Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Thread: FourFourTwo

Well done to all concerned with getting us into 4-4-2 first and foremost, good PR coup for the club.

As for the split scarves idea, well I wouldn't buy one, but I think the idea could be useful in getting (say) Limerick based Man Utd fans to take an interest in the club. We can tell them United first, Limerick second to get them through the gates, give them time and naturally they will start supporting Limerick 37 as their first club, its what happened to me anyway

What a stoopid comment

Also before you come on here giving out to the Anglophiles (I happen to agree with you btw) you might want to look at the apes aping casual culture at your own club
    What has casual culture got to do with this discussion FFS?

Quote Originally Posted by BohsFans View Post
    L37 advocating that they should be your second team behind ___<insert Brit team here>. That's embarrassing!

I reckon I have better grasp of common sense than most around Limerick who just switch teams at the drop of a hat.

I know a LFC fan who's now actually started supporting Bohs.
    I don't get your logic. That's of course assuming tehre is logic there.

You are criticsing supporters of eL clubs for supporting the only eL club in their city. Are you suggesting that when Limerick United was formed none of the existing fans should have supported them, and when Limerick City took over none of the United fans should have supported them? When City folded none of the fans should have supported Limerick FC and when FC folded none should support L37? Do you realise how many fans L37 would have following this logic?

We don't drop clubs at the drop of a hat - we support our eL team. The names must change because it isn't hats that drop its the clubs themselves.

Oldkeeper - i wasn't addressing my comment at you but the smug Bohs fan who thinks he knows enough to comment but just really is displaying his ignorance.

LTID - I don't see this as embarrassing at all. How many supporters of British clubs are there in Limerick. Many of them spend a lot of money going to the UK every week to support 'their' team. If a fraction of them purchased two-sided scarves to wear on their travels (many probably wouldn't even go to the Jacks - they'd use them to look good in OT or Anfield or the Emirates) we'd make a lot of money. If we sold 500 of them say, at €12 a pop - that's €6,000. At a 50% mark-up thats €2,000. I cannot see how you can argue with that. And why try to annoy barstoolers into the ground when you can just flog them a few scarves and get their money. QED.
    "It's impossible to make a man understand something when his livelihood depends on him not understanding" Upton Sinclair

Quote Originally Posted by LFC in Exile View Post
    If we sold 500 of them say, at €12 a pop - that's €6,000. At a 50% mark-up thats €2,000. I cannot see how you can argue with that.
    I can.....

Quote Originally Posted by joeSoap View Post
    I can.....
    No you can't.....

I can....I reckon they should be sold for €15.....

What has casual culture got to do with this discussion FFS?
    "Culture"

What does this:

At least I stick by my club!

How many different LOI clubs have you supported? You must be on at least your second?
    Have to do with this discussion??

Roll your eyes all you want, you still look thick.

All the purists out there with the cheap digs at L37 can you explain:

A. The exact circumstances behind the demise of LFC

B. What you would have done different

Otherwise I suggest shutting your mouth would be the thing to do

"Culture"
    If you want to get involved in semantics, that was lifted from Lim till i die!

Quote Originally Posted by LFC in Exile View Post
    You are criticsing supporters of eL clubs for supporting the only eL club in their city. Are you suggesting that when Limerick United was formed none of the existing fans should have supported them, and when Limerick City took over none of the United fans should have supported them? When City folded none of the fans should have supported Limerick FC and when FC folded none should support L37? Do you realise how many fans L37 would have following this logic?
    How can you support any other team full stop?

All the purists out there with the cheap digs at L37 can you explain:

A. The exact circumstances behind the demise of LFC

B. What you would have done different

Otherwise I suggest shutting your mouth would be the thing to do
    are you suggusting that LFC fans simply did not have the brain power or the cop on to know what to do?

How can you support any other team full stop?
    Jesus Christ poindexter, what In Exile is getting at is that we have been supporting the only senior football team in Limerick. It can come under different names, it can be under new owners, but the fans remain the same. Limerick 37 is what took the place of Limerick FC in the Eircom League, Limerick FC having died a death due to its owner, a lot of players from LFC came over to L37, due to wanting to remain in senior football, as well as remaining in Limerick. The fans came over because this (L37) is now our senior club, similar players to what we have had, similar fans what we have had, and a similiar ground to what we used to have. Are you seriously saying that the fact that we now have a better background set-up should drive us away from the club?

I'll put it to you in Dublin terms. Had the Rovers fan trust not been able to acquire the name, Shamrock Rovers FC, when they bought the club, and instead had had to call themselves (say) Rovers 1901, do you not think that they should still reference Shamrock Rovers historically? Or due you think that they should have not bothered trying to change things for the better and instead let that shower that was running their club run it straight into the ground?

You see for us its supporting the same club, no matter what guise it comes in

The only possible way for people from Limerick not to support L37 would be if another club was set up in the city and got entry to the EL.

What fun that would be........

Quote Originally Posted by joeSoap View Post
    The only possible way for people from Limerick not to support L37 would be if another club was set up in the city and got entry to the EL.

What fun that would be........
    That wa sthe worry when Danny was threatening to take the EL to court to allow LFC into the league as well as L37, imagine if LFC were in place instead of Wexford Youths? We could have had Monkfish's Israeli flag flying over Jackman and LtiD's Palestine flag over Hogan Park. It would have been war I tell you!

question....

4-4-2 the magazine or the fanzine?
    you gowl!

Quote Originally Posted by jebus View Post
    That wa sthe worry when Danny was threatening to take the EL to court to allow LFC into the league as well as L37, imagine if LFC were in place instead of Wexford Youths? We could have had Monkfish's Israeli flag flying over Jackman and LtiD's Palestine flag over Hogan Park. It would have been war I tell you!
    His southside smackheads would be no match for the NSV (North-side violence) so am i getting my L37/Lazio scarf or what? il also take one's with Real Madrid, Espanyol, Inter Milan and Cardiff City please!

Quote Originally Posted by declan hide View Post
    question....

4-4-2 the magazine or the fanzine?
    The Mag.

We all know it's not so strange for Irish soccer fans to follow a UK team too.

It even happens in the UK. I knew someone from Wrexham who also supported Everton.

It made sense to me!

If you want to get involved in semantics, that was lifted from Lim till i die!
    I know, wasn't meant as a dig at you, was just kind of laughing to myself at the thought of it

are you suggusting that LFC fans simply did not have the brain power or the cop on to know what to do?
    Looks like it's shut the mouth time seeing as how you could neither answer A or B

Quote Originally Posted by Monkfish View Post
    am i getting my L37/Lazio scarf or what? il also take one's with Real Madrid, Espanyol, Inter Milan and Cardiff City please!
    Hellas Verona, Chelsea, Rangers and HSV are all appalled at this snub

Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast