Thread: Dessie's not to happy with Mr Toolan

Dessie's not to happy with Mr Toolan

According to Dessie Cawley on OCEAN FM, his leaving the club has nothing to do with lack of money, but because he was mis-treated by Toolin. He went on to say his treatment was disgraceful........and there was a secret agenda !

He did however wish Paul & Gerry well for the future and thanked Leo.

Wonder will we ever hear what really went on.

I did hear that Gerry Carr's return had nothing to do with Paul Cook, but Toolin asked him to come back to the club, even before Cook was appointed......

I believe the word I am looking for is shambles.

21 Posts
    I think Cook said in a interview that he wanted to bring in his own assistant from England. Cawley was the under 21 manager, it looks like they will be suffering this season as well.

all i say is fair play to dessie for coming out and highlighting what toolan is really like. its about time someone stood up to that fella. toolan out i reckon.

Toolan out is what i have been saying all along! He seems to be making a shambles of our club.

Quote Originally Posted by Midgit View Post
    Toolan out is what i have been saying all along! He seems to be making a shambles of our club.
    again i'll say...lets not remember just the mistakes and cracks appearig...

And again i will say if we were a Properly run business he would have been gone long ago.

so what are you suggesting? full scale protests outside the SHowgies? "Sack the board" chants? Banners?

Huh.........you i didn't mean that! All that has to happen is that the rest of the board come to there senses and see we are going nowhere with this muppet running our club.

as far as im aware he was told by toolan that he was the next managers no.2. then all of a sudden he [toolan] changed his mind and wanted gerry carr. now if this is the truth toolan should have a look at himself in the mirror. what dessie and leo done was superb considerin the circumstances and i for one am extremely disappointed the duo have left. cheers lads

Quote Originally Posted by cc united View Post
    if this is the truth
    The most relevant point about an awful lot of the comments on here. We need to give Cooke a chance, and there's no point whatsoever in adding to the instability with protests. Lots of people were moaning when Carr wasn't involved.
    "Even if the wind stops to blow
    Even if the sea ceases to flow
    Even if the sun ceases to rise
    The name of Sligo Rovers will shine and shine forever like the morning star glittering in the sky."

I'm afraid that Toolan has drag this club so far backwards that its going to a miracle to even get back to point we were at last season.If this man stays we're he is,we will be looking at getting a new manager before end of the season and will be in the middle of the relegation fight(sorry,we already are).That man & his ego will ruin US!
    Till d End!

mr toolin

yes as one former player said hes on a ego trip
    he must go

This is the last straw, i was willing to give him the benefit of the doubt before but now he really must go.

Toolan out!!!!

Who replaces him? There was no other candidates for the postition. No point in saying sack the chiarman if there is nobody willing to take up the postition.
    Whats that comin' over the hill

It's the Monster,

The Cookie Monster!

in all fairness having gerry carr back is a good appointment. dessie cawley said a couple of years ago that he would not set foot in the showgrounds again when city united were not paid for stewarding our home games . he seems very mercenary and having spoken to a couple of the current players, they dont seem to have much belief in his coaching skills.
    the transfer window cannot come quick enough because at the back and midfield we seem to be ok but i wonder where our next goal is coming from.

i also wonder who appoints dublin refs to referee all our games . we have given away two very disputable penos to kick off our home games against derry and pats. a dublin ref again last night. is there no refs in the rest of the country. i could not see a manchester ref doing man united v chelsea or vice versa

am i being paranoid?

151 Posts
    Yes. If you think that wasn't a penalty against Pats you must be.