Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Thread: Champions League final

International Prospect passinginterest's Avatar
    435 Posts
    Anyone else think Liverpool will start 4-5-1 with surprise starts for Garcia and Kewell? No surprise with back four Finnan and Riise. Gerrard, Alonso and Mascherano in the middle with the boyos on the wings. Kuyt up front on his own.

Liverpool to nick it 2-1.
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
    Tallaght Stadium Regular

Kewell just getting fit in time for Champions League final?
    What a leech?
    I'd say he'll have gerrard behind one striker, probably Kuyt.
    City definetly have the best bands playing at half-time.

O'Bama - "Eerah yeah, I'd say we can alright!"

G.O'Mahoney Trapattoni'll sort ém out!!

Quote Originally Posted by Donegalcelt View Post
    747 ballsed mine up too. I rang them during the day after hearing the Abbey mess and they said it was ok. Then they called at 6:30 on Monday to say since the only tickets they had were for the Milan end they decided not to send the flight as the Greek authorities are not going to allow it.
    It's nuts. On Joe Duffy, the Abbey people were going ape****. Rightly so. If you pay over 500 euro for a ticket you should still get it if the flight is not going. After all, it has to be physically taken from Dublin to London and given to other people even though you have technichally paid for it and they haven't
    People who buy off touts should expect the worst

25 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by passinginterest View Post
    Anyone else think Liverpool will start 4-5-1 with surprise starts for Garcia and Kewell? No surprise with back four Finnan and Riise. Gerrard, Alonso and Mascherano in the middle with the boyos on the wings. Kuyt up front on his own.

Liverpool to nick it 2-1.
    4-5-1 very possible, Garcia, no chance, Kewell starting would depend on whether Zenden is fit.

Think Liverpool will win 2-1 AET,Milan have played their best game of the competition against Man Utd and I think Benitez will know how to beat them on that performance.
    MOT

The problem with teams like Man UTd and Milan is they play football and they both showed their hand too early. Teams like Chelsea and Liverpool do not have a hand they just stop teams rather than beat teams. That is why Liverpool have come no where near winning the league this year as they struggle to beat lesser teams but like to stifle good teams. Expect a tight match and I think 10/1 for LIverpool to win on penalties could be a good bet. Liverpool to win 2 European Cups in 2 years but playing anti football.
    In Trap we trust

1,025 Posts
    is it just me who thinks the match has been muck so far? Milan losing the ball all over the place, Liverpool just pressuring everything...........not great stuff......

Quote Originally Posted by osarusan View Post
    is it just me who thinks the match has been muck so far? Milan losing the ball all over the place, Liverpool just pressuring everything...........not great stuff......
    Yes.

Just like the FA cup final, rubbish!

1,025 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Cymro View Post
    Yes.
    Yes, it is just me?

1,025 Posts
    this is a brutal game. Liverpool have no guile, and Milan are just toothless.

1,025 Posts
    milan win 2-1. at least there were 2 minutes of excitement there at the end.

(sorry for the multiple posts......its just i got at up at 3.45 Japanese time to watch this......need to justify getting up in somw way)

Yes, it is just me?
    No, more like I didn't read the post thoroughly enough

milan win 2-1. at least there were 2 minutes of excitement there at the end.

(sorry for the multiple posts......its just i got at up at 3.45 Japanese time to watch this......need to justify getting up in somw way)
    jez i knew ye were a bit differant down below in limerick...but didnt think ye were that differant!!
    There's the right way, the wrong way.... and the Max Power way!! :-D

Not really an exciting game, Benitez did a great tactic job but then you can't play a final without a true forward. Milan were quite disappointing in the first half, completely unable to play their own football. A different story in the second half and with a little effort Milan deserved the win. I can't believe Maldini was there when Milan won the cup in the late eighties.
    Man of the match: Gattuso but Nesta and Gerrard were good too. A special mention for Inzaghi, not impressive, probably not a champion but I wonder how many players score over 40 goals in champions league.

Good game of football. Nice contrast in style. Liverpool more attacking without creating much chances. Milans elegance & style won through in the end. Inzaghi takes a lot of unwarranted stick from the UK & Irish media so good to see him with it with great finish.

38 Posts
    He takes stick because he can't play football, but he openly acknowledges that himself. I think playing him up-front on his own is a crazy tactic given his general ineptitude in open play, but he's there to score goals.
    A leading authority on League of Ireland football since 2003. You're probably wrong.

Yep, Inzaghi v. Kuyt in the furthest upfront role. I know who I'd rather have upfront.

Fair play to Milan, that was pretty much the difference.
    The Model Club

Tell all the Bohs you know
    that we've gone and won two-in-a-row
    and it's not gonna be three
    and it's not gonna be four
    it's more likely to be 5-1.

Kaka's 'wife beater' at the end was amusing.

Is JESUS the same agency that Tevez and Mascherano belong/belonged to?

Typical 'British' attitudes towards Inzaghi. Having seen him play (as opposed to watching him on TV with a biased Brit commentary) it is obvious he is a superb sniffer; hanging off the last defender, using the width of the pitch to draw defenders, moving inside to cause confusion, totally focused and being instinctively in the right place to take advantage when the ball breaks loose. He was superb against Liverpool, using his body and positioning to create one goal, and being a craftsman striker to score the second, decisive goal.
    Milan were nervous and careless but still tried to play football while Liverpool were merely hard-working and clueless. Steven Gerrard - I rest my case; the dipper was a waste of space. Italy are now World champions and Champions League winners yet the pub-loving Paddies still swear allegiance to the Premiership because it's all they see when they go to the boozer. Forza Italia! Inglese Merda! Gli Irlandesi sono ignari!

I think he's a great asset but in fairness Billy, he didn't know much about the first goal.
    City definetly have the best bands playing at half-time.

O'Bama - "Eerah yeah, I'd say we can alright!"

G.O'Mahoney Trapattoni'll sort ém out!!

Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast