Thread: Your biggest hammering for a home game ?

Quote Originally Posted by WeAreRovers View Post
    I remember that but I also remember Rovers 1 - Harps 4 under that clown Collins.

or the match against Galway in 1994 in the RDS it was 5-2 or 5-3 to Galway cant remember the score exactly as im trying to erase that one from my brain. we still won the league that year though

Quote Originally Posted by BleusAvantTout View Post
    Oh wait a minute, you have to concede goals to be hammered!!!
    St. Pat's supporters take note: this means you may not nominate the merciless thrashing meted out by Bohs this season.

For me it was 2 home defeats by Dundalk in the 2005 season: 5-0 in May and then 7-1 in the Cup about 5 or 6 weeks later.
    First one was probably worse but it goes down in the record books as an away defeat as Dundalk were playing at CHP because they had dug up their pitch and were waiting for the plastic pitch. 5-0 not because they were that good (Dundalk fans will even agree - it was the Gannon era) but we were absolute muck. Even Shane Jackson scored and then at 0-2 Ciarán Quinn got sent off for a doing a Zidane on Jackson.
    The Cup game we were actually the better side in the first half and took the lead. They equalised before half-time then Jimmy Fullam and Graham Doyle got themselves sent-off and the world collapsed.
    Sums up the Mick Cooke era - indiscipline, red-cards, not competitive (cue smart remarks, but our record under Bobby Browne who preceded Cooke wasn't bad, he got us promoted and we played good football, not like the rubbish we have to watch now).

47 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Sonic View Post
    Lost 6-1 and 5-1 in two games arounf the same time to rovers a few years back as far as i can rememeber. One in the cup and league. Im sure we have been beaten by more back in the day but they stick out in my head!!
    Yup those two certainly standout

Bohs 4-6 Shels a few years back. I remember we were 3-0 down after about 10 minutes and I just wanted to go and get the next bus home, it was unreal. 4-2 down at half time. We got back to 4-4 in the 2nd half but they got 2 more in the end.

The 'what's it liek to lose 6-4' chant we sang to Rovers was short-lived

646 Posts
    Bit off topic but I was playing a top tier Mayo junior game recently in a local derby, only my third game playing centre back. We lost 14-0.

30 Posts
    I know Derry City beat youse 7-1 in the last game of the season (circa 1988). Johnny Speak needed 4 goals to finish top scorer, and he ended up scoring 6!!

Quote Originally Posted by red bellied View Post
    That was when McNally was there resigned shortly afterwards. Game was on Sunday afternoon due to work starting on the new stand at the time. Worst hammering I ever witnessed Rovers being involved in, home or away was in the Showgrounds. Dundalk were the opposition in a league game, ended up seven or eight one. Think it was around 1987, open to correction.

Quote Originally Posted by dcfc_1928 View Post
    I know Derry City beat youse 7-1 in the last game of the season (circa 1988). Johnny Speak needed 4 goals to finish top scorer, and he ended up scoring 6!!
    Wasnt at that game myself, away at the time. Remember a few friends saying they left at half time. Dundalk out done ye the season before by one though!

Nobody from Shams remember a particularly cold Sunday afternoon hiding you took a few years ago?
    I got no lips I got no bones where there
    were eyes there's only space

FORMERLY: City till I Die Aaron's Avatar
    74 Posts
    Bohs beat us 3-1 one year and i remember from start to finish Bohs just outclassed us. It was like Barca-Liverpool when barca kept the ball and Robbie Fowler asked for a lend of it. Bohs were brilliant. Stephen keny was in charge at the time.

As far as wins go it would have to be Shels last year when we beat the 2-0. We were superb

I remember one year we lost to Cork City and Kelvin Flanagan got a hattrick that was bad

22 Posts
    Umm Zimbru

kdjac

86 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by kdjaC View Post
    Umm Zimbru

kdjac
    10-0 to the................. !
    [/B][I]P.Esc.

Portadown 1-7 Glentoran 1981, was painful to watch but probably one of the best sides ever to grace the Irish League.

Reckon they could even have taken Cork City

Quote Originally Posted by AnnaghRed View Post
    Portadown 1-7 Glentoran 1981, was painful to watch but probably one of the best sides ever to grace the Irish League.

Reckon they could even have taken Cork City
    Well they could only beat ye by 6 goals away from home so I doubt it.

Ouch! Dont think we'd a makeshift defence that day though

Quote Originally Posted by AnnaghRed View Post
    Ouch! Dont think we'd a makeshift defence that day though
    But were Glentoran missing about 7 players players??

Billy Woods is a Portadown reject

Quote Originally Posted by Rogue Trader View Post
    Wrong wrong wrong passerby ! we hammered you lads 6-0 one st Stephen's day i think, it was christmas time anyway.
    And we beat you 7-1 in CHP few years back too!!

Sorry that wass meant for passerby not you rogue trader!!!

22 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Pablo Escobar View Post
    10-0 to the................. !

Never conceded 7 at home to Derry altho they whomped us 5-1 away before, turned out to the the best 5-1 defeat ever

kdjac