Page 75 of 76 FirstFirst ... 256573747576 LastLast
Results 1,481 to 1,500 of 1520

Thread: Damien Duff

505 Posts
    Yeah Cyprus have a lot of Russian money and are ahead of the likes of Sweden, Denmark, Turkey, and Poland. Definitely not the best comparison.

246 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by third policeman View Post
    That’s my concern, and frankly there are more people in Ireland interested in the international team than support the LOI.
    Granted, but don’t you think you may have stumbled across a large part of the problem there ? We all want our teams to do better in Europe ( no real evidence that this would result in bigger crowds for league games btw) but one of the keys to improvement is definitely more support. If people want to concentrate exclusively on the National team, all well and good, but it’s no use crying about how bad the league is in that case.
    Out for a spell, got neglected, lay on the bench unselected.

215 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by TonyD View Post
    Granted, but don’t you think you may have stumbled across a large part of the problem there ? We all want our teams to do better in Europe ( no real evidence that this would result in bigger crowds for league games btw) but one of the keys to improvement is definitely more support. If people want to concentrate exclusively on the National team, all well and good, but it’s no use crying about how bad the league is in that case.
    If LOI rounds were full every week what kind of improvement would we get? Marginal at best. We’d still be losing players to 3rd and 4th tier English clubs and smaller SPL clubs. There seems to a prevailing view that the LOI is about as good as it gets for this country. The level of interest in the sport and the size of our population mean it could be very different, but not without major structural change and infrastructure.

246 Posts
    If LOI rounds were full every week what kind of improvement would we get? Marginal at best. We’d still be losing players to 3rd and 4th tier English clubs and smaller SPL clubs. There seems to a prevailing view that the LOI is about as good as it gets for this country. The level of interest in the sport and the size of our population mean it could be very different, but not without major structural change and infrastructure.
    Well, if grounds were full regularly then infrastructure would surely improve. And I’d love to know what this structural change is that will magically transform the league. The only suggestion I’m seeing so far is to merge four of the best supported teams in the country into two, thereby wiping out a few thousand supporters who actually go to games. I actually think we need to expand the Premier Division. If teams like Waterford and Galway were regulars in the premier it would grow the interest in those towns.
    Out for a spell, got neglected, lay on the bench unselected.

626 Posts
    I've noted elsewhere on this forum that 21 members of Croatia's 2018 World Cup squad started their senior careers in the Croatian league (many spending multiple seasons there) where the average attendance is about 3000, which isn't that much higher than the LOI. So if LOI clubs were selling out regularly (particularly Rovers, Cork City, Bohemians in their new stadium and Derry in an expanded Brandywell) then I think they would be able to hang on to young talent for longer and give them the first-team football at a decent level that is so crucial for players in their late teens and early twenties and probably would be successful in keeping them away from most 3rd and 4th tier English clubs.

215 Posts
    Maybe but it’s a lot easier for Croatia to keep players in their domestic league because there is nowhere else for them to go at that stage. Unfortunately our proximity to England, and to a lesser extent Scotland, means that our younger players do have options other than developing or staying in the LOI.

3,491 Posts
    Pretty much every country is Europe has a similar statistic.

Croatia is in the EU and it is just as easy for their players to sign for top Premier League sides.

3,501 Posts
    Isn't there a lot of Croatian players in Italy?

3,491 Posts
    Probably so, but the vast majority of Croatian players still start in their domestic league before moving abroad.

We're an anomaly in that regard. Wasn't there a recent UEFA report that had us as number one in Europe for sending under 18s abroad? That's in absolute terms; not pro-rata.

505 Posts
    Well he does have a point about our proximity to England. Lads would jet off at 16 to train in a professional environment because they weren't getting it here, whereas other countries like Croatia will keep their young players at home longer because they're getting the training that's needed at home.

It's the biggest issue with Brexit that if we don't improve things big time at home and lads aren't getting the training needed in a professional environment then we'd have been better off asking FIFA to still let lads move at 16 so they would get the training needed in a professional environment.

FAI need to pull the finger out and get a full time academy up and going where the best youngesters in the country can train to the same standard as they would in a UK academy. Unfortunately LOI clubs will never be able to offer that without massive investment so the FAI need to step up and do something. FFS the IFA have a full time academy for lads between the ages of 14 - 16 that was funded by Uefa I think to get it up and running.

3,491 Posts
    i think we need to stop seeing Brexit as a bad thing and see it as an opportunity to be honest. The league would be much better off if we could keep top players until the were 21, not 16. The transfer fees clubs could demand for them could be much bigger too, again to our benefit.

There's a hell of a lot of work to be done, and probably in the short term, Brexit is going to be damaging. But really if we're honest, it's not Brexit that's damaging for us, but our own complete failure to develop any sort of functioning professional domestic football setup. All Brexit has done is highlight that for us.

505 Posts
    i think we need to stop seeing Brexit as a bad thing and see it as an opportunity to be honest. The league would be much better off if we could keep top players until the were 21, not 16. The transfer fees clubs could demand for them could be much bigger too, again to our benefit.

There's a hell of a lot of work to be done, and probably in the short term, Brexit is going to be damaging. But really if we're honest, it's not Brexit that's damaging for us, but our own complete failure to develop any sort of functioning professional domestic football setup. All Brexit has done is highlight that for us.
    I'm all for Brexit but it's only a benefit if the FAI start investing and raising standards here to a professional level for young players. That's without even getting into improving the senior side of the game here so young lads have somewhere to play rather than jumping on the first boat at 18 instead of 16. The best of the best will probably still be off at 18 but the league needs to improve for those that will stick around between 18 - 21.

Brexit has definitely helped highlight this on a bigger stage but everything that has gone on with the national team has helped too. Think it was after the draw with Azerbaijan that people were talking about youth development and us being one of four nations that hasn't got a full time employee in an academy at club level. The others being Andorra, Northern Ireland, and Luxembourg but the IFA and Luxembourg FA have full time academies of their own.

3,491 Posts
    Yep, for sure the fact that the FAI - 25 years after the Premier League started taking players from all parts of the world - has still done feck all to develop a proper pathway is an issue at the moment. And it's worrying for our future prospects.

Of course, the flip side is that there's a clear link between the Bosman ruling (ending the three-foreigners rule) and the decline of the Irish national team's fortunes. It wasn't immediate - clubs needed time to find foreigners, and we still had more than our fair share of players in the youth structure over there anyway. But since the late 90s, there's been a consistent decline in the number of Irish players in the Premier League, and it's effectively what's led us to the current state where we're losing to Luxembourg and drawing with Azerbaijan. (There's other factors that influence those specific results of course - Robinson not getting a vaccine, Kenny maybe not being the person to get the most out of the national team, etc, but we were clearly on a steady decline for years beforehand and it didn't take much to turn a 1-0 win over Gibraltar or draws in Georgia into bad defeats)

1,025 Posts

Players staying until 21 would be good for the league, but would it be good for the players?

I know we lament the fact that some our best players head off at 16 to learn hoof ball at Hull or wherever, but I would imagine they are still receiving better training than if they’d stayed at home.

The chances of getting to the point where it is better for both the LOI and the player is pretty remote I would say.

3,491 Posts
    I think there's a study which has shown it's generally worse for a player's development to leave home so early. Not sure where I saw that, so happily retracted if invented, but that'd be one factor.

It'd surely be better for the majority who don't make it in England to have stayed here and finished an education, and they have to be considered too.

The LoI is a long way away from being of the required standard, sure. But why can most other leagues manage it? Why are we such an anomaly?

2,796 Posts
    Yer man Jonathan Hill is now active on Twitter. Seems like a very level headed guy. Surely it can't have gone unnoticed by him just how cool the Lux stadium is? Every big town in Ireland should have something like this, and a running track adjacent.

505 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Stuttgart88 View Post
    Yer man Jonathan Hill is now active on Twitter. Seems like a very level headed guy. Surely it can't have gone unnoticed by him just how cool the Lux stadium is? Every big town in Ireland should have something like this, and a running track adjacent.
    Just need to find €80m down the back of the sofa now to build all these.

610 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Stuttgart88 View Post
    Would’ve been great if they didn’t fine that girl €3k for running up to Ronaldo

630 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by JR89 View Post
    Just need to find €80m down the back of the sofa now to build all these.
    Everyone should have a Golden Circle !

630 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Fixer82 View Post
    Would’ve been great if they didn’t fine that girl €3k for running up to Ronaldo
    Will it ever be paid ?

Page 75 of 76 FirstFirst ... 256573747576 LastLast