Quote Originally Posted by Block G Raptor View Post
    Why bring Apples to the orchard lads?
    not that I'd get away without the missus these days

I said that to someone there yesterday who said he might be doing the same....

Quote Originally Posted by Ruben Sosa View Post
    Monogamy aint some kinda wood you know..........
    Polygamy is not a tribe of dimunitive African's then again it could be if you're into that kind of thing

111 Posts

New York

Going for a week in October, any thoughts on New york?
    'Fascists dress in black and go round telling people what to do, where as priests.....'

See previous thread...

http://foot.ie/showthread.php?t=59857

why not merge them?!

pauro, when ye going? its going to be cold.....

111 Posts
    October, its more of a reunion of a few mates i used to work with in Scotland. Ended up being part of the plan, and good to get away for a long weekend/week depending on prices. No idea what the weather is like there October. I know theres extremes though.
    'Fascists dress in black and go round telling people what to do, where as priests.....'

111 Posts
    Definitely going first week in October. What's the deal on buying eletrical equipment and bringing it back, will there be a problem with customs? From reading this thread, the city sounds right up my street..

Quote Originally Posted by Pauro 76 View Post
    Definitely going first week in October. What's the deal on buying eletrical equipment and bringing it back, will there be a problem with customs? From reading this thread, the city sounds right up my street..
    150 euros worth i think.take all tags and receipt off and leave them their,go mad ,lots of the electrial goods are way cheaper than here.

82 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Pauro 76 View Post
    Aside from the customs (which isn't a huge issue unless you taking the p*ss majorly), be aware that the voltage requirements are different. It usually doesn't matter for portable electronics which have variable voltage power supplies (ipods, laptops, portable DVDs etc.) but anything larger you generally need a step up converter (110 to 240) which can be a fairly heavy duty piece of kit.

111 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by OneRedArmy View Post
    Aside from the customs (which isn't a huge issue unless you taking the p*ss majorly), be aware that the voltage requirements are different. It usually doesn't matter for portable electronics which have variable voltage power supplies (ipods, laptops, portable DVDs etc.) but anything larger you generally need a step up converter (110 to 240) which can be a fairly heavy duty piece of kit.
    That's ok, im thinking more digital camera, iPods rather than a feck off plasma tv!

214 Posts
    I'd like to see you try and smuggle through a plasma tv Pauro

Can ye recomend a hotel ive everything else sorted for the rest of my trip bar NY hotel they are expensive compared to the other cities some thing in the city centre would be nice found the Dylan near central station but its 600 euro for 2 nights

the Buckingham between 6 and 7 ave 57 st about a 5 min walk to time squre and central park about a min walk.

111 Posts
    A week to go until I get there. Can't wait. Any tips on bars to go, places to generally avoid, that kind of thing? the usual tourist things we'll be doing of course...

I drank a lot in the Lower East Side and if you like your music and good bars etc that is the place I enjoyed.

http://www.arlenesgrocery.net/main.html

Stanton Street,

Its on Stanton Street and to me this is the best area for good bars, not expensive and a good crowd which is relaxed but still good craic and not full of tourists.

Another bar there that is good, is the living room also.

http://www.livingroomny.com/
    In Trap we trust

Im just back and found the place a bit of a let down , spent a fortune and bought nothing !! people are not as rude as some make out but they are not as nice as say in orlando where i went after NY.

Id say its a great city if you have someone that knows where they are going and what pubs to hit. Worth seeing but i dont think ill be in any rush back at least not for a few years while i save up

Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast