Page 4 of 5 FirstFirst ... 2345 LastLast

Thread: U19 squad for Elite Qualifiers

131 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by eirebhoy View Post
    As for his quote. He's confident we can beat Hungary. Fair play to him.
    Yeah fair play to him but he should keep it quiet otherwise he only ends up looking like a plonker. He was confident we would beat Germany also.

Anyway, for Saturday's game I think Bayly will replace Judge and Ryan will move out to the right. Sheridan in for Stokes with Rooney playing a bit deeper. Let's hope Bulgaria are up for it against Germany.

Quote Originally Posted by Jerry The Saint View Post
    McCaffrey was furious - he said that the "coloured" guy on the German team said something about Shane Redmond's mother who had died 8 or 10 months ago (not sure if the implication was that the German knew this or if he just picked an unfortunate target), as well as spitting at Judge. Said that this wasn't the first incident involving Germany and he wasn't surprised

I thought the Germans were disgraceful. You only have to look at their history to see where they're coming from.

that is a disgusting comment. Did he really say that exactly like that? Do you have an internet source for this?

3,500 Posts
    I don't remember him describing the player as "coloured" in the interview on NewsTalk, and it's certainly something that would stick in the memory.
    Some of the comments are here: http://eleven-a-side.com/boysingreen...p?newsid=27731
    He said: “Their number 2 said something to [Ireland sub goalkeeper] Shane Redmond about his mother – Shane’s mother died of cancer about eight or ten months ago.
    “I thought they were disgraceful to be honest. I haven’t liked them all week, I didn’t like them in Portugal and I didn’t like being over there in the times we’ve visited.”
    and from http://www.independent.ie/sport/socc...sh-678249.html
    "We created stacks of chances, dominated the game and must have had 15 corners and 70 percent of the possession," said a disappointed McCaffrey. "We can still qualify but the likes of Bulgaria and Hungary tend to be frightened of the Germans. We weren't tonight but we still lost the game."
    You would have to imagine if he did say "coloured" or the comment about their history then it would get a mention.
    Last edited by tetsujin1979; 17/05/2007 at 7:19 PM.

Manager's Comments

He did indeed use the word coloured and refer to German history, disgraceful racist comments which prompted Claire Byrne on Newstalk Breakfast show (who played the clip) to comment "Did he just say what I thought he said".
    If this is not a resigning matter I don't know what is.
    PS how on earth would a German under 19 know of the family history of any of the Irish players?

Yeah I was listening to the repeat of the breakfast show last night. Disgraceful comments about Germany. "I've never liked them, their history speaks for itself". As for the German player he was referring to. He said "The coloured player, the number 2, said..."

I think some of you should chill out get off PC wagon. Sure, the comments were bad but so was insulting a players dead mother. Not much being said about that in here.

It was said in the heat of the moment and it's not worth dwelling on IMO.
    I think I should the parachute, because I'm great.

In fact, I think I should get both parachutes, in case one doesn't work.

PC? Unless I heard him wrong he said he hated Germany. What's that got to do with political correctness? An Ireland manager shouldn't be making comments like that.

2,796 Posts
    I interpreted hios comments at the time as referring to the German underage teams he's encountered, and his historyt with them. Not a sweeping generalisation of the country and its history.

As for their no. 2: did you see the size of him? He was like John Carew at right back.

Quote Originally Posted by Torn-Ado View Post
    I think some of you should chill out get off PC wagon. Sure, the comments were bad but so was insulting a players dead mother. Not much being said about that in here.

In all fairness, there is no way the Germany u19 right back knew that the Irish u19 player's mother died a few months ago. He obviously just made a general comment (as happens in every grade of football)

PC? Unless I heard him wrong he said he hated Germany. What's that got to do with political correctness? An Ireland manager shouldn't be making comments like that.
    He shouldn't have said it but the way your all jumping on his back and failing to condemn the German who actually insulted a players dead mother is unfair. Whether the German fella knew about his mother or not, it was out of order. I'd never insult someones family period.

McCaffrey was caught up in the heat of the moment and emotion expressed by Redmond and said what was on his mind. He shouldn't have but did. So we should let it go and stop calling for his head.

Quote Originally Posted by Dodge View Post
    In all fairness, there is no way the Germany u19 right back knew that the Irish u19 player's mother died a few months ago. He obviously just made a general comment (as happens in every grade of football)
    Personally, I'd never insult someones family at all. Its a sensitive topic and its a low blow. There is always a chance people can be hurt i.e deaths etc.

131 Posts

That sort of stuff goes on all the time on football pitches (and in life generally). I seriously doubt the German player knew the lads mother had died. The player should be mature enough to take it with a pinch of salt (and yeah my mother died when I was younger and I had similar slaggings by people who didn't know the circumstances, all you have to say is here bud me mother's dead and watch their expression change).

The manager slagging the nation though is not on. It also stinks of sour grapes. What if we'd won and the German manager said we were all a shower of drunken, stupid leprechauns? Even that wouldn't be as bad as what McCaffrey said. The Germans are extremely sensitive about the war. Have you never seen that Fawlty Towers episode?
    Last edited by youngirish; 18/05/2007 at 9:15 AM.

So we should let it go and stop calling for his head.
    I'm certainly not calling for his head.

Stutts is probably right and he was just talking about the German underage teams but the reaction of Claire Byrne and Ger Gilroy on Newstalk is an idea of how he came across.
    Last edited by eirebhoy; 18/05/2007 at 9:15 AM.

Listening to that, I personally think it was football he was on about.

Yeah same here.

Whether the German fella knew about his mother or not, it was out of order. I'd never insult someones family period.
    Personally, I'd never insult someones family at all. Its a sensitive topic and its a low blow. There is always a chance people can be hurt i.e deaths etc.
    I think you should chill out and get off the PC wagon.
    SIGNATURESCOPE

26 Posts
    i dont think his comments were outrageous at all. i've been to germany a number of times and there is no doubting their belief in their superiority above others. His comments are not about the war at all. He should not have said "coloured" in this age of political correctness but it aint that bad.

Quote Originally Posted by livehead1 View Post
    He should not have said "coloured" in this age of political correctness but it aint that bad.
    What should he have said? I'm not sure anymore on all this PC nonsense, I thought "Coloured" was acceptable

Page 4 of 5 FirstFirst ... 2345 LastLast