football a lot longer than you little man
    A round of Applause for the big man..................

Of course it wasn't good humoured and frankly myself or any other Limerick fans on here of any length of service couldn't give a toss what ape boy thinks of it.

Even after all that went before, ape boy still couldn't resist having a pop at a couple of kids on his way off again

Like Bono in the real world, Bonovox on this forum seems to have taken up getting upset on other peoples behalfs while talking out through his hole

hehe nice, ciritical AND gets a dig in at bono.

*writes down for use later*
    Your Chairperson,
    Gavin
    "Ex Bardus , Vicis"